Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2014
I read this book a few years ago and passed it on, it inspired me no end and i have bought again On the subject of quality as covered in one chapter alone, it has transformed my life and I feel I appreciate and value everything so much more than I used to. As far a philosophical tool is concerned, to have such knowledge in my box made a wonderful difference to every day. Great book, highly recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Zen and the Art works on many different levels: As a travelogue, as psychology, as personal development, as intellectual and spiritual enquiry and now, since it was first published in the 1970's, as social history. It's also an incredibly good detective novel if you're reading it for the first time. If you lend it to your friends you'll find, if my experience is anything to go by, that they'll have widely differing views on it's purpose and meaning. Some 'won't see the point' others will rave about it. One thing is for sure: you will be entertained, and maybe even a little enlightened!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
A fantastic journey through philosophy as well as a history of western thought set to the back drop of a heart warming father - son relationship. The element of mystery also keep you turning the pages. I also like how it challenges convention and authority. My dad recommended it to me and one day I'll recommend it to my son.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
A few years ago the community association in our town offered a philosophy course for those who had not enjoyed a chance to study it before. The organisers were worried no-one would be interested, though it quickly filled up. Not surprising, really, as pondering what it's all about is a natural preoccupation, which explains the success of this volume, a five-million best-seller - initially rejected by 120 publishers - and the tale of a man's bike journey across America with his young son in search of Meaning and his past life. The travelogue part is great, as you can look at the Mid West towns they go through on the internet; the meaning element is fine, particularly when it's tied to maintaining a motorbike; but the past life sections are self-centred and tedious, Pirsig coming across as the kind of bore you have to escape from at parties. However, the book rewards attention, especially if you've ever wondered why you can show a handy-person a diagram for a boiler and they immediately get it, while when you produce a Picasso painting they switch off. On the same principle, show someone “arty” the Picasso and they go into raptures, while the diagram elicits baffled impatience. Come on, folks, they're just different aspects of the same thing, particularly if they have “Quality”, the philosophical truffle for which Pirsig is snuffling. Like the curate's egg, parts of this book are excellent, others less so, but it's a journey beyond the mountains well worth making, its end tinged with sadness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Be prepared to have your preconceptions about "Dry as dust" philosophy shattered as the author takes you on a journey unlike anything you can possibly imagine. This book leaves the reader with more questions than answers - about life, themselves our universe. A must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Read it first thirty years ago in my early 20's and returning was like a home-comming. Plenty more to appreciate in the light of adulthood.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Best read ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
old but okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)