Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 7 August 2017
Loved the premise of this series of books. Kim Newman takes the traditional Dracula characters and those from other genres and seamlessly blends them into the narrative and has t the reader wanting more if you like your vampire stories with a difference and a bit of BITE this series is for you cha cha cha was my favorite as I love BOND sorry for minor spoiler !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
It's was a clever, heavily researched book. It shows the grim basic realities but with vampire society thrown in. A great addition to the world he created, I still prefer Ano Dracula, sometimes the book dragged and in places ground to halt. But that's all I can say against it!

Can't wait to start Dracula Cha Cha Cha now :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Disappointed. I enjoyed the first volume more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2012
The Bloody Red Baron continues Kim Newman's alternate history series, following thirty years after the events of Anno Dracula. The reader is transported across the Channel to France and the trenches of the First World War, with Dracula now ruling the German armies. Set in 1918, just before the final push, the battle for supremacy of the air takes centre stage, with the Allied aces taking on Jagdgeschwader 1, Mannfred von Richthofen's `Flying Circus'.

Fans of the first book in the series will be glad to know that all of the themes - including the humour and wit, the mix of historical fiction and satire - are still present in this sequel. Several characters from Anno Dracula reappear, with Kate Reed playing a fairly major role, but Newman draws in an expansive new character set, with the same mix of fictional alongside the historical. This occasionally leads to an overabundance of references, but doesn't detract from the story. The Bloody Red Baron, is a darker, more harrowing tale than the first in the series, a necessity in part because of the setting. The author doesn't make light of the war, and the depictions hold their own against more traditional historical fictions which are set during the period. The sections in the trenches, in particular, are quite gruesome and can be difficult to read but it is a successful depiction of the trials of war.

Contained within this new edition is also the novella, Anno Dracula 1923: Vampire Romance, which features Geneviève Dieudonné, and pays homage to the `whodunnit' murder mystery. It is a relief after the bloody tale of the war in the main story, to read a much lighter, humorous tale, and this is a very funny story with a particularly British humour. Set in Mildew Manor, an isolated mansion in the Lake District, it is a classic take on the locked room murder.

The two stories in this book are a wonderful continuance of the Anno Dracula world, and while The Bloody Red Baron is slightly more difficult to read than the original novel, it is still as enjoyable. The novella too is expertly delivered, with verve and humour that contrasts to the earlier story, and a plot that will keep readers guessing. Together, the books are a welcome addition to Kim Newman's alternate history, creating additional colouring and background to his already excellent vampire-filled world.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Lost interest early on, I'm afraid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Just under a year ago, I found myself immersed in Anno Dracula, Kim Newman's tale of Jack the Ripper operating in a Victorian England where Dracula has wed the Queen and vampirism is rife. It seems only appropriate that I mark today by reviewing the sequel to Anno Dracula, The Bloody Red Baron.

Anno Dracula was one of the vampire stories that I have read over the last year that have restored my faith in the vampiric sub-genre, after the recent onslaught of sparkly emo vampires that seem to be so prevalent at the moment. As with Anno Dracula, The Bloody Red Baron is very much rooted in historical fact, much to my delight. Newman skillfully takes the already horrific events of The Great War and perverts them with a vampiric taint.

Where Anno Dracula introduced the reader to some of the principal players still present in The Bloody Red Baron, the characters in this sequel include some of the most popular vampires from pop culture; and as with this novel's predecessor, various fiction and horror favourites turn up such as Dr Moreau, Herbert West, Dr Caligari, Biggles are drafted in and added to a cast of figures from history such as Kaiser Wilhelm II, Winston Churchill, Rasputin and even a brief appearance by Adolf Hitler... It would be quite easy for a lesser author to become distracted in an attempt to cram as many names as possible into such a tome; but Newman's use of figures from fact and fiction simply make his work all the more entertaining and add a depth and colour to proceedings with the inclusion of characters that already have a well-established backstory. And of course, this tale includes Manfred von Richthofen, The Red Baron himself.

Critically, some of Newman's creations, I choose not to reveal what they are, could be considered entirely implausible, even in an alternate universe where man and vampire co-exist. However, the author has developed the backstory of his creations to such a degree that you cannot help but be caught up in the tale that he tells.

Newman maintains the same tone, humour and wit from Anno Dracula and portrays the events of The Great War in a suitably sombre fashion while still telling a tremendous vampire-based yarn. My first passion has always been history and Newman continued to delight me with a work of horror fiction, that is impressively rich in historical fact ... and twists much of it to its own end. Adhering to factual accuracy as much as is possible in an alternate universe populated by vampires is no mean feat but Kim Newman achieves this and in doing so, manages to tell a fantastic story at the same time.

