Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 March 2014
I loved this gay love story set in a German school. It was really good to read a gay story that isn't all about sex (although there is plenty in the book) and concentrates on the difficulties faced by many gay teenagers and their families. Other reviewers have said it's not realistic and that the characters are too black or white with no shading. However, I feel that this is an escapist love story which has a real 'feel-good' factor to it. Who cares if it isn't completely true-to-life - it's a great read and an emotional ride from start to finish. Well done Mario Lipinski.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2012
Although this book wasn't realistic, it was a pleasant read. I found myself hoping it /could/ happen rather than criticizing its lack of believability. It could be described as too happy and a lot of wishful thinking but it's worth reading, especially if you're in a glum mood as it's a great pick-me-up.
It's your standard bully and victim realise they have more in common than originally thought, but it is done in a way you can find plausible, you don't hate the victim for being an idiot and so forgiving, you understand it.

Good ol' feel good book that is a joy to read but does have a few twists and turns that force you to read on to see what happens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
Others have described this story very well, so I won't repeat what they have said. This is a very easy read, and actually quite difficult to put down. It is remarkably well written for a non native Engish speaker, though a little proof reading by a native English speaker could have helped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
As M/M romances go this has to rate one of the best.
The two main characters Marcel and Tim start off as deadly enemies but by chance they are thrown together and the love story unfolds.
Beware it will have you laughing and crying. There were places in the book that had me in tears so much that i could no longer read the words. A heartwarming story that I am sure you will enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
Good solid love story, keeps you reading and not wanting to put your kindle down, good happy ending, a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2014
it was such a beautiful story, well written, I couldn't put it down, a true "love conquers all" story. well worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2013
I read this book in one sitting..the characters became a part of me, just beautiful..keep them coming Mario Lipinski :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2014
Don't know why but this was just not a book that I could read all the way through. Shame as it sounded good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2012
This fairly long M/M romance reminds me irresitibly of a gay mystery I have read some time ago, "The Math Teacher is Dead" by Robert Manners, available here on Am. as well for a reason I am going to explain soon.

Set in a small German town it depicts a simple but charming love story that develops between the nerd/victim and the jock/bully of the school: forced to get to know each other by chance, they learn first to trust and then to love each other, overcoming the everyday -but oh-so-very-real- problems that stand in the way of their happiness.
It is as simple as that but it is done with a sweet touch, a nice sense of rhythm and a taste for storytelling that are far from common among self-published authors.

Characterization is potentially its main flaw and the link with the M/M mystery novel I quoted above: Marcel is impossibly perfect here just like Danny was there. He is young but he is not only clever and smart, he is also sweet, caring, and most of all mature far beyond his years. His way of reasoning -appealing though it is- is seldom to be found in people twice his age and I had to do a lot of suspension of disbelief to accept it.
After a couple of chapters it is not hard to do but it is relevant and has to be pointed out. The same can be said for the other half of the couple, Tim, whose readiness to better himself, to mend his ways are a bit over the top.
Just like the character of the mystery was the embodiment of gay physical and mental perfection, it is as if this couple were designed to be more ideal than lifelike.
That said, it is also true that Marcel and Tim grow up as characters during the story, fighting for and achieving a well deserved happily ever after.
Side characters are nicely rounded with the possible exception of the villain, Nicholas, whose reasons are never entirely clear.

The author is not a native speaker but his English skills are surprisingly good. There are a few grammar mistakes that must have escaped proofreading but his writing is neat and fluid (and there are no typos at all). Only here and there he uses vocabulary that is not wrong in itself but struck me as different from what a native writer would have used.

Sex scenes are explicit but plot related. I feel like recommending this heart-warming M/M romance to every reader.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2012
Despite its constant annoying Americanism's - who in Europe calls football "soccer" (let alone in Germany, "koenig fussball")- and some poor proof reading, I have to admit I liked this story. Despite my cynicism about gay love stories/erotica - which apart from a few exceptions I find stereotyped and unoriginal - the story kept my interest and even this old cynic found it heart warming and engaging.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here