Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 26 November 2017
Sounds from the seventies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Perfect. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2012
Better late than never, but here is the 40th anniversary deluxe box version of Electric Warrior, first released on 24 September 1971.

Inside the chunky box is a 32-page hb book full of colour reproduced T.Rex ads and reviews from 1971 with a text by Mark Paytress. There's also a wallet with a repro press release, photos, a coaster (surely no-one would want to spoil this) and a double-sided poster, one side of which is the image used for the original poster that came with the vinyl album. The music is captured on 2 CDs, one of which is the album plus 'Get It On''s B-sides and 'Hot Love' with its B-sides, making it a Best of T.Rex for 1971.

Interestingly, Bolan left 'Hot Love' (a UK no.1. for 6 weeks) off the album because he felt it was no longer representative. I think this was a good decision. To me 'Hot Love' has come to seem more and more like the end-point of the Tyrannosaurus Rex journey from 1968. Though it is nice to have it on here. The second CD has a number of alternate versions / mixes. The third disc is a 10-track DVD of performances of the EW songs. (Can it really be that there are only two T.Rex TOTP performances unwiped from 1971?). The performances of Girl and Cosmic Dancer from Wembley March 1972 may not have been in the film Born To Boogie but they are included in the multi-DVD release.

It's undoubtedly a beautiful package, a very good example of what the deluxe box-set format can provide. Anyone who remembers purchasing the vinyl LP back in 1971 will not be disappointed. And I guess it is unlikely that any of the other Bolan albums will get the same treatment.

Two caveats. The first is that these boxsets are usually a sonic advance on previous releases, or at least this is what we assume. In 2003 the album was released as a hybrid SACD with a stereo SACD and 5.1 SACD mix. This must surely remain the ultimate version Electric Warrior as far as sound goes, and it is odd that this 2012 release didn't include the SACD version. Hearing Electric Warrior in 5.1. really is special. (The fate of rock SACD is a tragedy for quality audio).

My second caveat concerns CD 2, the collection of what are described as variously 'instrumental edit', 'working version', 'single vocal mix', 'alternate master', etc. As with the extra tracks and extended releases of the Tyrannosaurus Rex albums, and also some mis-labelled live T.Rex recordings, I'm not always convinced that these are as different from the final version as you might think, though they can make certain details of the arrangement or performance more audible. In connection with this aspect see The Electric Warrior Sessions CD (Pilot 1996) and the 30th anniversary EW with its 8 'work in progress' tracks (A&M, 2001) to judge how significant some of the 2012 alternate versions are.

You will need to go to the box-set The Electric Boogie 1971 (Easy Action 2007) if you want to hear a demo of what might have been Electric Warrior's title track. Bolan apparently never finished this song. It was written in a style that was a throwback to a song like 'Dragon's Ear' from Beard of Stars. It would have needed a lot of re-writing to bring it in line with the rock'n'roll songs of his break-through album. I assume this was considered too embryonic for inclusion(?).

Less lavish versions of this release are also available.
1010 Comments| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2012
Like the American reviewer linked to Amazon UK says,this is the best version of a classic Bolan album.
I also have the anniversary edition,the Castle edition ,the sacd release and (yes ,I need to get out more!)this is the one that hits the spot.
Warm,but crisp sound which reveals details that were hidden,particularly Bill Legend`s drumming and Flo and Eddie`s unique backing vocals.The sound is perfectly balanced and lets the listener pay attention to every nuance or just go with the flow and eddy of the music as it washes over you and laps at your feet!(enuf with the puns, already).
One final thought,Amazon should reduce the price as HMV has it for 3.99 inc.p and p.
Bang a gong in the mambo sun.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2012
Well I guess we'll have to wait for the 50th Anniversary version of this little doozy. It's a beautiful boxed set, with carefully annotated facts and info, a lovely book, and a nice poster etc. I love the design and the music sounds great. The only problem is that it's not 'complete' - two tracks which are listed on the sessions for the album are missing, 'Bolan's Blues' and a BBC radio version of 'Sailors Of The Highway'. Both are significant tracks as the first is a studio workout of a basic blues song, with T.REX sounding as if they're having a whale of a time trying out their new sound, having not long performed together. The second is a track actually considered as a follow up to Hot Love, so it really does belong in this collection.
Maybe they're saving the 'complete package' for 2022!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 February 2016
Losing my lovingly kept vinyl copy of the Rex's iconic "Electric Warrior" with the 'sticker' on the front cover (inner and poster inside too) a few years back has remained one of my big LP regrets over the years (needs must at the time and it had to be done). The British album on Fly Records sold loads (sleeve by Hipgnosis) - but for some reasons copies of an original with the sticker still intact (on the front sleeve) are far rarer than most fans know.

A similar tale of selling-woe with CD reissues... I bought the January 2012 Tony Visconti/Paschal Byrne 2CD 'Deluxe Edition' and lived with it for a while (great audio, same as this issue) – but I found the extras lacking (sold it) and I've plumed instead for this single disc version with four 'Bonus Tracks' that I actually want. A case of less is more I think (and its under four quid). Time to 'Get It On' and indeed 'Bang A Gong' for the original Jeepsters - T.REX...

UK released 17 April 2012 (1 May 2012 in the USA) – "Electric Warrior" by T.REX on Universal/A&M/Fly 533 780-1 (Barcode 600753378014) is an 'Expanded Edition' single CD Remaster and plays out as follows (55:58 minutes):

1. Mambo Sun
2. Cosmic Dancer
3. Jeepster
4. Monolith
5. Lean Woman Blues
6. Get It On [Side 2]
7. Planet Queen
8. Girl
9. The Motivator
10. Life's A Gas
11. Rip Off
Tracks 1 to 11 are the 2nd album "Electric Warrior" by T. REX (formerly known as Tyrannosaurus Rex for the four previous LPs) – released 24 September 1971 in the UK on Fly Records HIFLY 6 and in the USA on Reprise RS 6466. It peaked at No. 1 in the UK and No. 32 in the USA.

T. REX was:
MARC BOLAN – Vocals and Guitars
MICKEY FINN – Vocals and Percussion
IAN McDONALD – Saxophones
BURT COLLINS - Flugel Horn
STEVE CURRIE – Bass
WILL LEGEND – Drums

HOWARD & MARK VOLMAN – Backing Vocals
RICK WAKEMAN – Piano on "Get It On" (uncredited)
STRING SECTION – Uncredited

BONUS TRACKS:
12. There Was A Time/Raw Ramp (B-side of "Get It On" – UK 7" single released 2 July 1971 on Fly Records BUG 10. Although listed as a two-part B-side – it has in fact three distinct musical sections in the song with the uncredited Part 3 sometimes known as "Electric Boogie" because of the lyrics. "Get It On" peaked at No. 1 in the UK charts and was billed as "Bang A Gong" in the USA on Reprise 1032 when it was released December 1971

13. Hot Love (Non-Album A-side – UK 7" single released 19 February 1971 on Fly Records BUG 6) – peaked at No. 1 on the UK singles charts

14. Woodland Rock (1 of 2 Non-Album B-sides to "Hot Love" – UK 7" single released 19 February 1971 on Fly Records BUG 6) – peaked at No. 1 on the UK singles charts

15. The King Of The Mountain Cometh (2 of 2 Non-Album B-sides to "Hot Love" – UK 7" single released 19 February 1971 on Fly Records BUG 6) – peaked at No. 1 on the UK singles charts

Reproduced beneath the see-through tray is that gorgeous Fly Records label with the script track lists for Side 1 and 2 - while the CD itself has the Marc Bolan/Mickey Finn photo that adorned the other side of the LP label (nice touches). The generously outfitted 24-page booklet is a fan's dream – beautifully and smartly laid out. You get updated (new research especially for this 2012 issue) and in-depth liner notes from noted Bolan expert MARK PAYTRESS – as well Melody Maker, NME, Sounds and Beat Instrumental front page repros, snaps of Bolan in the studio, on stage with T.Rex and relaxing (the poster shot). There is the rare sheet music for "Hot Love" and a picture of Bolan by a bus with his girlfriend as well as the beautiful George Underwood pencil drawings that were the inner bag (Bolan on one side, Mickey Finn on the other) – they adorn either side of the centre pages.