As an added bonus for fans of Newman's work, this edition of The Bloody Red Baron comes with an additional chapter (one of my favourite parts of the story!); and a novella Vampire Romance, which is a bit of a murder mystery, typical of the 1920's era in which it is set, advancing the story of Genevieve Dieudonne from Anno Dracula and once again, is peppered with characters from the genre such as Dorian Gray among others.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Although I had read this book in its previous "Avatar", this edition, brought out by the good folks at Titan Books, really works much better. During my first reading, I had found this novel lot more dark & sinister compared to even the first novel that had described the atrocities perpetrated by Dracula as the Prince Concort and the Jack-the-Ripper killings (perhaps because the truth about the violence of 1st World War was stranger and bloodier than fiction); but the new edition makes me look at it in a different way. Since the core concept of this novel, set in the alternate universe which is so unlike ours (because Dracula had won there) and yet so similar (we have nearly everything of "this" universe, including Americanised pop-culture!) is rather well-known, I would confine myself simply in gushing about the new things that have been incorporated in this version by Da Man. They are: -

1) The annotations, and a fragmentary piece that would have (should have!) brought Anno Dracula and some of its major personalities in the realms of Hollywood.

2) A whole new chapter in the novel that had not appeared in the novel (it concerns secret files of Mycroft Holmes, so the chapter going missing is not entirely unexpected).

3) A brand-new novella "Vampire Romance", which takes place in England of 1920-s, and (fulfilling a long-standing demand from the admireres of Genevieve) places our beloved elder bang-in-the-middle of an adventure involving: selection (election?) of the supreme elder among vampires (since Dracula wasn't hanging around), a conspiracy to place a really nasty King in the throne, power-struggle among the Ruthven-Croft and Diogenes Club group, the mysterious brother of Carmilla Karnstein, gothic happenings in & under Mildew Mannor, and romance...that curls your toes.

If you have read this much and yet have not placed the order, I really don't know what to say!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I got this fabulous novel `Anno Dracula' for Christmas, and I completely enjoy it, and the big sequel set during the Great War is outstanding, and I therefore award this novel a full `5' Stars.

In this novel, Miss Kate Reed has become a Vampire, Beauregard is a General, he is still mortal and in his mid 60s, Genevieve Dieudonne is away from the dratted war, and Lord Ruthven is battling the grizzly aspects of the World War 1. Like the sequel, this excellent horror novel as it captures the sounds, smells and the atmosphere of the trenches and airfields of World War 1. It may be slow pass, but you meet American Poet `Edgar Allan Poe', and various scientist who tamper with Vampire and Human Biology.

I hope one day a film producer makes the Anno Dracula movies. My dream cast will still be Michael Fassbender as Charles Beauregard, Eva Green as Genevieve Dieudonne, Juno Temple as Kate Reed, Ben Barnes as Lord Ruthven, Robert Patterson as Edwin Winthorp, Ralph Fiennes as Count Dracula, Johnny Deep as Edgar Allan Poe, Alexander Skelgard and Tom Hiddleson as VanRittechen Brothers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
This is the second in Kim Newman’s imagining of a world where vampires are now a part of society and Dracula is a major political figure. He has brought the action forward to the tail end of World War 1 for this. The story revolves around a young spy in the Diogenes Club called Edwin Walthrop who does the bidding of Charles Beauregard, the main protagonist from the first Anno Dracula. He has to try to work out what Dracula, who is now a close consort of the Kaiser, is planning as it becomes evident that there are some very strange goings on in a castle just behind the German lines on the Western Front.

Whilst this book is enjoyable I didn’t feel it was as good as the first one. This could come down to personal taste but I think the problem here was that the characters were not as well drawn out as they were in the first book. With Edwin Walthrop we are confronted with a man who is at heart an adventurer but who has to restrain his wilder instincts in an effort to channel his talents towards the defeat of a German enemy who are preparing for one final push. He falls in with Kate Reed, a stalwart from the first book but again not one of the more interesting characters. they are surrounded by a large array of supporting characters on both sides, none of whom really elicit any sympathy from the reader and the end result is apathy, even though the author very adeptly describes the horror of No Man’s Land and the complete madness that was the Western Front in 1918.

A big problem here is that one of the strengths of the first book, the dynamic between Charles Beauregard and Genevieve Dieudonée is completely missing from the relationship between Edwin and Kate. Charles is effectively reduced to a supporting character and Genevieve is nowhere to be seen, only appearing in a second story after the main one has concluded. I can’t help feeling that when you’ve invested so much time and effort in establishing two characters as strong as these in the first book, it throws the reader to find that they have to start all over again in a book which is supposed to be a sequel.

Genevieve does finally turn up in a novella at the end of the book about an abortive weekend in a draughty and damp stately home which is very amusing and was an interesting take on the murder mystery weekends so favoured of country hotels everywhere.

That having been said I did enjoy this, even though I definitely preferred the first one. So will I be reading the third in the series? Yeah, probably, as this wasn’t bad at all but I hope it’s closer to the first Anno Dracula in it’s story and characterisations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here