Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
53
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2014
I was very Dissapointed. I was looking forward to seeing the playing characters. Maybe a darlek or a tardis? No.there are just cheap bits of thin metal that are indistinguishable from each other. According to the instructions, one is a flute, one an umbrella, and another piece that looks the same as those is the sonic screwdriver. You will need a lot of imagination to link this game with Dr Who.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This is a nice variation of a classic but the games pieces are a pathetic - what happened to the daleks and other features of the Dr Who series?. Perhaps the games manufacturers should re-think.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
great game, wonderful service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I bought this as a gift for my partner who is a big Doctor Who fan, and I felt embarrassed once we started playing. Were the playing pieces a TARDIS, a Dalek, a Cyberman...? No. Were the houses little colony ships ? No. Did the money even have pictures of different Doctors on them? No. Do we have a time scoop or E-space instead of jail? Hell no. How about a "psychic paper" instead of a "get out of jail free" card? No? Okay...

The way the designers have substituted places on the board, "chance" cards and such is bafflingly random, and in many cases they haven't bothered to change them at all. The whole thing feels like it was thrown together in a few hours by someone who skim-read the Doctor Who page on Wikipedia.

After the semi-decent Star Wars Monopoly set, this is a massive disappointment for Doctor Who fans. It would be more fun to play classic Monopoly and use your imagination; at least you wouldn't have to keep reminding yourselves which episode corresponds to which property.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
We were disappointed with so many elements of this game. It felt like an opportunity missed and that this was simply an exercise to make money out of the franchise. How do you "improve" an episode by putting a hotel on it? The tokens were disappointing too: would it have been too much to ask for a tardis? K9? Surely Free Parking should have had a tardis and not the usual car?
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
For anyone who likes Dr Who - do not buy.
That simple - this was a huge opportunity wasted - and as others have stated, its been cobbled together to make money, not honour the great series with anything of remotely linked aspects apart from some simple episodic references. Playing pieces were naff, money standard monopoly - make your own - or even just don't bother...
A pity - a HUGE opportunity wasted.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Monopoly + classic Doctor Who is a match made in heaven, right?
not really.

i don't like how they used names of episodes instead of places to buy; it could have been a lot better had it been made like the Star Wars Attack of the Clones set where the places to buy are actually locations within the story. to me it just looks like they're trying to get people into the classic DVD range by making them remember the names of old episodes.

also, CAN'T THESE PEOPLE DO THEIR RESEARCH??? one of the tiles near the end is labelled with the episode 'Arc of Infinity', yet the picture is quite clearly from the episode 'The Three Doctors'. it seems to me they just Googled 'Omega' and picked the best looking picture, regardless of which episode it actually came from.

i think they should have themed the houses and hotels (which they have done in previous sets) and i think the playing pieces are a bit unsatisfactory as well. i'd much rather play as a Dalek or an Ice Warrior than a stick of celery, even if it is from The Doctor's lapel.

despite this, it is still Monopoly and is very fun to actually play.

each colour is dedicated to a certain enemy as detailed below:
brown - Ice Warriors
light blue - Autons
Pink - Sontarans
orange - Silurians
red - The Master
yellow - Cybermen
green - Daleks
dark blue - Omega and Borusa

each tile in the colour is then dedicated to its own episode, with a picture of it underneath.

conclusion - if you're a die-hard fan then you may be disappointed with this. however, it is still a fun set and would keep you playing for hours, just like any Monopoly game would.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
My son loves it, my opinion is that they have made half an effort. The playing pieces are tiny, the houses could have been tardis instead. For what it cost they called have made it a bit better.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Liked by my grandson age 7 but I felt expensive and insufficiently 'Dr Who', very similar to the original game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
This could've been so much better. The playing pieces were the biggest disappointment. It could've had something like a dalek, a Cyberman, a weeping angel, a Tardis, Davros etc. Instead, it has the seventh Doctor's umbrella, the second Doctor's recorder, the fifth Doctor's celery, the eleventh Doctor's bow tie, the sonic screwdriver, and the fourth Doctor's scarf. when you look at them, they're hardly objects you immediately associate with Doctor Who. Three of the six are thin and fragile, and will easily get bent.
I'm really disappointed with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)