Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
Super!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
as always,being a big who fan,seen this cd in a supermarket(cant remember which,but it begun with a t and ended with an o)and at its price,bought it anyway,for a change,track listing has at last concentrated in more of the iconic tunes,other than filling it up with the usual "bubblegum pop" type tracks as is the norm on other albums,we get for a change,run run run and armenia city in the sky(sung by the late john "speedy" keen)from the sell out album, circles and batman from the ready steady who ep,tracks from the whos next/lifehouse era baba o riley,wont get fooled again(full lenght version no less!) and naked eye,proving there status of best live band we have the pure powerhouse version of young man blues and im free from live at leeds,leading to the current interest with the quadrophenia tracks, love reign o`er me and the real me,right up to it`s not enough from the wire and glass album proving the who can still cut it and rock with the best of them!
as a starter or taster of the who,in my opinion up to date, it is one of the better who compilations,that will encouage non who fans to by more
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
A great collection of Who songs, accompanied by the ultimate collection, makes for superb listening of your favourite Who songs. Some songs are duplicated on both CD's but some hidden gems are also showcased
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
Despite its intermittently poor sound quality and underwhelming presentation, and the fact that it isn't Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy, this budget-priced collection is an interesting, career-spanning survey of an excellent rock group. Alongside some of the coruscating songs with which the band's name has become synonymous - 'My Generation', 'I Can See For Miles', 'Won't Get Fooled Again', 'Pinball Wizard' - the (broadly) chronological 19 track Pinball Wizard features a miscellany of singles, B-sides, and live material from the band's back catalogue. This material varies in quality. Some of the selections - like the ferocious pairing of 'Slip Kid' and 'Who Are You' - provide pointed reminders of just how The Who were able to gravitate, from their modest West London beginnings to worldwide stadium filling rock status. Other choices - such as 1966's 'Batman' and 'Circles' - prove to be appealing, if unexpected inclusions. Only with the concluding two tracks, and the turgid ballad 'Naked Eye', does the quality level to this 79 minute collection falter significantly.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
All the favourites here! The Who at their best, giving a great cross-section example of their work. This is one of bands I am pleased to say I grew up with. They have influenzed the pop/rock scene for decades and still do! One of the great 'Live' bands sounding near studio quality thanks to Roger's vocals....still going strong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
As a Who fan for more than 30 years i was a bit dubious as there always seems to be 'another' Who greatest hits or compilation appearing..but this is actually a good one with an unusual mixture of different tracks..a nice change and at such a bargain price!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Old music sound just as good as today's music.
Pete and roger are great old rockers.
My generation you pinball wizard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
This is a great entry level compilation for people who are interested in discovering "The Who".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
My elder brother used to play Meaty Beaty Big & Boucy all the time and I bought this recently from Tesco's (hope I can say that on Amazon!) and can't stop playing it. There's plenty of tracks on here I know but also some absolute gems that were new to me. Circles for a start is awesome, likewise Armenia City In The Sky. Its Not Enough was a revelation too and shows all these years on they still deliver and Batman is hilarious. Aside from the original theme I'd only heard The Jam do that. I've since bought a couple of their studio albums - A Quick One and Who By Numbers, both excellent although different in style. The booklet is lovely and I have to say in an increasingly expensive life this is great value. My kids like it too which I guess means their alright!!! Shame that favourite wasn't included too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)