Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2012
Classic Taggart - The Mark McManus Collection

7 episodes on 7 DVD discs

The episodes in the set are :

1.Flesh And Blood.
2.Double Exposure.
3.Death Comes Softly.
4.Nest Of Vipers.
5.Death Without Dishonour.
6.The Hitman.
7.Secrets.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Great to watch some classic taggart with Mark McManus in action, its just not the same without him. It was brilliant seeing all the Glasgow sights and the different hair do's DS Reid has had over the years!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
excellent value for money. Taggart with Mark Mc Manus is the best one to watch. It does not require any more words!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Mark McManus is great as Taggart, love his style and characterisation. Was a civilan with the police and saw one or two like him so fairly real. Great loss as an actor, some great humourous touches that are unexpected.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
For lovers of the original series this is a must. Great dvds & brings back memories of Jim Taggart. Definitely a good buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
I have always enjoyed the original series with the inimitable Mark McManus as the cantankerous old curmudgeon, Taggart. His relationship with his long-suffering wife, Jean lends pathos and humour to the stories. The plots are usually interesting and often gripping. I also enjoy the dynamic between Taggart and his boss, McVitie (The Biscuit!) which is an important and often very amusing facet of this series and there is also a lot of mutual respect hidden under the dour exteriors.

I only decided to comment here as I wanted to thank Naley for the brief but very useful review which lists all 7 episodes in this collection which enabled me to decide to purchase the DVD. Having viewed the episodes I would recommend the DVD to fans of Taggart. I particularly liked Double Exposure, Death comes Softly and Nest of Vipers.

It is extremely helpful to list episodes of TV series in reviews - particularly of long-running and/or old TV series where it is not always immediately apparent which episodes feature in a particular series.

In this spirit, I will list the episodes in the DVD collection:-

1. Flesh and Blood
2. Double Exposure
3. Death Comes Softly
4. Nest of Vipers
5. Death without Dishonour
6. The Hitman
7. Secrets.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I think i it was the best detective series on TV. However it would be better if you put a list of the episodes so we could see what we are buying.
.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I love Taggart and feel that these earlier ones are still good entertainment. If you watch the different series over time its nice to see the characters developing. Great plots, excellent characters and always a twist in the plot at some point. Very good value for money too. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
excellent dvd set - brought back old memories of the start of a wonderful series.
delivery of purchase extremely prompt and in new condition.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
The DVD is exactly what the label says - Classic Taggart. I love Mark Mc Manus in the role of the feisty and grumpy and smart Glasgow cop,DCI Taggart. His bark is always worse than his bite. He is supported by an excellent cast of actors and great stories. When that memorable theme music rings out you know you are in for a treat.
Gerry Mc Menemy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)