Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
52
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2008
It is apparent that in the UK Warners have only issued a 2 disc set.So can i just say that you are best advised to buy the 3 disc set from Amazon in America.In my view it is one of the best DVD sets i have ever purchased.You get the film,associated shorts,and nearly 4 hours of Vitaphone shorts.The Vitaphone shorts are themselves worthy of the price alone.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Well, this is a wonderful release. Most importantly, the sound is digitized from the original Vitaphone disc (not from inferior recordings from the 30's). The picture is nicely preserved and it is fun to watch Jolson sing again during the synchronized scenes.

The Vitaphone shorts included in the discset are examples of early sound but are musical performances from mostly nondescript perfomers and are more oddities than entertaining. Two important exceptions: 1.) the short, "Lambchops," with a young George Burns and Gracie Allen in fine form; and 2.) Jolson in "Plantation Act" singing some of his standards.

A truly welcome release. Hopefully other Jolson films, like "Singing Fool," will be released.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2007
I bought this DVD a few weeks ago and I am delighted with my purchase. OK, the main feature is probably not the best film I have ever seen, but it is a milestone in movie history. The "Jazz Singer" is not a full talkie, but the first ever movie to feature some dialogues and songs. - Anyway, this DVD edition is a delight for any serious movie collector or film buff. It contains a carefully restored print of the "Jazz Singer" (including the German-dubbed version)and is crammed with great special features. Those features include a fantastic feature-length documentary about the advent of sound, a 1936 Technicolor cartoon which pokes a fun at the the Jazz Singer, a 1937 Technicolor short with Hollywood stars at the horse races (featuring Al Jolson and Ruby Keeler). Furthermore, there are several vintage shorts about the advent of talkies and trailers of several other Al Jolson movies. - I really wish for more DVD Edition like this one! How about a similar packaged special DVD-Edition about the first colour movie "Becky Sharp" (1935)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
I have been a sound engineer since 1948.Talkies was born in 1929 some nineteen years later. I have heard the original sound on 78 discs and I was interested on how it would sound on dvd. Lovely without the disc scratch but it lost being an original.AL Jolson was a wonderful singer, I think the clean up took away the edge of his voice. I am more that happy to own the movie with changed the movie business overnight, from Silent to Sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This is a superb film for any serious student of cinema to add to their collection. It is proclaimed as the first talking picture, Well, Yes! and No! The film was issued in that preliminary stage of giving the usual silent film treatment with sub titles etc. and also with the added bonus patches giving sound ! If you are not already familar with this film then a warning the sound parts are Jolson delivering his famous routines. I like them. However, it is not everyones cup of tea. Especially the scenes where he 'blacks up'. In todays society this will not go down well.I happen to agree with that. However, we have to view this film as a sign of its time, so therefore, I forgive it. It is a well produced film from the Warner Brother Stable. There are many extras to this edition which have been mentiond by other reviewers that make this edition the one to own for any serious movie buff.
Also, from an historical perspective the scenes involving the cantorial singing are both moving and worth buying the film alone IMHO.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I always wanted to see this, I liked it considering how long ago it was made. A mixture of talking singing and silent movie speech cards popping up to remind you that this was a pioneering film of its day. I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
This movie was a giant leap for the movie world, a great musical triumph for al jolson pathing the way for 80 years of musicals. I loved this movie because of the combination of the silent era and the exciting new sound technical marvel.It shows just how this was achieved in the documentury. This is a must for all movie buffs. You wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Ok this film may not be to everybody's taste but as a landmark piece of cinema history it is essential for any cinema historians.
Part silent movie part SOUND!! The first feature film to do this.It made a massive star of Al Jolson,and yes again the blacked up white guys may not suit everyone,but hey this is of its time.
The blu ray release has a superb restoration,hardly a scratch to be seen,and the soundtrack is the original Vitophone soundtrack.
A good wealth of extra,s incl.commentary make this a superb purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
You have to read between the lines of all the other reviews - I didn't. There's only 2 minutes of 'dialogue' in the UK 2 disc version - not really a 'talkie' but not the silent version either. But if you're a Jolson fan, like my Mom, then the songs are good as they are synchronised sound and an interesting piece of history. You get used to the caption cards.
The Vitaphone documentary is quite interesting but lacks the extra features of the US 3-disc version. What did I expect from a '1927' dvd? Probably a George Lucas redubbed version, but no jabba this time!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Have had the VHS video for a number of years, but after a number of playings the quality is diminishing, so I took the opportunity to buy the DVD. It is nowhere as good as to the Neil Diamond version, but for its age carries well. Any movie buff should have this DVD in their collection in order to really understand how musical drama has improved over the last 87 plus years.

Joe Kensell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)