Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£26.13


on 24 August 2017
I'm using this book along side Adobe classroom in a book,slowly but surely I'm learning all about photoshop,and adobe bridge.they bot work well together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
First class, Excellent quality, good delivery time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Extremely straight forward and every aspect is covered in easy to understand language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This is an amazing piece of work but finding what you want is not always obvious. The answers will almost certainly be in it but not always obvious and some practice will be needed to hone your skills. If you know nothing or you are looking to hone existing technics this manual will help. There is a lot of free advice on the net useful if you are already familiar with the CS products, but this book fills in all the gaps. After a few weeks reading and playing I have only just down loaded the missing CD having used it on my own shots to this point. It might at first seem a bit expensive, it made me think before buying it but my advice now would be, if you are serious enough to buy CS6 then you owe it to yourself to buy this incredible book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 August 2012
O'Reilly's series of 'Missing Manual' books is one of the few that very comprehensively cover their respective subject. The other major contenders are Wiley's 'Bible' or 'For Dummies' series and there are others which may usually hit the short-list, but not consistently.

It is difficult to say whether one series or which of the corresponding titles from each is necessarily the better. They all cover the basics of installation, configuration, the different modules and their uses, the menus etc and also what tools are available and how to use them. They have their differences and their own distinctive house styles and you may prefer one to the other. I have several titles from all three series and, when in doubt or needing to clarify the use of some tool that I use only rarely, it will usually be the 'Missing Manual' or 'Bible' to which I would refer, following up with the most recent 'Dummies'. I will usually choose one or two for one program over time but not always when I upgrade the software.

On balance, the O'Reilly titles tend to have a very slight edge but only by a percentage point or two, over the 'Bible' and about the same between that and the 'Dummies'. There tends to be slightly more illustrations in the O'Reilly series but again there is little in it. If you are using or intend to buy Photoshop CS6, you will not make a serious error were you to choose this book. It may not cover absolutely nook and cranny of Photoshop, and there is no other that does to my knowledge, but it does cover just about everything that most users will ever need, and then some.

It is, as are the corresponding Wiley titles, directed at the general user and not specifically photographers for whose benefit there are other books that tend to have the word 'Photographer' or a variant within the titles.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
I'm new to Photoshop (CS6) and find myself constantly dipping into this book.
The 862 pages are beautifully illustrated and thoroughly indexed.
The explanations are clear and concise.
Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Easily the best in the O'Reilly series on Photoshop. It is well laid out and really comprehensible!
An absolute must for those embarking on this demanding software.
I normally use the iPad version whilst working with the programme on the desktop, but the book is excellent as a reference guide from time to time.
It is also beautifully printed with full colour illustrations.
Five stars then!!

Trevor H. Jones
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
There's no doubt that Photoshop is a feature-packed application – one which could feel overwhelming for first-time users.

Through "The Missing Manual" for Photoshop CS6, Snider makes learning Photoshop a breeze, explaining all you need to know about the latest standalone version of the Adobe package. Helpful guides and images supplement easy-to-understand instructions, helping users who are brand new to Photoshop get started right away.

Snider's style of writing is easy to follow – remaining educational, yet interesting at the same time. Compared to other publication offerings related to Photoshop CS6, "The Missing Manual" gives the effect of a textual instructor-based experience; exemplified by Snider's conversational tone which portrays a sense of personality to advancing your Photoshop skills.

Sections are clearly laid out for each Photoshop use case, with examples including photography, drawing and image manipulation. If you want to learn how to use Photoshop for advanced graphic design work, but don't want to read through details on basic design and photography, you can skip directly to the specific sections and chapters referencing your individual tasks.

If you want to learn about Photoshop for the first time, extend your CS6 knowledge or just learn some new skills, I think "The Missing Manual" is the book for you.

Reviewer's Note: This review of "Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual" was written prior to 2015 and has been republished by the original author in July 2015.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
The missing manual is an apt description - I lament the good old days when a written manual came with a software product. This CS6 manual is well and clearly written and illustrated. And the Amazon price is good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This book focuses on the Standard edition of Photoshop CS6 and in my opinion really lives up to the "Missing Manual" name. I am a Photoshop newbie and I can honestly say this book has been a godsend. The book covers all the previous edition tools, tricks and tips in addition to fully explaining all of the new features available in CS6. Be aware though that the extra features of CS6 Extended are not covered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here