Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
350
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2012
I read the first book in this trilogy and once I got past the very, VERY detailed descriptions of the top quality fixtures, fittings and workmanship in the Inn blah, blah, blah I actually didn't mind the story. I am a huge Nora Roberts fan usually and have read many of her books and have yet to find one I didn't enjoy or finish...until now.

The second of the trilogy continues much in the same vein as the first, with much emphasis on the Inn and the many spendid things within it. I found the repeated descriptions of the high quality of everything in the Inn increasingly boring. I happened to google 'Boonsboro Inn' and discovered that it is actually a real place, funnily enough owned and renovated by Nora herself. Amazingly (!) the rooms are exactly as described in the books, from the names right down to the fixtures, fittings and colour schemes. There are even real life versions of the book shop and pizza restaurant right over the road from the Inn and these are owned and ran by Nora's Husband and Son respectively!!

While I'm all for advertisement and publicity for businesses I resent paying for a so called 'novel' that is nothing more than a glorified advertising brochure for all of the Roberts families businesses!

Please, please bring us more of your usual excellent novels Nora and leave the self promoting rubbish alone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
The is the second book in the Boonsboro Trilogy and I found it just alright. The book is about the second brother Owen and his first love Avery. Owen is the organizer or management brains behind the three brothers building project 'Boonsboro Inn'. In this respect I found his character a little dull and Avery his first girlfriend runs the local Pizza place. Her self esteem is low as her mother left her and her father when she was very young. I thought the book was not as gripping as the first and certainly not as excellent as the third in the trilogy. I have just finished the Chesapeake Bay Quartet and have found 1 and 3 the best. It is as if Nora Roberts hasn't the same interest in the second books in my opinion. Other readers may differ and I would certainly recommend reading it if would wish to complete the trilogy, but not as good as 1 and 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
The series was lovely but I don't expect mainstream publishers with big budgets to allow masses of typos and mistakes to get into their ebook.s It's insulting to a big name like Nora Roberts, and if I was her I'd be changing publishers. It's insulting to me too, as I payed a lot more for this than for an Indie published novel that often has typos you can live with because they are done on the cheap. The formatting and editing issues aside, this is a feel-good series with very likable characters and wonderful scenes that show the best of family life. The three young boys and their interaction with the three older brothers/uncles is soooo cute! But I was exhausted by the hectic lives these people led. No one gets any serious downtime. Workaholics Inc. I had to wonder what happens when they run out of projects to work on in Boonsboro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
I'm a big Nora Roberts fan and really enjoyed this trilogy, of this The Last Boyfriend is book no. 2..

As in all Nora Roberts books that I've read, I found myself completely drawn into the lives of the characters but sadly this book I found to be the least enjoyable of the trilogy. That's not to say I didn't enjoy it, because I did. However, it simply doesn't have the flow of the other two books. For some reason, the story seemed a little disjointed and also I didn't find it as engrossing or engaging as the other two books in the trilogy.

Having said that, I did enjoy it and felt that were I to have missed this book out and just read the other two then I would have missed a lot of the story as a whole. So I'm glad I took the time to read it, but did much prefer the first and third books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
I like most of Nora Roberts books, and this series is classic chic lit - unlikely combinations of man and woman, each extravagantly beautiful, arrogant and clever, with not a grain of common sense between them. This is the middle of a three part series, marrying off three brothers, and if you have read and enjoyed the first one you have to read the other two. Not literature but easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have been reading Nora Roberts books forever and I am never disappointed. In fact when I start any of her books, I feel like I am coming home.

I actually read this book 'about Owen' last and all the pieces fell into place. Little pieces of information all gelled together to weave the whole Trilogy together although you could read one and get the whole tale.

The story is set around an old Inn which is being reborn as a modern 'Boutique' type hotel where all the rooms are named after romantic Lovers from history - even Eve and Roarke from "J.D. Robb" which I thought was a lovely touch!!!

I want to go to the Inn at Boonsboro and stay.

If you want a good read that brings all aspects of a great story together, well written, flows well and has imaginative descriptions of the scene without it being boring, even a little sex that is erotic but not porny. I think men can read this as well as women because the story is wrapped around a macho background with all that detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Once again the whole series are great stories. This second one follows on and is a good read particularly regarding the opposites attract situation. Roberts always makes each book interesting in its own right, but following the ghost story and relating it to all couples add to the intrigue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Wonderful book. Romance not normally my usual reading genre but had to keep reading the trilogy, especially due to the background story but also because the characters themselves are so well developed I got drawn in and needed to know that my hunches were correct!
A wonderful holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
this book centres around Owen and Avery,but also includes many other characters and meddling from the other side.Avery is a fiery workaholic,while Owen is steadfast.Life doesn't always turn out as you expect and this book tells it all. Didn't want to do anything but read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
this book is beautifully written. It takes in all of life for the characters and brings them together so realistically I was almost believing I was at the Inn Boonsboro. I love the many ways the ghost found to communicate and of course I always like a happy ending. A wonderful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse