Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
8
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
What has bitten Peter Cincotti and Diana Krall? They have both radially moved away from what they do best.
This is not Cincotti playing fabulous piano crooning away as he does so well. His last cd was a depart from that but he kept to his roots with strong songs and solid piano. Like many I've been watching and waiting for his new opus, for four years! and this is all he can do.
For me the songs are week vocals over produced. I felt relieved when i got to the end of the cd.
If you want to discover great Cincotti get his first Cd's you won't be disappointed. I will give it a few more spins but I feel it's going to get relegated to the "forget me" bin.
listen to the samples before buying, see if this is what your cup of tea!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
John fields produced pop/rock...and this is not a bad thing.

For people wanting the Peter Cincotti of old you might not be pleased. A strong album with fast moving pop/rock beats and piano driven ballads. Might be a change of direction but i am open for more.

9/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I have been "with" Peter Cincotti ever since I read a review on his music at Bang&Olufsen Magazine. This last one is not my type. Only one music is great... Madeline, that one is great... The rest are just too off topic for the type of music I expect from Peter Cincotti. Lets hope with time I'm wrong, but first hands... sorry but down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Metropolis is not a commercial exercise at all.
It's like a pop symphony, extremely sophisticated, and exceptionally conceived and executed.
It is not MOR and that's the reason why it cannot be EVERYBODY's cup of tea.
Cincotti is an accomplished all-around music genius, with many facets and each album shows different aspects of his talent.
He's not Bublé, Connick, jr or....Rod Stewart.
And, like all geniuses ( or genii, if you wish), he will never be understood by his American contemporary audience.
This is a reason why Peter Cincotti feels more like at home in Europe, where he spends most part of his time. In Europe tastes are more varied and complex and people are ready for experiments.
In US the album dind't make a huge impact in a long term, but it was on the top of Jazz chart for three or four weeks!
Metropolis has just been released in UK: we will see how it will perform there in terms of public and critic's reaction and in sales. Eventually, and I really do hope so, the album will be re-released in US like " HUGE HIT in Europe"...And the Americans will embrace it, finally and unconditionally... This has happened already many times in the past, for movies and albums.
It would have been so easy for Peter to go for the beaten path, pick up the usual hit man/producer Foster ( named by Rolling Stone magazine the "master of ... bombastic pop kitsch") and make another easy-listening jazz 'covers' album...
Instead, this time he chooses to do things the hard/unusual way.
Thank you, Peter.
The album is a real gem.
P.S. By the way, who said that he has stopped doing jazz? Jazz is in his DNA. He is only 29 year old, goodness me!
Simply he will make it again, when he will feel it and will intend to make it.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I saw Peter Cincotti live in London a few years ago & he's an excellent performer & this is another great album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Excellent songwriter, excellent pianist. Excellent singer, which makes an excellent combination. Sounds likes early Maroon 5 but with better vocals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Good Cd. Arrived in good condition and met my expectation. Was exactly What I wanted. Good music good quality of the sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here