Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 July 2017
I have read this book on the train to work for the last month if even 1/2 is true it is too depressing, but I guess it is something we always knew. This is the trouble with empirical politics. Rise up brother and let's start the revolution, or just assist the capitalist elite to their endgame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
If you only read one political book this is the one to go for.
Well written and in a easy to read style - Chomsky will put so many things into context and give clarity to the way the world is influenced by the USA and big business - he is critical of politicians who serve their elite masters whilst subjecting the 'rabble' to a suppressed existence
This author has received plaudits from all over the world and scores of honorary degrees - the U.S. press however give him very few column inches - why would that be?
He writes about the 'unmentionable 5 letter word' - read on......Buy this book AND read it carefully!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2015
An excellent book to have an insight on the dynamics of the most recent social movements - such as the 99%, the anti-globalisation movements and others. The author is clearly sympathetic to these movements but his analysis is - IMHO - as fairly objective as possible.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2017
I've always had a keen interest in what shapes the way we think and what affects who we are, and the values we believe in. Books like this really open our eyes to the reality of the world we live in today. I would definitely recommend it, if you want to open your eyes to a deeper world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Not enough new thoughts to merit writing this book, and some of his analysis of Europe was debatable and seemed stereotypical of a US POV. Not worth buying if you had already read previous books by the author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2018
Amazing book. Selecting what is going on around us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2013
For those who are still not aware of the constant presence and influence of the US in global warfare this is a huge eye opener. It is impressive the detail discription and opinio presented by Chomsky in this big set of interviews. A leftist/anarchist point of view, critical to capitalism and current social status and modern human condition. A good first read for those interest in concepts such as, calss warfare, global economy, third world countries wars and the roots of racism.
This is not a book for people looking for answers, a lot of open topics for everyone to reflect about. Chomsky is clear about that. Great piece of reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Whilst I don't always agree with Chomsky's views - particularly recently, this book is great- we really need the Occupy Movement more than ever right now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
When you talk to Americans, they have never heard of Chomsky. This is because the truth is suppressed by the din of media propaganda. Let Chomsky help you think for yourself. And then wonder why exactly whilst everyone is watching come dancing, young men are coming back from Afghanistan maimed or dead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2018
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)