Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
84
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 December 2014
Starship Troopers: Invasion is the fourth movie in the Trooper franchise and the first to be animated just using CGI. I'm a huge fan of the first film and have been nothing but disappointed since and sadly Invasion just continues that trend.

First and formost are the strange changes they made, Carman, Rico and Carl all make appearances but none of them are anything like they should be in either appearance (Carl now has black hair...) or personalities with once again Carl having the biggest change having been made into a complete tool. The troopers armour has also been completely overhauled so they look more like mechsuits which took away quite a lot of the iconic Trooper image which also bothered me a lot, it's either based on the Roughneck TV show armour or as Invasion was made by a Japanese animation studio Stage 6 could reflect that.

The actual story is passable but the way it gets there has quite a few plot holes, bad dialogue and has quite a lot of cringeworthy moments. I mean at one point one of the Troopers takes on a bug using martial arts, it was just painful to watch. This is also the type of film where all three of the main female protagonists were naked within 30 minutes for almost no reason, ridiculous.

This isn't a deep movie either, none of the tongue and cheek satire is there, just all out action and explosions. Some of it is rather exciting to watch though with bullets, bugs, gore, spaceships and explosions all around.

Visually Invasion is a mixed bag. The mechanical side of things it's spot on, the ships, guns and suits all look great. The characters though are another matter, lip syncing is way off as it was obviously made to a Japanese dub and never reanimated for an English voice over. The whole film also has a grainy effect and the colours seem really muted for a lot of it but overall the graphics are of very good quality.

The music has some nice tracks that go with the over the top action, some of which are remixed versions from the original Starship Troopers soundtrack. The voice acting in English however is another matter, feels almost like a dubbed Bruce Lee movie from the 70's.

Overall as a one off watch Invasion was fairly mindless entertainment but it doesn't really add anything to the Starship Trooper universe and they made some bizarre choices I couldn't get over. If you can put that aside, deal with the awkward moments and want some fodder for the brain then give it a go. If not rewatch the original Starship Troopers, even after 16 years it's a brilliant film.

+ Visuals are decent.
+ Action is good.

- Trooper armour and Carl Jenkins are completely wrong.
- Lip Synching is way out.
- Sub Par voice acting.
- Cringeworty in places.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
please note this is not a live action movie but rather a clever cgi film from japan.good fun for about 80 minutes but really does nothing for the starship troopers franchise.
1010 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
I put this on pre-order when i watched the little trailer, something I never do with blu ray titles, because the clip looked amazing visually and because I love good CGI. The clip looked to be just like very high quality cut scenes in good production value Video Games. When I started watching the actual movie I found I had some small criticisms such as the character rendering, lip sync, texturing and colours could have done with some improvement whereas all the solid objects etc were beautifully done....

I also started to think oh well, great looking as it is this is going to be another cliched Starship Trooper movie, same old formula as the others...yawn...

Actually nothing to fear...at times breathtakingly beautiful and full of stunning, crisp, clear and colourful detail on my 1080p 50 inch plasma this is a stunning movie and even a good little story. I really found myself thoroughly enjoying this and worth every penny of the £15 I spent. Even got emotionally attached to some of the characters...Yes the original main trio are all here as well as some new additions.

If you like high quality CGI movies and enjoyed the Resident Evil Movies and The Final Fantasy Movies you have to have this movie in your collection....The quality of the artwork and rendering seemed to improve as the movie went on as if the team working on this became more flourished and practiced as they went along.....

If I'm honest I believe this is THE best quality CGI I have ever seen, and a whole movies worth....Good Job Stage 6 Films.

Overall verdict, absolutely loved it!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a certain Sarah Brightman (with Hot Gossip) once sang, I lost my heart to a Starship Trooper, so when I have the chance to view the latest offering in the franchise I jumped at the chance. Now whilst this does feature characters from the original, the viewer is treated to a full computer graphic spectacular which whilst entertaining, is definitely showing as something a little dated with negligible plot and sadly very little acting to help bring the film over.

Add to this an over excessive use of gratuitous boob shots, some sadly lamentable death sequences as well as a plot that had quite a few huge holes in it and all in this could have been so much better.

Don't get me wrong it was watchable and it did fill a gap in my schedule but to be blunt, I was expecting something so much more, especially when you have so many options available to help not only expand their dark future but also when other franchises have delved into Space Hulks that can scare without ever really getting into showing what's going on.

