Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 June 2016
Excellent book. No actual patterns but explains how to draft your own skirt patterns to fit you perfectly. I'm a reasonable home sewer but had never drafted patterns myself before. Having read this I created my own bespoke pattern and made up my skirt I an afternoon. It also gave me a good understand of how to alter skirts to fit me. Would definately recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2010
The last time I used a sewing machine was in the mid to late 1980's and so after having taken a break from knitting, I wanted to go back to sewing but had a fear of how and where to start as I hadn't done it for so long. Sadly, going to local evening classes was out of the question due to costs, but I wanted a book that was so easy and comprehensive to read that it would help me take those 'baby steps' back to sewing until I could gain enough confidence to attempt more intermediate and advanced patterns!! And so I found this very book. The skirts are beautiful to look at and some of these are based on traditional designs. The only critcism I have is that not all sewing machines come with a buttonhole maker - this book assumes you have that facility and so I had to source various websites and youtube for inspiration on hand sewing buttonholes!! But apart from that, hope you enjoy it too!!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
I was a little sceptical about a book which didn't come with a pattern, but this is soooooo much better. It tells you how to use your own body measurements to create, very easily, a pattern which fits you exactly. I was amazed how easy it was to draw a pattern and use it. There are lots of ideas for A line, wraparound, gathered and circlular skirts with a variety of waist finishes and facings/linings to suit your own capabilites, although the instructions are so clear, I feel I could make any of them.

You can follow the designs they suggest or use them to inspire you to design your own. I've made one A line skirt so far, but am planning to make the wraparound for summer hols and maybe a layered satin/lace skirt for winter parties. I'm a very out of practice (20 years since I did any dressmaking) competent amateur, and I found this book very easy to use and inspirational for designs.

Some reviews mention the fact it is spiral bound, but I had no problems with that; it makes it much easier to have it open on the page you need (the spirals are inside the cover, so it looks like a normal hardback from the outside). I would recommend this book to beginners and to young sewers wishing to create their own designs, but needing a little helping hand with the technicalities.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
My friend recommended this book, because I was having problems with the waistline on a skirt pattern I was working on. It's a really great book, I managed to fix my waistline quickly and am really pleased. Can't wait to get started on some new skirts :) xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2013
I think you can preview this book and see what types of skirts they have designs for. It seems like a good manual for making learning the process of making skirts, but unfortunately I found them a wee bit ordinary - not really my style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2013
Excellent guide to making your own simple skirts. Take your measurements and follow the drafting guide for the type of skirt you want to make. There are some helpful guides to using types of seams,hems, fastenings, zips etc everything is explained clearly and with good pictures and diagrams. Anyone could use this book to design and make their own skirts. Have made an elastic gathered waist skirt already and am halfway though an A line fitted waist with zip one. Good buy and well worth the cost - not much more than one standard pattern. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2015
Simple to follow patterns but just too old fashioned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2010
Fabulous book, great for the novice and probabaly for the more expert sewer also.
Suggests how to finish garments for those who cant fit a zip.
Designs were great too - not old fashioned.
Can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
I was hoping it would have pull out patterns so I was disappointed, again I am a beginner and dont have any pattern making skills but I may give it a whirl sometime in the future
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Lovely book with clear instructions
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here