Original Producer TONY VISCONTI has remastered the album for this issue while the hugely experienced Audio Engineers PASCHAL BYRNE and BEN WISEMAN handled the Bonus Tracks. All of it sounds renewed and incredibly alive. There are hissy passages for sure but no tampering with the original sound has taken place to my ears - it's just breathing better now. A job sensitively done...

Right from the opening guitar chug of "Mambo Sun" – the vocals, the strings and backing singers and those cool swinging guitars – all of it sleeks out of your speakers with the swagger of a man on the up. There is a lot of hiss as "Cosmic Dancer" opens with the Acoustic and Strings – but there's no denying the loveliness of the song. The whack off "Jeepster" is shocking – that foot-stomping guitar boogie still gets me too (another effortless No. 1 single dashed off in his sleep). That lone guitar rip at the beginning of "Monolith" threatens to punch a hole in your speaker cones on this ballsy remaster – the lurching slugger beat somehow now even more epic than I remember it ("...shallow are the actions of the children of the men...oh yeah!") Side 1 ends with "Lean Woman Blues" – a one two and buckle my shoe set of Bolan Blues where he bemoans his lady's 'lean love' while those guitars riff and groan ("...you're the love of my life...then you gorge me with a knife...")

What can you say about "Get It On" - a winner to this day. I was a kid in Dublin 1971 and we'd gone with the scouts to Todd Vale Camp Site near Liverpool in England for a summer outing. On the site someone had a portable singles deck and the rare picture sleeve of "Get It On". Sun shining down – campfires nearby cooking dinner - bopping to that infectious beat - man we must played that sucker nine times in a row (the memory still sends chills up my arms). And here it is again with that fabulous Visconti production only better – bang a gong baby! Many peoples other fave is the slinky Acoustic Rock of "Planet Queen" – a great Bolan groove. Burt Collins provides the Flugel Horn for the pretty "Girl" – a song where Marc sounds most like Bowie - who would of course release "Hunky Dory" in December of that great year (1971). More cool Bolan riffage with the "...love the way you walk..." groove of "The Motivator" – while both 'Life's A Gas" and the angry live-in-the-studio "Rip Off" have healthy amounts of hiss for sure but still sound like they've been given a right old dust off - unleashed even.

What I also love about this reissue is that the Bonus Tracks provide you with four truly great non-album single sides – “Woodland Rock” and "The King of The Woodland Cometh" like some Tyrannosaurus Rex boogie outtakes, the so sexy sway of "Hot Love" and that amazing 3-part B-side to "Get It On". I’ve even isolated "Electric Boogie" as a track by itself (begins at 3:23 minutes) – what a blast.

