Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 28 September 2014
Titanic is always fascinating and reading about actual passengers gave it depth and meaning, Thje plot was pretty good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Great book. Totally great read. The characters were great and it kept me engrossed from start to finish with the storyline
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
A well written story about a topic of interest to many. Based on actual people makes it more interesting. Well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I loved all these books, they gave a really good insight into the history while also being a really good tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
A GOOD BOOK THAT YOU COULD KEEP ABREAST OF. Very good storyline that made you want to keep reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
a really beleivable story woven around realpeople. One of the best books i have read for a long time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
It was different, however I found it a bit drawn out at times although I did want to finish the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2014
I gave up before a single murder had happened. Sorry but I found it too boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 1999
I really don't have any qualms with the execution of this story. The concept of having mystery writer Jacques Futrelle solve a murder aboard the Titanic before he himself met with death before the ship sank is a good one, and I have to also commend Collins for getting the atmosphere of the Titanic down to a T.
However, I have to confess I was deeply distressed to discover that the two villains of this piece, John Crafton and Hugh Rood, were not made up names used for the occasion but were in fact the names of very real people who were lost aboard the Titanic, and whose identities were appropriated by Mr. Collins solely because he could find nothing about them. This is something that I find distasteful. The fact that not much is known about Mr. Rood or Mr. Crafton is not a valid reason for turning them into the figures of convenience for Mr. Collins's story, and I think he would not have dampened the authentic feel of the story by simply using made up names for the occasion. I find it incredible that Mr. Collins did not bother to contact anyone connected with the Titanic Historical Society or Titanic International, where the scholars there know practically everything about every passenger who sailed aboard the ship. Indeed, the book "Titanic: The Exhibition" does mention that Mr. Crafton came from Roachdale, IN while Mr. Rood was from Seattle. No doubt, there were people who grieved for them as surely as there were people who grieved for the more famous people like the hero, Jacques Futrelle. Mr. Collins may take comfort that he bothered to not dig deep enough about these two men to find out if he were offending anyone, but I find his claim of respect for Titanic's victims to be very hollow when he's not willing to give them the same respect. And that is why I cannot ultimately endorse the book even though it is a brilliant piece of mystery writing.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 1999
Hard-boiled fans know that when it comes to historical mysteries, Max Allan Collins' Nathan Heller novels are second to none. Now mystery fans who prefer the less-rugged mysteries of Agatha Christie and the like can sample Collins' phenomenal talent as well. By setting the story on the doomed ship, and using a cast comprised entirely of actual historical figures, Collins shows his flair for research and detail, while telling a gripping mystery that will have the reader turning pages breathlessly. Another Collins classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse