Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
83
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
Much forgotten John Carpenter classic. I will never understand just why this one isn't one of his most famous works. I remember coming out of the cinema and discussing just how creepy those night-time cyclists were. Sam Niell was a decent A-list star, having been the lead actor in Jurassic Park the previous year. The plot concerns a horror novel which literally sucks you in (think Never-ending Story for adults) and drives anyone who reads it insane. A recent re-watch made me remember what a great filmmaker John C really was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
I don't know what people want of a horror film. This ticks all the boxes for me as it has a very clever story-line, not just a maniac in a wood out to kill 13 virgins on a summer holiday. Definitely not done on a limited budget, the idea of a potentially real town inhabited by characters from previous novels is a very clever device to push the story along. All I can say is if it happened to anyone in real life they would probably need to change their soiled clothing. The only better scare is to involve yourself in real horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
This is a truly excellent and unassuming film. Fans of Lovecraft will notice many similarity's to the creatures and themes described in his novels and the film is as cerebral and psychologically complex as one of his many great works. Sam Neil stars as the able, every-man type main character drawn into a mystery where he is the unwitting victim.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Scary and story line is perfect.
Better than the horrors of today..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Pure cosmic horror, perfect for any Carpenter fan and fans of H.P. Lovecraft
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2004
John Carpenter movies are always a hit or miss affair...But In the mouth of madness is a definate hit!
Sam Neil plays an insurance fraud investigator on the trail of Sutter Cane, an imfamous horror writter who has disappeared just as his new book is supposed to come to print.
It's a slow start and the whole film has a slightly drawn out feel, but if your looking for old skool chills & thrills, this is a wonderfull "What lies beyond/Is this the real world or not" movie that will have you screaming for more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Sutter Cane is a phenomenally best-selling horror writer with hundreds of millions of fans worldwide who, according to media tales, are so affected by his writing that some of them are beginning to descend into a kind of madness.

When Cane suddenly vanishes, just after the submission deadline for his next bestseller, an investigator is hired by the publisher to find him and bring back Cane's completed manuscript for publication - millions of dollars' worth of sales are counting on it.

The investigator follows a hunch that Cane is living in the town referred to in his horror novels, and arrives there with one of the publisher's reps.

However after experiences in the town gradually get stranger and stranger, it appears that they have walked in to a Cane's final horror story - and with Cane having written them it, it is down to the twisted genius whether or not they - and indeed the rest of the world - survive.

A classic John Carpenter film that seems to pull some unusually good acting even out of the likes of Sam Neill and Charlton Heston, as well as its interesting premise this film has some genuinely creepy moments.

A homage to Lovecraft, as well as the blatant Lovecraftian hordes of chaos towards the end there are some nice touches - the hotel receptionist being called Mrs Pickman for example, a reference to Lovecraft's Pickman's Model, a similar tale of a piece of art becoming reality.

Wonderful, imaginative, full-on fantasy horror, with a typically Lovecraftian ending of futility and insanity.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
First things first : ONE (1) star for the respect less treatment of this Carpenter classic ! Why ? This Korean release has the worst English subtitles ever and i always use the subtitles option because English is not my native language so for me it is a tool to comprehend what is said crystal clear. The movie itself deserves a far more better blu-ray restoration by a label like ao. ARROW VIDEO !!! Seen they will be releasing The Thing i would also like them to release Prince Of Darkness (recently reissued by Studio Canal however on DVD only) and In The Mouth Of Madness so his so called Apocalypse trilogy will be complete. The cover is nice though however it is time to set things right and give Carpenter the respect he deserves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
THE MOVIE

I admit, I had my problems with this movie. IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS starts out slow, REAL slow. Many Carpenter movies do, but this one particularly, and I must say the movie lost me between Sam Neill's character being hired by Charlton Heston's character to investigate the disappearance of a famous author and the car ride to Hobb's End.
There however the story begins to unfold brilliantly. John Trent's gradual descent into madness is well executed and believable. The boundary between reality and fiction begins to fade and once the end credits roll you are left with a very satisfying movie experience that will occupy your mind for a while after.
The direction is good, some scenes could have been paced better, especially in the first third of the movie, but overall a job well done.
The star ensemble do a fine job as well: Sam Neill, Jurgen Prochnow, David Warner, Julie Carmen and Charlton Heston.
If you are a fan of the works of H. P. Lovecraft, you will very much appreciate screenwriter Michael De Luca's references to Lovecraft's works throughout the film.
Not a brilliant movie and not Carpenter's best work, but a very well done psychological thriller nontheless.

RATING: 7 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2013 New Line/Warner Bros. US Blu-ray
Feature running time: 95 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1 / 16:9
Audio: English DTS HD 5.1, French (Canada) 2.0, German 2.0, Italian 2.0, Spanish (Castellano) 2.0, Spanish (Latino) 1.0
Subtitles: English HoH, French, German HoH, Italian HoH, Spanish (Castellano), Spanish (Latino)
Chapters: 28
Extras: Commentary, Theatrical Trailer
Region: A, B, C (region free)

Picture quality: A-
Audio quality: A-
Extras: D
77 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Carpenters worst film in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)