All in it was OK but personally I'd have had a few more twists and turns setting it more on the hulk with danger round every corner be it from the Bugs or perhaps even other space dangers which could have made this not only more atmospheric but also given it a greater grounding as well as pace.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Unable to get any real actresses to take their clothes off for another sequel, they decided to make a film they can easily convert into an action game. Enough people have died so Johnny Rico is now a general with the looks of Caspar Van Dien and the voice of David Matranga. Like my kitchen, in the never ending story against bugs, the crew of a starship investigates the silence of the John A. Warden, another vessel.

The results are fairly expected as the bugs bring the battle home. Major Henry 'Hero' Varro has become the new hero bug killer. The 2 deleted scenes looked like they were in the film. The picture of Rico on the back of the DVD cover is reversed. Good cast of characters that would have been better without the CG animation.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex? early CG nudity. Adult language in the gag reel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
There are two good Starship Troopers properties; The original book (which is very pro-military, but still an interesting science-fiction world to read about), and the Paul Verhoeven movie, which is an anti-war satire and... just so much fun, I swear to God it's almost as good as Robocop, and definitely as good as Total Recall. I love the Verhoeven movie so much.

Starship Troopers 2 and 3 are pieces of s**t.

Starship Troopers: Invasion, however... this is a new level of bad. The premise is perfectly sound; It's just a reboot of the series, about Space Marines fighting Aliens in a close, confined space. The un-originality doesn't matter though; the fact that it is boring as s**t does matter, though.

You could build an army of clowns out of the fun I have had watching the Verhoeven movie. You could read the book and become smarter thinking about whether or not you agree with its core values. But Starship Troopers: Invasion is about as fun as being eaten, and as intelligent as a butt, without the boon of being useful. Every badly-animated plastic face featured in this movie causes Buzz Lightyear to blow a rape whistle. Every indifferent actor causes an orphan to starve. You could insert this movie into the centre of a birthday cake and please more people. You would make better use of this movie by putting it into the engine of an actual starship, if only to review how long it takes garbage to atomise.

I really did give this movie a chance, and the only thing about it I appreciated about it was how well the disc flew through the air when I threw it out of my window. It makes Starship Troopers 2 look like Evil Dead 2. At least Starship Troopers 2 has a severed head exploding in a microwave. This movie has nothing. This movie has less than nothing; you have literally seen everything in it featured somewhere else before, and better. However, I can't fault the visuals; I really do appreciate the genuine attempt to recreate Nintendo 64 graphics mixed with sick.

I could have had more fun eating this movie than watching it, and it does not deserve your money. Ignore the loathsome front-cover quote, you may as well believe in fairies. Just stick with the book or the original movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2012
A completely CGI'd offering here with no real actors and that's part of the problem.
Starship Troopers Invasion tells the story of a giant Brain bug taking over a Starship and a highly armed group of Troopers trying to wrest control of the ship and save themselves, there's some twists and turns, some old friends turning up including Johnny Rico and a finale on Earth. Thankfully it's pretty good, lots of action, a bit of characterization, the script doesn't need to be great because it's all about killing bugs, and unfortunately a lot of the bug killing seems to take part in identical looking corridors with Troopers just blasting away and you sometimes get the feeling your actually watching an intro to a PS2 video game. I say PS2 because that's gives you a sense of the main problem with this film, Although most of the CGI is good the characters look like they come from early 2000's PS2 games, simply no where near good enough to have in a film. There very Japanese looking in style and the shape, rigging and facial animation are just way too sub standard for today's audience. If I'd seen this in 1999 I would have thought it was Ok, with much higher quality characters or real actors this could have been a 4 star film but it's hard to empathize with such unrealistic stilted characters.
It's a pity, this could have been a worthy addition to the list of Troopers films but the shoddy CGI cast take away from the enjoyable story and action.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
It was only when I opened the packet that I realised it was all animation, but still added it to my Starship Trooper collection.

Watchable and entertaining but if like me (my opinion) like real actors, then this is not for you, on this one occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Worth a watch .... Cgi was ok not really up to avatar level. Casper looked roughly like himself but the other two ........ ....?.? ....... They nicked a few bits from the aliens movie ....... But then aliens ripped quite a bit from the original books!
I'm a big fan of the first film and they haven't got close yet , but for the price it's an ok.

Go in not expecting too much and you will probably enjoy.
My copy will do the rounds of my brothers and pub buddies.

Do you want to know more ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Like others here I missed that this is cgi, but what I didn't miss is that Amazon say that Neil Patrick Harris and Casper Van Dien are in it. They are not and did not even do any voice overs. Tut tut Amazon, very missleading.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse