Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
20
3.7 out of 5 stars
The Arrival Of Wang [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 April 2017
Scifi not coming out of jaded Hollywood studios, is hard to come by. That means that sequals and rehashed 1 dimensional ideas are the norm available to the sci starved audience. This little gem is a breath of freash air. A simple story, simply told (most of of it in one room), that builds up good old fashioned tension, and a real interest in potential directions the story might travel. The interpreter, confused, intrigued, and shocked by unfolding events, is played very realistically by the personable and easy on the eye Franceska Cuttica, giving this very low budget film a very sound footing. The cover has one of the dumbest, unnecessary, spoilers in the history of DVD's, though the surprise it destroys, is luckily only one revealed early in the film. The rest is the stuff of good story telling.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Interesting movie at a good price.
Hard to find elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 31 August 2013
Make no mistake, this is movie making without the cash. At times it's also without a little polish or brain, (what moron thought that giving the plot away on the DVD cover was a good idea?!)

However there is something about this that stays in the mind long after it's finished.

A Chinese interpreter is called upon to drop everything and be driven off to some secret facility to sit blindfolded in a darkened underground bunker to translate the interrogation of an unwelcome visitor.
Things become unpleasant for her as the interrogation becomes more and more heated and she becomes concerned for the welfare of the detainee.

Once she demands to take the blindfold off and see's the 'Wang', (clearly the Italians didn't stop to find out what the name they chose might mean in English!), she gets a bit of a shock, (this would normally be a spoiler but the DVD company have already managed to let this cat out of the bag with the cover on the case).

The official with the questions repeats the same questions over and over, "why did you come here", "where did you disappear to for 2 weeks" and "what are your plans?"

Still she continues to demand that whoever is doing the questioning behave in a more humane manner until she eventually takes things into her own hands.

By this point you will have worked out what is going to happen but the last 20 minutes are nicely played out. The final 'reveal' may be budgeted but it is simple and effective.

Most effective of all are 'Wangs' final words, the last of the film. Simple, to the point, true and funny.

That you know whats going on and what will happen so early on and yet this is still enjoyable means that someone has got something right.

A Hollywood blockbuster re-make would no doubt ruin this and would re-locate to America and change everything that matters so lets hope it doesn't happen.

If you are unhappy without brain numbing violence, continual excitement and multi-million budgets then off you go, this ones not for you. I like 'em too but this ones likely to bore you a bit.

If you fancy a low budget bit of fun with a nicely played out plot and an enjoyable ending then give this a go.

Obviously it's subtitled and has it's limitations but this has a certain charm and is a little known sic-fi gem with a real nod back to the grand old days of 50's and 60's TV paranoia.

Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
I had never heard of The Arrival of Wang. The first I heard of it was on Film4 during the Frightfest season which they were having. Being quite the horror buff, I decided to give it a look on our very own IMDb only to find one review and zero description! It was clear to me that no one had seen it. However, seeing something without knowing nothing about it was an idea that sounded very appealing to me so I watched it without knowing nothing about it and what I got was a well done, low-budget and low-key thriller that offered something a little bit unique, but which is quite flawed.

I won't go too much into the plot because knowing nothing about it is something that I found quite intriguing. You put yourself right in the main character's shoes, so you feel as confused and alienated as she does. She's a translator who gets a mysterious call to go and do some translating. That's really all you need to know about it. What unfolds is some compelling dialogue and bad CGI. If I told you that most of the film plays out in one room, then you'd be understandably turned off. However, you shouldn't be. I was never bored in The Arrival of Wang thanks to the unique premise and well-handled screenplay. As long as you keep open minded, you're sure to find something to enjoy. It's also quite thought-provoking.

It's not all about talking though. There is also some well-executed scenes of thrills and tension which I shan't spoil for you. It's just a shame that this aspect wasn't used more because it added some much needed spice to the film. I felt like the whole thing ended too quickly and more could've been done. However, it's better to be too short than too long, right? There are also some seriously bad effects that are worth a mention. I know it's a low budget film, but they really shouldn't have included ambitious set-pieces if they knew that they couldn't pull them off. They could've at least tried to execute them with a bit of imagination and with as little CGI as possible.

However, The Arrival of Wang is a film worth seeing. I've seen much worse mainstream films and at least it's never boring. It offers something different and it always had me interested. The final line of dialogue also hit me quite hard. It's a great ending which leaves you with something to ponder about. Some of the plot can be quite predictable, however I found it difficult to pin point how the film was going to end and it didn't disappoint. In short, if you get the chance to see The Arrival of Wang please do. You also get a special feeling of belonging to a very small cult of people who have actually seen it. I imagine only six people have seen it so far, so you could be the seventh!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
My twin brother and I watched this film and have to say that it was brilliantly executed. From beginning to end, it was riveting and the alien in captivity is rather convincing in his assumptions; you'll have to watch it to understand what we mean.

There is a brilliant twist at the end of the movie and of which will leave you thinking about it long after the credits have passed.

One thing we'll say; this was intelligently crafted and visually haunting and may ring true in falsified or alleged alien-capture interrogations.

In our view, this is better than most elite Hollywood so-called Blockbusters.

Congratulations to the producers.

Ronald & Philip Kinsella
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
A fascinating psychological look into first contact with extraterrestrial life without the special effects and pretentiousness of films like Arrival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
It is not even a B-movie, but rather a C-Movie. Possibly a serie noire film. The actors are definitely 3rd grade as is all the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
It starts as just another depressingly dull day for scrumptious interpreter Gaia (Cuttica, meow) subtitling low rent Chinese-language comedies when suddenly she's contacted by the Italian authorities to see if she'd be interested in doing a little bit of translating work for them.

After a wee bit of humming and ahhing the draw of leaving dismal comedies behind (at least for a while) coupled with the promise of a huge wad of cash proves too great to resist and Gaia excitedly heads of to a top secret location in order to interview a certain Mr. Wang, a Mandarin speaking non Italian national who appears to have entered the country illegally.

A modern day Rod Serling inspired morality play from the fantastic Manetti brothers, L'ARRIVO DI WANG is quite simply one of the two must see films of this year.

Tho' it'll probably be retitled by then, hopefully as THE VISITOR because that was my suggestion and the cash would be nice.

Quite frankly a work of utter genius.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
A simple but effective storyline. It holds your interest and there are a few surprises along the way - not all of them pleasant and some that you definitely wouldn't get in a Hollywood film. This will appeal to anyone who likes alien-encounter type films.

Please note: it's in Italian with sub-titles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This low budget SF film is good.
The script , the actors and the acting are all good.
You do not need a huge budget to make a good SF film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse