Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2014
Fans of M.R. James will almost certainly love the atmospheric filming of the short story 'A warning to the curious'. Brilliantly acted and the 'grainy' filming, although probably not intended, only serves to heighten the atmosphere of foreboding. I find 'The Stalls of Barchester' less convincing, but so too was the actual short story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
Second volume of BFI's Ghost Stories series, and director Lawrence Gordon Clarke's first two films for the BBC's Ghost Stories for Christmas. Stalls of Barchester is a finely acted and beautifully shot tale of murderous ambition, which gets better with repeated viewing, and succeeds in capturing the essence and mood of the original tale, even if the visual effects don't quite match those of James' prose. A fine blueprint for the rest of the series.

Warning to the Curious is a classic, similar in essence to Whistle and I'll Come to You in having a disturbed ancient artefact trigger a supernatural visitation. Genuinely unsettling in places, with director Clarke's ghost having a more physical presence than James', including a fantastic torchlight scene which lingers long in the memory. As with all these films, it's beautifully shot, and as with others in the series, both films are precluded by an interview with the director. Also included are Christopher Lee's atmospheric televised readings of each tale, and the DVD comes with a very insightful booklet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
two great ghosts stories the like we do not see in this day and age.so glad all the xmas ghosts stories are being released been to long.two hearts,signalman and treasure also great spooky,fire side on a rainy night tv.cant wait.
must go as a stray bed sheet seems to be hovering at my side or is it simply a warning to the curious.aaaaaaaggggggggggrrrrrr.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
'a warning to the curious' is one of the great ghost stories - and this classic bbc adaptation is right up there with the robert wise 'haunting' and the nigel kneale 'woman in black' for both subtle scares and downright supernatural terror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
What can I say to do this justice - nothing. I would only urge MR James fans to buy it and enjoy, and anyone looking for superior, class of its own ghostly goings on by a master of the genre to try it, and then progress to the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
BBC Ghost Stories series by the brilliant M. R. James was one of the best TV series ever made. The stories are perfect classics and were filmed with imagination, originality and atmosphere. ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
A delightful trip down Memory Lane and a chance to revisit the storytelling of MR James. The quality of the 70s' shows remains good - and still as scary!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
... and this is it.
M R James was the master of the ghost story and this DVD has excellent BBC productions from the 1970's of two of them, The Stalls of Barchester Cathedral and A Warning to the Curious, staring two fine actors, Robert Hardy and Peter Vaughan. It is easy to step over a fine line and make ghost stories silly or comical but these productions create and maintain the chilling atmosphere M R James manages to create when reading his short stories.
But there's more: the DVD also contains two more later BBC productions of Christopher Lee - with his fine voice and presence, who better - reading the same stories to a group of 'undergraduates' in a book lined academia, rather in the manner M R James himself did in his time.
And more...the DVD box contains an extensive booklet telling about the author, the actors, the stories and production as well as - and most welcome to me this is too - a cast list. How often do we wonder: 'Now who is that and where have I seen him or her before'.
So that's what those two clips on the other side of the packaging box are for!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
KEPT ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT,WELL DONE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
was brought as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)