Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2017
A short bit of a giggle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Wife laughed out loud a few times so can not be bad...Interesting guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
gift for my husband who enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
I've always enjoyed Jay Rayner's writing and reading damning reviews are a guilty pleasure, so I was very pleased to see that twenty of Rayner's most scathing restaurant reviews (mostly from the last ten years and largely appearing in the Observer) have now been collected.

From the start "My Dining Hell" had me laughing out loud, mostly in amazement that places such as Shumi ("An Italian restaurant where the food is served Japanese-style. So you get to eat risotto with chopsticks. Hurrah!") and Abracadabra ("We're in a fancy restaurant, though one as imagined by a thirteen-year old girl who's been at her mum's sherry.") could exist. Then there are the bizarre flavour combinations, grandiose ambition, and ridiculous prices. Often scathing Rayner also gives credit where credit is due, and sometimes there is a real anger at the cynicism of certain sections of the restaurant industry. Although the temptation is to read straight through, this is a book to be dipped into as Rayner's phraseology can start to sound repetitive or feeble (one dish, for example, is described as being 'denser than Jade Goody').

Often Rayner adds a postscript describing the reaction to the review and the current fate of the restaurant. These are often fascinating, especially the case where the proprietors all ended up in prison. This Kindle collection also contains an interesting introduction as well as selections from bad reviews Rayner himself has received.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Jay Rayner finds lots of ways to be very rude about restaurants that seem to deserve a good kicking.
This is molecular criticism of the highest order, and the taster menu format (20 short reviews from across the UK) allows us to sample the very worst of restaurant pretension, preening and performance from the last decade or so. Rayner doesn't shy away from some big names, and as he selflessly makes clear, he puts himself through these culinary calamities so that we don't have to. One pound ninety nine on Kindle is a bargain for all those belly laughs - and no service charge!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
This was a bit of a disappointment. From previous reviews I had expected to laugh out loud at least once, and preferably once per piece. Instead of which it left me largely unmoved, apart from a slow, but perceptible, slide into depression. The individual reports would doubtless have served as useful warnings in their time, but by now practically all the restaurants concerned must have either changed hands or simply died. The collection was really all about schadenfreude, but for this reviewer the schaden just weren't freude enough!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
This isn't a book. Do not be afraid. It is a collection of bad reviews of restaurants, by which I mean the restaurants are bad, not the reviews. The reviews are very funny, full of acerbic wit and clever observations.

Jay opens the collection with an explanation of why he is (re)publishing a load of old reviews.

Jay points out that we, the restaurant going public, can't get enough of well written reviews of bad eating experiences and he is happy to indulge us. What Jay doesn't say is that what we really want to read about is truly terrible, expensive, exclusive restaurants full of dim-witted, rich people paying a fortune for dry fish and ghastly Scottish/Thai fusion or other nonsense. Jay is in on our shared joke, and writes it up in a brilliant style, so we can all laugh at the deluded diners together. Jay guides us through some of the worst best restaurants that have graced London and the UK recently.

I particularly enjoy Jay's eternal enthusiasm for a great meal which results in him being suckered into travelling to Scotland on the mere basis of a "local menu", only to starve, or to an "Indian Jamie Oliver" in Harrogate after just an email only to discover the waiters are later removed by the Border Agency.

If you like Jay's reviews you'll like this. If you don't like Jay you might still enjoy reading about him having a miserable time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
I'm old. My fingers dont work well. Had to hack my way into this package with sharp knife. Ridiculous. Haven't read it yet but giving five stars in anticipation. Jay R writes well how bad can it be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
A very enjoyable book by a man who is clearly a self-important git (in his public persona at least). Not a patch on AA Gill whose style he appears to copy in places, but who can blame him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Filled with typical Jay Rayner caustic wit, this collection of restaurant reviews certainly makes for entertaining reading. The book is a collection of restaurant reviews (20) covering the food, service and pretty much everything else. One word - Savage. Although ....you may find that you..just..can't..stop..reading..! Short but so very sweetly sour...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)