Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
Wishful Thinking
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 February 2018
nice expanded edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2017
simply the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2016
all good a++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2012
Bought this as i love 'secret wish' and loved it, only gripe is Duel is duel not Jewel but still a good mix.. amazed to read in booklet that original master of Dr mabuse is missing !! worth the buy and please a live CD !!! well done all on a new CD to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2014
The album that first got me into Propaganda ...although a remix album its every bit as good as a secret wish....ZTT at there best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2002
If you have the original "Secret Wish" album, this is a definite must have remix album. It's a complex synthesizer landscape that also quite entertaining all the way through!
This CD features an inlay that features some history about the band and about the CD.
Note: the track called "Jewelled" is a remix of "Duel" was used as the theme music of the BBC's Rally Report programme.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2012
This was the first Propaganda album I ever bought. I had loved the songs of the band already eventually getting this album as my first Propaganda experience. I've always been introduced in the 'remix' concept and I think the roots of it lie within this album. 8 tracks that basically disconnect the original songs and puts them back together again as a bit of a mish mash of music. First off - there are hardly any vocals on this album, so the focus is on the music, the production and with slightly twiddling of mixers, different emphasise on elements separate from the original versions. You have 80's remix dub elements colliding with different focuses on elements from the original songs. Because I wasn't familiar with the original album 'A Secret Wish' this was all I had to work on. Huge industrial arrangements with little blasts of vocals and unexpected surprises.

Abuse (1) is a great opening track (remix of Dr. Mabuse) - full of exciting and drama, that we're getting into an album that will be very different from you expect.

This collides into Machined (remix of P:Machinery) which makes the bass line the drive of the thing as it forces itself along.

Laughed (remix of Sorry For Laughing) is the dub idea, deconstructing the song as if it sounds like it is being sifted through a meat mincer, with the drums being a dominant part of the mix.

Loving (remix of The Murder Of Love) is a nice little coda that ends the first side of the album (if this was a record) which makes way for...

the crown of the collection is 'Jewelled' which I would say is the best version of the Duel/Jewel idea. It is fast, exciting and is everything it should be. A great song.

Loved (remix of The Murder Of Love) has a lovely piano opening before breaking into another dub style mix of stripping structure apart turning the song into an elaborate piece of music.

Abuse (2) (remix of Dr. Mabuse) - focuses on the last bit of the original song. And is a really nice piece of music showing how great the instrumentation on this song is.

Thought - this is an instrumental version of a song never released called 'Discipline' and is worth a listen. It fits in well with the rest of the album mood quite well.

And that's it. Worth a listen for a change. And the bonus tracks here are good.
'Strength To Dream' - this version could have fitted on this album fine. It fits the same ethos.
'P-Machinary (The Beta Wraparound) - a really good full 12" version of the song (too many vocals to fit Wishful Thinking concept but nice to have it anyway)
'The Murder Of Love - Murderous Instrumental' is not just a basic instrumental. It messes with the arrangement a little.
'Dr. Mabuse' - An alternative out take to the original with some subtle differences. Once again not fitting the Wishful Thinking ideas - but that's ok. I mean it is a great song!
'Frozen Faces - A Sense Of Rhythm' - this is an interesting one. It sounds like a mix where a lot of improvising and messing about happened over a continuous loop. This could have been on the Wishful Thinking album.
'P-Machinary - The Voiceless Beta Wraparound Edit' - stripped of vocals and the arrangement is highlighted.

So this really is a perfect companion to A Secret Wish - but in my opinion stands on it's own as well. Glad it had the nice re-issue. Great new packaging as well.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2005
There was never enough output from 'Propaganda' to satisfy their true fans (Amongst which I am proud to include myself!) but this CD goes some way to redressing the balance with interesting reworkings of some of the band's greatest songs.
If you only ever buy one album by 'Propaganda' then buy 'A secret wish'. But if you'd like to hear an alternative take on it, then "Outside World" is probably better than this. Although a completist like me would buy this as well.

Word is that Propaganda were not impressed by "Wishful Thinking" and saw it merely as an attempt by ZTT to cash in on the name with no real involvement from the band. I agree with them that "Outside World" knocks it into a cocked hat, but it's still an interesting recording to own, if only because one can never have too much Propaganda!

Favourite Propaganda tracks? 'Duel' and 'P-Machinery' (both taken from 'A Secret Wish')

There is no better track than 'P-Machinery' (12" Beta wrap-around mix) for playing loud when driving through a neon-lit cityscape late at night in an open top car. Try it. You'll see what I mean!

'Power...Force...Motion...drive!'
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2012
I was so pleased to see that this had finally been released on CD! This has been one of my prize possessions on vinyl since its original release and often encouraged me to create a vinyl listening room (which never lasts) mainly due to Jewelled which so deftly combines Jewel and Duel (try saying that quickly!). Wishful Thinking is a remixalbum as discussed by Ian Peel in the accompanying booklet. It stands up in its own right as separate entity to A Secret Wish, the album from which the tracks are culled. The extra tracks are great, especially as five are previously unreleased. In the same way as the original vinyl release served as the perfect accompaniment to the original release of A Secret Wish, this serves as the perfect accompaniment to the two disc deluxe edition of A Secret Wish released recently. All you need to (almost) completely sate your appetite for Propaganda is Outside World.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
Replacing, or rather adding to the original vinyl, which is still good and sometimes better with a crackle! That's it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse