Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 April 2016
Not able to get this cable to work under Windows 7.
the error code I get in the device manager is error code 10 - unable to initialize device. This is after installed the device driver from the accompanying CD. The instruction book (PDF also from CD) states that error code 10 is likely due to the use of counterfitted Prolific USB/Serial Converter Chips. Already Knowing of the countefit chip issue, I ordered 3 of these cables from different vendors. only the 1 from Baofeng worked with out issue - sad.

search for : USB Programming Cable for Baofeng UV-5R/666S/777S/888S Radio (price was around £3)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
Very well made and of good quality. When inserting the twin jacks end of the cable into the transceiver, be sure to push firmly until it is fully inserted and seated into the socket, the last few millimeters need a firm pressure. Failure to do this my lead you into thinking the cable or the radio is faulty.
The cable is about a meter in length and is adequate in my opinion.
Note; I had no success in programming my transceiver with my pc and Windows 8, (a driver problem) users with earlier versions of windows O/S have had success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
This is essential for programming the radio.
But, it's price is ludicrous at seven quid compared to the cheapness of the radio at £30.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
The software is 32 bit so useless on 64 bit computers. One star because Boafeng shouldn't be selling this without the right software.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Works perfect didnt have no problems with it. programmed my radio within 10 minutes of putting the cable in . Great product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
Be aware that this ships from Singapore - 11 days to the UK . Be also aware that it might not work - mine didn't . The problem is that on W7 the driver does not install successfully . I tried various drivers - all unsuccessfully . W7 may be part of the problem but the driver should have been written so that it worked on W7 . It might work on XP .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2013
Only bought this because I wanted to ensure both Radio's were programmed identically and using the programming cable makes life easier. However once programmed I doubt if it will get much use, but handy to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2015
The radio end plug had to be trimmed slightly to allow the double jack plug to seat properly within the radio. From what I have read this is a common problem, however, once trimmed the cable works OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
I had problems with the supplied driver and endded up removing it and letting Windows 7 install its own, otherwise it wored as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2013
This item will not work with Windows 7 & above, something to do with W7 being a 64 bit system. There are no drivers supporting 64 bit
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here