Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
176
3.9 out of 5 stars
Style Name: N900 Dual Band|Change
Price:£23.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I had been trying new AC1900 routers with very little increase in speed. Buying this Linksys WUSB6300 Dual Band Adaptor and disabling the internal wireless card on my HP PC made a considerable difference to internet connection speeds. In addition, the internal card only worked at 2.4Ghz whereas this adaptor is dual band and using the 5Ghz band has also made a considerable difference. In quantitative terms after installing this dongle my PCs speed using fibre broadband went up from around 21Mbps to 32Mbps plus, the upload speed also increased.

In physical terms this adaptor is quite bulky, not very elegant and does get warm after a few hours use. The size means that if you plug it directly into a USB port it can obscure other ports if they are close. The answer is to use a good quality USB socket with a modest extension cable. Also, compared to other offerings this isn't one of the cheapest AC1200 adaptors either, but it does deliver reasonable performance which is the primary consideration. Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
OK, first thing's first. This stick works. I can hit my maximum download speed from upstairs with this (100 Mbps+). 3 other adapters I have tried come nowhere close, awesome.
The bad news is: the bundled driver on the CD is faulty: it is NOT COMPATIBLE WITH STEAM. Spent a whole day pulling my hair out over this. Finally discovered older drivers on the linksys website, installed these and fixed the Steam issue. Trawling the Steam forums shows that this is a common issue with linksys adapters, so, if you use Steam, think carefully before you buy, and don't install the bundled drivers. If you have bought this, and have the steam issue, the drivers page is: support.linksys.com/en-eu/support/adapters/
You want the download at the bottom, (Linksys Connect Setup Software for PC). Downloads a 3.something driver, drivers on disc are 5.something.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 May 2014
Style Name: AC1200 Dual Band 3.0|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
To avoid any confusion this review is for the Linksys WUSB6300 AC1200 Dual-Band Wireless-AC USB Adapter (900Mbps).
As sometimes happens on Amazon listings a number of different products come under the one listing with a drop down menu to select the item.
A number of 1 star reviews you may see (May 2014) are probably for something completely different being either another adaptor or perhaps a router.
Installation of the Wireless Adaptor does need the setup files on the CD provided so if you have no DVD drive on your netbook or laptop you will need to download from the Linksys site. The Windows 7 download also applies to Windows 8.1 as confusingly reading the driver information for Windows 8 you may assume it is just plug'n play.
Once installed and the wireless router password is entered I recommend you go to Control Panel- Device Manager-Network adaptor WUSB6300-Power Management- Allow the Computer to turn off this device to save power and uncheck the box. Some users have thought this was a fault with the adaptor.
The dual band 2.4Ghz and 5 Ghz selection may need to be changed on your router. You may find better speed on the 5Ghz but in general a better range using 2.4Ghz. I have found it 100% reliable with no drop outs and the only minor criticism is the width of the device. This may not matter on most PC's or laptops but I was using it on an Intel NUC where the USB3 ports were side by side. This effectively blocked the use of the spare adjacent USB3 socket on the front.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
I did actually love this and pretty much never went below 450mps when connected to our 5Ghz network. This would get 5 stars if it wasn't so obtrusive. When I was using it for my desktop it worked perfectly well and I never thought about it: everything was fine. Then I had to start using it in my laptop and I knew straight away that it was just a matter of time before it broke. It's big and awkward and so easy to knock or get pushed at the wrong angle. It lasted about 6 months in the laptop before it was too bent to fit into the USB properly. I can't fault the speeds or reliability at all, and I haven't used a better adapter in that sense, but it's such a shame that it is just an unusable design for me.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 May 2014
To avoid any confusion this review is for the Linksys WUSB6300 AC1200 Dual-Band Wireless-AC USB Adapter (900Mbps).
Installation of the Wireless Adaptor does need the setup files on the CD provided so if you have no DVD drive on your netbook or laptop you will need to download from the Linksys site. The Windows 7 download also applies to Windows 8.1 as confusingly reading the driver information for Windows 8 you may assume it is just plug'n play.
Once installed and the wireless router password is entered I recommend you go to Control Panel- Device Manager-Network adaptor WUSB6300-Power Management- Allow the Computer to turn off this device to save power and uncheck the box. Some users have thought this was a fault with the adaptor.
The dual band 2.4Ghz and 5 Ghz selection may need to be changed on your router. You may find better speed on the 5Ghz but in general a better range using 2.4Ghz. I have found it 100% reliable with no drop outs and the only minor criticism is the width of the device. This may not matter on most PC's or laptops but I was using it on an Intel NUC where the USB3 ports were side by side. This effectively blocked the use of the spare adjacent USB3 socket on the front.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
I've had several issues with losing connection on Windows 10. The worst issue is it being unable to reconnect to the wireless network after the computer has suspended and woken up. However with the latest driver update available from Linksys has improved things considerably. Be sure to download the latest drivers from Linksys if you are using a Windows 10 device.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I work on one of the largest enterprise wireless networks in the UK, this adapter does what it says and I have had it connected at 867Mbps to an enterprise class 802.11AC wireless access point. It is capable of connecting at these speeds given a relatively clean RF spectrum and the correct router/access point configuration. Your router/AP needs to support at least two spatial streams and 80Mhz channel bandwidths. The only downside is a manual driver installation is required to get it working properly on windows 8/8.1... but it does work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This adaptor is not officially supported under linux by linksys, nor is there a driver in the mainstream kernel.

It is based on an rtl8812 chipset.

However there does seem to be a driver available from rtl, and various people have made bug fixes to the driver to make it work with recent kernels, and it seems to work on both linux PCs and on Raspberry PIs for basic usage. If you google, you'll find various helpful sites (why Amazon refuse to let us add hyperlinks to the drivers in reviews is beyond me!).

I found more advanced features (like monitor mode) would cause kernel panics though. Sadly I don't think there are any 5GHz AC wifi adaptors that are any better supported on linux.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
The docs in the box say to go to a web address that doesn't exist, luckily my Mac recognised it without extra drivers, only down side so far is it doesn't work after a reboot, needs an un/re-plug to get back & working
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
Was looking for a PCI-e WiFi card for a desktop but all the reviews were mixed about performance, unless I went for one of the very expensive ones.

I decided to give this USB adapter a go. I was sceptical about performance given it would be plugged into the back on the pc on the floor and next to a concrete wall. I had originally wanted the PCI-e card for the multiple antennas.

Was surprised, but works perfectly. Plugged in and Windows 10 recognised it immediately, no need to download drivers, although other reviewers said they needed drivers. Speeds are fast, with my son using it for gaming.

Great performance and a good price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)