Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
If you like the blues, you will love this DVD. I don't know how did they have the inspiration to record this concert, but it is an absolute treat. Enjoy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Convince yourself and go buy it.
The combination Muddy Waters - The Rolling Stones is excellent.
Excellent quality of sound and image.
What a big surprise if you compare it with that ugly bootleg
that was circling for years now.
Just wonderful.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I bought this DVD purely because the Rolling Stones were performing and I am so glad I did. This is an awesome show from Buddy Guy's Club. To see the great Muddy Waters and Buddy Guy perform their music was wonderful. I am now a fan of the blues and will be looking for music of this genre to add to my vast musical collection. A real "must see" show. Buy it.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
A great variety of musicians and the fact that the gig was clearly pre-arranged doesn't diminish the authenticity of the chemistry on stage. Ronnie's concentration clearly shows that there hadn't been much, if any, rehearsal: but not a wrong note struck. Jagger doesn't play a significant part in the DVD and that is as it should be: but his performance is also excellent.

Reviewers who complain that this was not a spontaneous jam session should consider how a fan of the blues, introduced to the genre by the Brian Jones inspired Stones would feel seeing such a performance. I was lucky enough to see the Stones with Brian but a dream come true would be to attend an event such as this: small venues is what the greatest rock and blues band do best and the environment the blues belongs in. An added bonus is the involvement of the 6th original Stone on the piano. Ian Stewart was the glue that held these wayward troubadours together and his playing is, as always, flawless.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
i did not order this ! lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Muddy Waters Live

I guess you're a blues hound so read on. This is a great film of an informal performance if a bit rough around the edges. I tracked this DVD down for one very specific reason. I caught a short excerpt of it (probably on BBC 4) that featured a guitarist called Lefty Dizz and I just had to see him in action again. He was sharing the stage with Keith Richards and Ronnie Wood, and he seemed to totally intimidate them with his mesmerising performance. I think he was a bit "popped up" though - or maybe he'd had something a little stronger. It's one thing being a bit behind the beat but I think he was left behind it completely sometimes. Anyway, I've since read that none of his recordings captured the quality of his live performances so whether you've heard of him or not it's worth watching this DVD for him alone. But of course you've also got a lot of Muddy Waters on here, whilst he was still well in his prime, and that's another great reason to watch it. Plus there's a very on-form Buddy Guy and Junior Wells too. As much as I love the Stones, and no disrespect to them, whilst they do add something here (and they did so much to revive the genre) you're not going to watch it for what they add.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
If you a Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones / pure blues fan....then this is it ! was worth the wait !To see so many blues greats on the same small stage jamming is pure musical bliss !
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Good quality, exciting content. A strange, amazing night in a foggy bluesy club, that shows children playing with their father. Keith & Ron swimm in well known waters, anyway what else we're supposed to do..? Watch & Listen. Great..!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Would that I could go down to my local blues club and see a stageful of legends jamming away to themselves and the audience. Other than the playing, and we'll come to that in a minute, this is hardly spontaneous stuff: cameras, the Stones bringing their own guitars, and none of that "what the hell key is this one in???" that usually accompanies blues jams ... The Rolling Stones, in their Brian Jones, pre-fame days, would have signed their souls away for a session like this ... and who knows, the fact that this DVD exists might well indicate they did. But was it worth it???

Well, maybe for them in that they played onstage with Muddy Waters it was worth it ... maybe for the lucky bods in the audience it was worth it ... but for us now??? I can't help but think it was one of those occasions that you really had to be there ... Like a lot of these things, and I've taken part in many rambling blues jams over the years, what sounded fantastic when you did it doesn't sound so great the next day ... or 30 or so years on. It's pretty mediocre stuff rendered stellar only by who it is. Sure most of the musicianship is good, Keith plays some lovely solos and Honest Ron Wood performs his usual collection of bum notes, but if this was Rambling Orange Peel And the Crusty Blues Guys from down the road, you wouldn't give it a second listen.

Given all the names involved, this is definitely a case of its being less than the sum of its parts.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)