Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Zulu
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
A great slant on the battles of Isadhlwana and Rorkes Drift.The story is told from the Zulu point of view and is based on two brothers growing up both during the years leading up to the Zulu wars and then taking part in the two battles.This gives the reader a completely dfferent view of these battles and the reasons for the Zulu struggle against the encroaching white settlement of their tribal lands.Geoff Micks brings the scenes to life in a brilliant way and you can almost smell the African air as you are taken through the trials of the two brothers and their loves and friendships. A must read for you adventure lovers!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
A thorough and enjoyable book. Provides the background to explain how the Zulu wars arose and gives an insight into the evolution of the apartheid system. Thoroughly recommended for anybody interested in South Africa, military history or the Zulus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Zulu, this was a superb book looking at the common story about the Zulu wars from the Zulu point of view. It gives one an insight into their ways without being too anthropological, I would recommend it to anyone interested in Africa and the people of Africa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
I couldn't put this book down. Geoff Micks brought every character to life so well and managed to put across the political climate of the era vividly. The battle scenes were so descriptive I had to just skim over them to avoid the tension!!!! I would definitely recommend this book to everyone and not only those readers interested in military history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I found the book to be a fresh,vibrant evaluation of the fall of a nation of warriors due to superior weaponry held by the opposing forces.The detailed characterization of the main protagonists,their hopes and fears,their family life,the battle scenes are all beautifully drawn.
A great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This film is one of my all-time favourites and much better on DVD than video. I like to put it away for a while and then play it again whenever the mood takes me. In the version I received from you, there is a facility to see further information about various parts of the film, actual actors of the time and their family memories, actual filming, the mighty Zulus and the magnificent achievement of so few soldiers staving off such a massive assault under difficult circumstances and impossible odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This must be one of the most boring stories I have read over the years. (I read quite a lot). It meanders its way through Zulu history without a glimmer of excitement and its a real plodder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
A really good read, interesting story. An insight into the Zulu way of life.The story of Isandwhala and Rorkes Drift from a Zulu point of view.Gripping climax!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Well written adventure story, lots of twists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
excellent reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse