Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
79
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Great Product, Great Price, Great Service, 5 Stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Super value at the price paid. Very good remastered quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
This wonderful value box contains the 2009 remasters of Neil Young's first four classic studio albums. There is no elaborate packaging or retrospective book here, just the standard CDs housed in a simple slipcase. The remasters are a quantum leap from the original tinny CD issues Young so despised: wonderfully rich and detailed throughout, with limiting and compression kept to a relative minimum.

This is an indispensible introduction to Neil Young's early work for any newcomers. Older fans who have somehow avoided picking up these CDs separately will find them a revelation. Best of all, this collection does exactly what it says on the tin: four great albums which have never sounded better, collected together at a ridiculously low price. What are you waiting for?!?
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Neil's first four CDs for less than £10.00 (or a tad more) remastered by the man himself; what a bargain.

It puts bands like King Crimson (and I have to say, my all time favourites, Pink Floyd) to shame. Okay, so you bought a King Crimson vinyl LP (or a few more) many years ago. You then bought the first CD versions. Then guess what, you could then purchase an "original master edition", followed by a 30th anniversary edition, then the 40th! No doubt there will be 50th anniversary editions in due course (hope I'm still alive then!).

Pink Floyd, and many others, have done much the same. It's not as if they need the money!

It wouldn't be so bad if the band (and/or their record companies) followed Neil Young's lead and issued these reissues at "bargain basement prices". But no; if you wanted these when first issued you had to pay the "full price", unless you wait a few years for the price to fall slightly.

Then, for those who appear to have more money than sense, there are the "original boxed sets". Larks Tongues in Aspic, by King Crimson; 14 CDs for around £100.00 or more. What??!! With apologies to those who bought a copy. Perhaps I'm missing something?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
ho hum - boring...

OK I lie - BRILLIANT STUFF **

Neil Young at his acerbic youthful vibrant best, value and well remastered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
The development of his ideas and inspiration is clear and follows the popular history of the USA. It takes an oldie like me back to the memories I grew up with and has many well-known tunes that have made their impact on popular culture
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
So you can buy this box set for £9 and still people moan about missing booklets and words ?

Look - you get the first four albums as sounding as good as they're gonna get - you can't go very wrong can you ? The first two sound really improved, whilst I'm not noticing that much significant upgrade in Goldrush or Harvest, just sounding a little louder and bassy. Still can't hear Stills vocals on ATG tracks though.

The real jewel is his first solo album. Remember the first LP cuts of this ? How the vocals were non existent ?
This is really fabulous now - still my favourite album of his...

Here's to Box 2 - can we dare to hope for Time Fades Away and Journey through the Past ? Yes please Neil ...

Enjoy !
44 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Four great Neil Young Albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)