Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
262
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2005
Absolutely mesmerising - my neices and nephews love this book. Beautiful illustrations, a simple story and more fantastic discoveries everytime they read it. Wonderful.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was given this free sample at an Amazon Baby Event that I attended with no obligation to provide a review.

The illustrations in this board book are absolutely gorgeous and the story is thoroughly beautiful. I hadn't read any of Oliver Jeffers books to my little ones before receiving a copy of this book free from the publisher via Amazon but he will be being added to my children's book authors 'list'.

The story tells how a little boy finds a penguin and thinks he must be lost because he is sad only to discover after trying to take him home that this is not the case. The story is about friendship and helping others and both my son and baby daughter absolutely love it. The board book is thick and so is perfect for little hands and my daughter loves sitting there looking through the pictures on her own and I can easily confirm this is her favourite book at present.

A beautiful, heartwarming story that is truly magical and draws you in to the story even when reading for the 50th time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Oliver Jeffers simply gets better and better!

This book, like his others is illustrated with his own unique style and makes this book so easy on the eye. The pictures aren't garish, they aren't overly cartoony, they are VERY cute! - They need to be seen to be believed. The picture where the penguin is left behind almost brings a tear to your eye!

The story too is fantastic, a penguin lands on a boys doorstep, it is out of place and the boy wants to take it home. This is essentially a story about friendship, and one your child will certainly want to enjoy again and again - which is good - as you'll want to read it again too!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
I came across this story having accidentally caught the animation that was made of this book on TV. So, I bought the book for my son.

The pictures are really enjoyable; they're simple, clear and bright without being gaudy. It's a great little story that is just long enough for short attention spans both young and old.

Recommended. And if you get chance to see the film of the book then I'd definitely recommend that too.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
This book is a cracker, just the opening lines really grab the imagination of any pre-schooler (or parent for that matter)

"Once there was a boy and one day he found a penguin at his door"

My toddler loves the book and we love reading it - which as every parent knows is important when you are asked to read it for the 88th day in a row! It is in my top 5 children's books for at the moment.

There are not too many words on each page, so personally I would say it is great from age 2 and up.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
A simple storyline together with fresh illustrations make this one of my daughters favourites (she particularly loves the penguin and the stripey umbrella!) and at this stage (she is now 2) she is enjoying being able to follow a story in her own way, ie: the simplest way she can understand and I believe that it's this very simplicity which makes this picture book a big hit.

It's a short tale of friendship, a heartwarming read without being overly soppy.
Recommended!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
My daughter enjoys this book and the illustrations. It's a nice story and the right length for a bedtime story. We have the kindle version though and the font is far too small. Why can't it be adjusted?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
This book was lovely the illustrations are fabulous and the lesson inside is one that seems so important for children - or at least I think so...
home isn't necessarily where you're from but more where your friends are...
the only downfall and reason for this not being 5 stars is that some sentences ran across pages making the flow of the story the first couple of times you read aloud a little bumpy - once you know it as well as I do though the sentences flow well...
a really lovely little book
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Lost and Found pop up edition is simply magical, the story and the illustrations are fantastic, they move round and change to flow beautifully with the story.

One day a boy finds a penguin at his doorstep, he thinks he must be lost, so sets out to find where he comes from. The little boy sets out on his adventure in his row-boat, to the South Pole, to bring the poor little penguin home.

In the end he goes back to find the penguin because he realises he isn't lost, he's just lonely. The whole story is simply darling, everything was so well written and put together, my little one (3) was entranced from start to finish, she kept going back to the book, pulling the tabs, popping up the pages and flipping the tabs up and down.

My daughter loved it so much she is away to bed with it, with a reminder to be very careful with all the little tabs.

Oliver Jeffers has done a wonderful job with Lost and Found, we will go back and read it again and again, a new favourite.

A big thank-you to Harper Collins for the review copy. :)

Put this on your wishlist for your little one today, they will love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
i picked this up a little while ago while comfort shopping and because good children book illustrations always catch my eye. and it did the trick. it is a very touching little book on friendship that i believe will be a wonderful present or surprise to any child learning how to appreciate company or any adult who might be in need for a little reassurance about the good in our hearts. beautifully illustrated, quickly read and with a little twist in the plot that will get the kids hooked. the author's note is bound to bring a smile on the face of the most hardened parent, too:-)

enjoy.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here