Marc Bolan would go on to "The Slider" and "Tanx" albums and so much more until his sad loss in London in 1977 – but "Electric Warrior" is the one in the hearts of his original fans. As Bolan sang in the irrepressible "Jeepster" - "...I'll call you a jaguar if I may be so bold..." Amen to that you slinky mother...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2005
This album undoubtedly represents the high-water mark for T-Rex. It is, quite simply, the album that defined the sound of the 70's. With the aid of John Peel, Bolan had already talked up chart success with "Ride a White Swan" and "Hot Love", but this was the complete T-Rex package. From the swinging, psychedelic 'Mambo Sun' to the vulnerable 'Cosmic Dancer' and then the rocking 'Jeepster' (containing the delicious "just like a car, you're pleasing to behold. I'd call you Jaguar if I may be so bold") the scene is already set for an epochal recording well before the commercial favourite 'Get It On' is introduced. The fantastic fluctuations continue with the heart wrenching 'Girl', followed by the funky 'Motivator' and all capped off with the hard rocking 'Rip Off'. People have criticised Bolan's lyrics, but here you can feel the passion, pain and joy just from his tone and no-one can deny that when it came to boogie-able guitar riffs, Bolan was king. The additional 'work in progress' material gives a great insight into the man's creative process. Groundbreaking stuff, a self-made Superstar at the height of his powers and a must for every music fan.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2015
I have a couple of T. Rex compilation albums and an early album which was very much elf-based and will stand only an occasional listen - though in the right mood even that can be okay. In deciding to purchase Electric Warrior, what I wanted to track down was an album that reflected T.Rex at the peak of their powers with a track order that was authentic to the mores of the time as opposed to a contemporary compiler's take on how the tracks should be ordered. With a bottomless pocket I'd have gone like a shot for the 2014 Box Set Complete Studio Albums which is very reasonably priced for the ten CDs it contains but I simply couldn't run to it. Electric Warrior is an interesting album as it appears to have a foot both in the early mystical/pre-electric stuff at the same time as establishing the driving guitar sound that is so evocative of T.Rex when their star was highest in the firmament.
There are two songs from the main album - Jeepster and Get It On - which feature on many compilations plus Hot Love in the Bonus Tracks. I was perhaps a little too young to experience Bolan at his peak as anything other than a highly attractive pop idol. When I grew up a little and started immersing myself in NME, Bolan's star was in the descendent and I recall some very unpleasant stuff being written about him much of which appeared to focus on his appearance once more. His prettiness was in a sense a curse; it somehow encouraged accusations of shallowness. At around the same time Elvis was being vilified for much the same reason. There is certainly a part of Bolan who was the dandy and who loved being the prettiest star but there was much more to the man than this. It's evident from Bolan's embracing of the embryonic punk and new wave culture which burgeoned shortly before his tragic death.
What Bolan and T.Rex really deserve is that we listen without prejudice. The years have been kind to Marc's music - it sounds fresh and undated - and there is increasingly more quality product for fans to buy into. Perhaps what elevates Bolan to pop god status may be the sheer number of elements he got right - the dandyism fitting him ideally for glam rock, the roots which suggested he had come up through blues, through pre-electric, indeed through being an early favourite of John Peel's - so there is a real credibility and seriousness - along with the trashy and ephemeral elements and an ability to make a perfect three minute pop single which is frankly so much more truly poppy, less studied and more immediately loveable than Bowie in spite of my utter devotion to DB for the past three decades or so. There is too the fact that when Marc died he was only thirty years of age. I guess Bowie has had the time to coast through many different musical landscapes, to make the transition from pop idol to serious musician but in the short time allotted to Marc he made a very creditable mark on the history of popular music and there's an argument to say he was actually more original than Bowie who constantly has drawn from other musical forms and made them his own. Worth tracking down some of the interviews Marc did as his personality is very engaging. In common with most purchasers of this album I imagine, I wish Marc had stayed around; it would have been so interesting to watch where his creativity took him.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2012
Can't really add much to Richard James impressive review but I would like to up the grade to 5 stars because this package truly deserves it!

`Electric Warrior' is a timeless classic no debate! If you are not moved by the pulsing rhythms, the haunting melodies and the poetically charged lyrics within then you do not deserve to have ears!

I am a sucker for box sets, the more lavish the better, and I do expect lot's of nice things when I spend my hard earned! Two discs of quality music, (much of it previously unheard and in great quality I might add), and a DVD of television, promo and live `Warrior' performances nestle in the box alongside some very gorgeous Bolan/T.Rex memorabilia which Mr. James has helpfully itemised in his review.

The jewel for me however is the book. A hardback 28 page volume of considerable quality. The sleeve notes are by Mark Paytress, a writer of some quality and an unwavering champion of Bolan and his work. Also to be found within are copious contemporary (1971) reviews of the album, associated singles and live gigs. There are colour and black and white photographs, again from the 71' era, many of which I had never viewed before which only left me wishing that the book had been larger in size.

It costs a bit of money but things of true worth and beauty often do. I did not begrudge a penny I paid for it and I desperately hope that `The Slider' is in the pipeline for similar treatment.

An unreserved 5 stars!!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2017
1971's 'Electric Warrior' is surely Marc Bolan's finest hour as a songwriter and guitarist with a strong running order kicked off by 'Mambo Sun', 'Cosmic Dancer' and the classic 'Jeepster'; the rest of the album is pretty strong as well with the evergreen 'Get It On', 'The Motivator' and the lovely 'Life's A Gas' all worthy of high praise. This remaster also throws in some lovely Bonus tracks including 'Hot Love' as well as a classy booklet detailing the history of the album. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)