Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2012
A fantastic record which swirls, swoons, glitters and shines. Its gentle but consistently upbeat and even the achingly beautiful quieter moments of 'Tallulah' and 'Some People Say' have an uplifting quality. The sunny disposition of this album may be a reflection of the Anglo-Antipodean amalgam and tracks such as 'Capricornia', 'Northern Lights' and 'My Sweet Friend' are pure pop in the mould of Belle & Sebastian, Fuzzy and Lemonheads. This album will also give middle aged people of a certain age nostalgia for the much sadly missed Sarah Records and the great Australian band on that label - Even As We Speak. Such comparisons are lazy on my part; the reality is that Allo Darlin' have delivered a bright, melodic gem capable of shining in anyone's record collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Europe is the 2nd album from Allo Darlin. Overall, I think this album is fantastic !! It is an uplifting album full of great tracks.

In fact the majority of tracks are clearly good enough to be released as singles. My favourite tracks are:-
ballads such as Some People Say, Tallulah and My Sweet Friend along with uplifting tracks such as Capricornia, Europe, Wonderland and the "Springsteenesque" Still Young. Other excellent tracks are also Neil Armstrong, The Letter and Northern Lights.
There is simply not a single bad track on this entire album.

JUST BUY IT AND YOU WILL LOVE IT !!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Is it as good as there first album? Probably but time will tell.
Beautifully crafted songs sometimes melancholic, sometimes joyful.
Touching and moving. Tallulah, referencing The Go Betweens, is my early favourite but there's not a weak song here.
If you've ever liked anything considered indie pop, albeit this is too good to be pigeon holed, you should buy this... and the first album as well.
There's a covers EP included if you buy it early from Rough Trade.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I heard them for the first time 'live' at The End of the Road festival 2013 and was impressed by the quality of the songs and their live performance.
Following this the album did not disappoint. Very catchy melodic songcraft. Nice crisp jangly guitar sounds too!
Not 'deep' enough to get 5 stars but an excellent album on account of the quality of the songwriting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I can't make my mind up whether this is better than their first (very good) album or not?
It is more upbeat, has a more mature feel and is probably less quirky. Although there aren't any individually drop dead gorgeous tracks such as "kiss your lips", from the debut album, it does overall have a more rounded sound.
"Capricornia" is very catchy indeed and "tallulah" is a beautiful quiet/plaintiff ballad over minimal backing where Elizabeth wonders whether all the songs she's ever heard and all the people she's ever met (up to now) will be all the songs/people that will ever mean anything to her?? Very sad/profound and poignant.
I really like the album but i think their best is probably yet to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Great album from a great band. The bassplayer 'The Friendly Walrus' is a lovely bloke.
Seen them live a few times,. Worth doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
This band deserves all the plaudits they get a brilliant album, that has no weak tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here