Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
29
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2001
Having received this book as a Christmas gift I thought I'd get round to reading it by the summer. Having started a chapter on Referees and the bias against Celtic in recent years, I have finished the book in 2 days !!
Having been one of the many Celtic fans to question the 'allegiances' of certain refs and having seen some bizarre decisions being given against us, the referee chapter was most interesting.
There are chapters on Celtic players not being picked for the Scottish national team as often as they should have, Charlie Tully being the best example, and Celtic's dealings with the SFA in recent years, Jorge Cadete signing fiasco etc...
I would recommend this book to all Celtic fans and to football fans with an open mind, or who think they are hard done by !!!
Read it, enjoy it and realise it was'nt all in our minds !!!!
11 Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2004
A reader from Rutherglen, clearly not a Celtic fan and admits he has not read the book still manages to take time out to write a "review". His "review" or should I say swipe exposes the prejudice he and his ilk have against anything Celtic. I wonder if he would ever criticise the bile that pours from the stands of his own club Glasgow Rangers, instead of his cheap swipe at a book he has never read. Clearly a book for Celtic fans, Rangers fans need not apply.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2007
This is an excellent book but can probably be only truly understood by Celtic fans who have the misfortune to live in the West of Scotland.

'These things even themselves out in the long run'. A phrase used by the last reviewer and many others. I do have to laugh at the way this is stated as some sort of fact. Maybe,just maybe, things don't even themselves out!

In any case the book covers the anti-catholicism and anti-irish sentiment and by extension the anti-celtic sentiments in the west of scotland in the early 20th century. Chapters are dedicated to Celtic's treatment for flying the Irish tricolur above their ground in 1951 and to individual refereeing performances. The attitude of some jouranlists(sic) towards Celtic is also mentioned.

A fine read but as previously stated only for Celtic fans or those with an open mind.

As for Bob Kelly helping 'Celtic specifically'. He was the Chairman of Celtic. Is that not his job? But then again it's not paranoia, it's a catholic conspiracy by the council,the lord provost and every person attached to celtic according to Mr Street.

Incidentally, Neil lennon never received death threats playing for Northern ireland until he was a Celtic player regardless of how many caps he had or his religion.

But as Mr Street says in his first paragraph it must be my 'upbringing' - ah, the famous cliche - 'Blame Catholic Schools'

Paranoia? I think not!
33 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2013
Over the years Celtic have had a lot less breaks than Rangers from referee's, the media and the Scottish football hierachy, that's the conclusion of this book, and one I tend in the main to agree with. The reasons for this are manyfold, and not least sectarian in nature. If that makes me paranoid, then so be it.
Wibble wibble.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
I read it in holiday and thought some folk would think I was being paranoid by reading it by the pool.
I loved the book, its the right way to proceed discussions on this matter.
Tom Campbell has presented the facts, may of which happened before my time.
My take is that you read the full book and make your own mind up after understanding the facts.

Tom Campbell. Your books are legendary.

Please Email me I have a wee good thing I need to talk to you about.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
A very interesting look at how Scottish football has always been biased against celtic and towards rangers in a sad indictment of the sectarian world of Scotland where even to this day it is still allowed and this looks at how its been swept under the carpet for years as fans of celtic have been accused of paranoia even in the face of proof
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
An enjoyable read and well balanced.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Gives loads of examples of bias by SFA and officials and media and then has the cheek to say it doesn't really exist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
No wonder the Celtic fans have a chip on their shoulders,this book explains a lot about the SFA,s blindness and bias in a certain clubs favour
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)