Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
Surviving Life [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 5 August 2017
Svankmajer is best known for his virtuosic series of animation stop-motion short films.
The film maker then abandoned short films for feature-length films, with mixed results. I very much enjoyed the first two feature-length films 'Faust' & 'Alice'. But it is in his sixth feature 'Surviving Life' that Svankmajer is again working at the peak of imagination.
This psychoanalytical comedy is clearly in the tradition of the alchemist Prague of Rudolf II, as well as the bizarre Prague of Kafka and modern surrealism. The mixture of animation (in general) & life action (in close-ups) in this film is entirely appropriate.
The succession of light & dark, levity & anxiety, are beautifully articulated, and the dream sequences are always accompanied by the lyrical Concert Waltz no. 1 by Glazunov, once heard never forgotten.
In Svankmajer's dream world the psychoanalyst manages to be both Freudian & Jungian!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This is a deeply satisfying film - it manages to be both funny and tragic, and entertains whilst being intellectually stimulating. It is also aesthetically and stylistically brilliant and unique. If anyone needs proof that film can be the intellectual equal of literature this film is the one. This really is an amazing film, I can't stop thinking about it - I know that I'll have to watch it again very soon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2017
Exactly what i was looking for, great film for those who love these types of quirky cinema movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
HUGE fan of all things Svankmajer!
Utterly, totally, bonkers and BRILLIANT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
the most beautiful , moving and emotionally charged work of surrealism ever made. A deeply humane story, and a tour de force of animation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Having caught this film briefly on Film4, I knew it was something I had to see! I'm into my Czech films but Surviving Life got me into a Czech 'film-maker,' and I'm moving onto his others this week! My g/f also liked this flick and I'm pleased that it is (I understand) slightly less sexual and grotesque than his others, otherwise she'd never have watched it! Now she too is looking 4ward to viewing more of his films!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
Švankmajer takes your soul apart and puts it back together again. It won't necessarily be the same as it was before.

If you've suppressed your memories of "Conspirators of Desire" because it was just too real, and if you fell in love with "Little Otik", then you need to see this film. If you grew up with "Alice"... then perhaps this is the story of your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
The alchimist of Prague did it again. Under the watchful eyes of Freud and Jung we are traveling in the memories of a middle aged man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Usual bizarre offering from Svankmajer but excellent all the same
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)