Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
64
2.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2013
Must be the worst war film I've ever seen. Came across as though it was filmed by a bunch of Military re-enactors at weekend meet. Lots of different vehicles in there, but they all looked as though they had just rolled of the production line, pristine paintwork etc. The same with the uniforms - straight from the dry cleaners! Acting awful! Please do not buy!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Utter rubbish - a vanity project for fat re-enactors. Weapons and equipment look very good, but this plus is completely outweighed by the truly terrible direction, acting, locations and script. If it was possible to give less than one star I would.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Don't waste your money on this one. The good points - excellent for use of uniforms, weapons and vehicles. I think they may have used a WW2 re-enactment group.!!! However, the acting was extremely poor and the actors even more so!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
What's wrong with this film? To cut a long story short..... EVERYTHING. DO NOT purchase this insulting rubbish excuse of a film. It really is unbelievable just how bad this "stand easy production" film really is. For example, a battle scene, supposedly in a Russian forrest!!!, looked as realistic as a neighbours back garden but........without the snow. The so called "tanks" used had obvious pieces of USB/hardboard over the exterior so as to emulate a Tiger tank. Trouble with that "good idea" was that the carpenters used, had the edges showing on the sides of the "tanks" and not hidden from view. The "hordes" of Russian soldiers attacking those nasty Germans, with brilliantly white teeth and impecable uniforms, consisted of the same six pot bellied bad back alley "actors" in EVERY scene. They "died" simply by flopping onto a soft landing spot and were about as convincing as a stick of wood being thrown. In fact that WOULD have been better viewing. The acting skils of ALL those so called actors was so unbelievably pathetic, and based on that it quite rightly brought a swift end to a really bad viewing and sadly a waste of my money. Though there is one good thing about this bad excuse of a bad film.....and that is the cover! Whereas if the film lived upto the expectations of its visually indicated ability to fully entertain....then perhaps all these bad right ups would not be given. However what I would like to say, and others, can not be written here. Save your money folks and buy good quality films that ACTUALLY entertain.....avoid this film like a disease. If the ratings had a zero....I would give this film a five zero rating.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
It is really, aesthetically, disgusting and morally, repugnant, that the same film (a 'turkey' in this case) is released and re-released under various titles playing a. on the naiveness of first buyers, and b. a lack of attentiveness of collectors: in this case those of the war film genre prior before adding the latest element to their collection.

Before the dvd age the changing of titles did exist for a film released in the US and the UK: two people, I think according to Oscar Wilde, divided by a common language. But that was at least explainable by different cultural contexts as well as commercial ones prior to releasing the film in cinemas. This was rather a different ballgame to that where a film is made available commercially online.

'Shame and blame' is appropriate in this case
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Battle scenes nothing like the cover on the dvd makes you think,the actors are very wooden and they are reused over and over again in the battle scenes,the weapons used are not authentic in some scenes uniforms cheap imitations,scenery is shoddy at best,i have taken part in re-enactments that have been more professional.I speak as a napoleonic re-enactor and have taken part in filming and this film is basically rubbish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
The music was good & the photography OK, 2nd Unit direction (ie battle scenes) believable : that's about it really.

The love story theme was crap with characterisation like a 70's spaghetti western (of the very worst kind) with one 'good German' & where every Gestapo man wears a Herr Flick, long black leather overcoat (this is June remember).Klaudia - a nurse- wears a mini-skirt nurse's outfit from Anne Summers and in true 70's 'Hart-to-Hart' fashion her make-up & crisp white & taut) blouse is always faultlessly clean & intact (even when blown up). The 'next-door' wedding in jail execrably schmaltzy. I have never seen such scruffy German officers (green t-shirts showing?)& insubordination so rife, defeatist talk expressed in earshot of sentries etc.
The weaponry & armour was quite good in view of what originals are still available with the T34, Hetzer, Sturmgeschutz with side plates looking quite believable but the Tiger & German troop carrier looked like cardboard (witness the very thin rear doors) - a bit of battle scraping or damage or Zimmeritt paste would have helped. Did the US Airborne really have Remington shotguns in Normandy?).
Glad I only paid £7 in ASDA for it - I'm sure it will soon be £3 in TESCO. My advice: DON'T BOTHER IF YOU WANT A FILM YOU CAN BELIEVE IN.
I bought this along with '1939- Battle of Westerplatte' which with minor criticisms was MUCH better!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
I should have known immediately I heard the music that this was going to be a real turkey. Let's start at the very beginning. The script appears to have been written by an 11 year old, who never got past the first draft. Casting appears to have been made from a village pantomime group - which all the young people deserted many years ago. Not often you see 60 year old men in front line action. And my, weren't there a lot of fat people fighting! It's news to me that the Germans had penicillin.

Accents? Amazing variety. How lovely. The badder the character, the badder the accent.

In short, appalling script, casting, direction and editing. But it was a nice day out for some re-enactors, who at least had some decent clean tackle and uniforms.

Wish I had read the reviews on this site before wasting my hard earned cash
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I have bought many Second World War films (mainly those made in the last 20 years) and it's true: this is probably the worst film ever made. The acting and direction are truly appalling. The hero's nurse girlfriend has a mini skirt and a ridiculously large mouth (exaggerated with lipstick I expect). From this film I didn't realise how few soldiers took part in D-Day June 1944 - in this film about 20 Americans and maybe 20 German in total - rather like a pathetic re-enactment with too few people. The DVD cover is very misleading to say the least.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
A really terrible film - also known as The Red Rose of Normandy - when someone stars in, writes, directs and produces something they had better make sure they're good at those jobs. A huge waste of resources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here