Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Opus Eponymous
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 1 September 2017
Excellent listening from start to finish. Eerie, dark satanic, melodic and heavy. What more can you ask for a metal album. Highlights are Ritual, stand by him, con clavi con dido, Elizabeth and the excellent Death Knell - the best song Candlemass never wrote. A really good début album from ghost, old school metal sounding and will please fans of Mercyful fate, Candlemass, Black Sabbath and Paradise lost etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2017
It spins around and music comes out. Even comes with a free picture drawn on the round bit with all the sound on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Liked it, but not as good as their other albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Fantastic Album! Great band & great to watch live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
I loved this debut album from Swedish metallers Ghost from day one! I love how they incorporate every genre of metal you can think of and turn it into the darkest, twisted possible sound and make it their own. Papa Emeritus the Third is a true band leader and certainly gets the crowd going. Offended? Hell no! This is how metal should be!! I love the 'Backward Priests' overdub, really gives it that ethereal sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
Purchased this on a whim based purely on the retro cover art and really chuffed I did. They sound like an amalgam of early doom (such as pentagram and black sabbath) and melodic 70's heavy rock. There is tasteful use of organs which adds an atmospheric quality to the album. Subject matter for the lyrical content is so unrelentingly and overtly satanic to an almost comical degree it could grow tiresome for the casual listener but fans of bands such as electric wizard and their ilk will appreciate it. Having said that the lyrics are more of a joyous celebration of satan than a shock factor approach favoured by some black and death metal bands. Stand out tracks for me are con clavi con dio (with a cracking intro bass driven riff that geezer butler would be proud of) and death knell but there isn't a single bad song on the album. They have keen sense of melodicism and a dare I say a pop sensibility uncommon with modern doom rock bands. If you like the sound of a band that combines the best parts of wishbone ash and doom don't hesitate in buying this.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Ghost are what you would expect if Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple had a baby with overtly satanic lyrics. Intrigued? I know I was after seeing the Metal Hammer cover story on these guys. There's no way that a band should be able to be this melodic, concise and immediate. Occult rock shouldn't really be this easy to listen to. Yet it is. These Swedes have really got their stuff nailed down to the max. I just saw them at Soundwave festival in Australia. I was a fan after hearing the C.D. and after seeing the excellent show I'm now telling everyone I think might be remotely into them to go out and get this album quick smart. It's no where near as heavy as their image would have you think, and is soo well constructed. If Satan has tunes this good we all need to go to hell. The fact that Lee Dorian of Napalm Death and Cathedral fame should fall over himself to sign them to his label should say a lot to those in the know. These guys have a major fan in James Hetfield of Metallica fame. Are you really going to tell him he's wrong? I don't think so. Revel in the glory of Satan with Ghost. There are infinately worse things you can do.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I discovered Ghost purely by accident when they supported Trivium in London and that was it! I was hooked. I have thus far seen them on every UK show and have even been Papa Emeritus for Halloween :)

When you strip away all the makeup and pageantry, Ghost is still musically incredible! And addictive too!! Try them!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
In love with this band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Amazing debut album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)