Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
119
4.5 out of 5 stars
Accidentally on Purpose
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 14 January 2013
WOW, the title and professional book review do not give this book the credit it deserves. This is a very powerful story which highlights some very important subjects. Even though it is a lengthy book nothing about this read is rushed or boring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Oftentimes after reading a good book, I would hold off reading another one for a few days, somehow wanting to savor that kind of euphoric happy feeling...gushing and daydreaming about the hero/heroin, wanting to keep in mind the joy of reading it and feeling inspired, :)

Not this one, in an attempt to not be so emotionally charged that might just keep me up all night, I immediately read a lighthearted and funny one right away (even when it was already two in the morning) just to completely eradicate off my mind the disheartening effect it left me. Please don't misconstrue my meaning, this book is one of the best story I have read and very well written, all characters have full dimension and their stories engrossing. And although I already know the synopsis of the story and have read some of the well written reviews, still, it left me feeling hollow...sad maybe? can't quite define it...
Emmy, the one telling the story, unfortunately grew up not knowing that special bond and the natural love between a Mother and a daughter, not even any attachment and closeness to any of her siblings...she was constantly belittled and berated by her Mother that left her angry, detached, so weak she couldn't bring herself to recognize she's heading to self destruction... so insecure and so depraved of love she desperately holds on to both men...she continuously undermine her own strength, refuses to acknowledge her chance of happiness if only she chooses "The One" who offers her love, stability...instead she hangs on to chaos and it seems like she thrives on insecurity, in not knowing what's to come...this is such an emotionally charged and gut wrenching roller coaster ride...but oh, what a ride!

I'm lost for words on the writers talent, her ability to hold off in sharing with the readers the most explosive part of the story till almost the very end and still deliver that blow...like a kick in the gut, was just brilliant!!!...and to find out this was her first book, I'm blown away!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Well I don't really know where to start with this.. I finished this book last night and took some time to process it before writing this review, it was the first thing I thought about. 
This book started out quite fun and the Emmy is a tough strong independent woman who made me proud of her whiskey and tequila drinking skills and wickedly fast wit and one liners!! Then add a hot boss who is a complete dick in the office but swoon worthy outside and a colleague that all the girls would like to snag and sex with both and you have a complicated love triangle.  This book is based on cheating and I did struggle with the fact that it doesn't end when love gets involved but my oh my did this teach you the ramifications of making bad choices!!  I have always been one to root a little for the bad boy (can't help it, Kellan Kyle and Jake Wethers being an example) but I have to say for me that all changed with this book, though that may not be the case for everyone I loved Luke and honestly at points just wanted yell at Emmy to take a look at herself or see the bigger picture.
Anyway this book does end on a hea one way or another and that was great but it still left me a little hungover with all that happened and a little mind bruised about how life can go with a few wrong choices and the impact that can have on us as human beings, and that makes it a great book that deserves 5/5 
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
After reading some of the US reviews I honestly didn't think I was going to like this book, and I almost didn`t read it at all, but I'm glad that I did. It was a very emotional read with twists and turns that kept you guessing.

This book is about cheating, addiction, mental and physical abuse and living with the consequences of your actions. It was one of the most emotionally heart-wrenching romances I've read in quite some time. The situations Emmy put herself in ultimately breaks her and she has to find herself again.

I appreciated the human aspect of the story and how this abusive relationship was told without "fluff", about a STRONG, wealthy woman. It reinforces that no one is immune to this type of abuse and whether it is because of embarrassment, low self esteem or any other reason, getting out and leaving this type of abuse isn't as easy as some people think. I wanted to slap some sense into Emmy, but isn't that the reaction we always have when we hear a story like this, why didn't she just leave? It was hard for me to comprehend but it's also difficult to understand unless you have been there yourself.

I'm glad this story ended the way it did. Everyone deserves a second chance and if you have the love of a good man, anything is possible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Well I managed to finish the book so I reckon it deserves a 3 or maybe a 2.5. Found myself speed reading at times to get through it. The characters were flat with no depth and the situation was not convincing. But as I said I did manage to finish but have deleted from my kindle and would not recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
The main female character has two boyfriends, one of them already has a girlfriend. That information, from other reviews, almost stopped me from buying this one as I expected to find it uncomfortable reading matter and didn't expect to like her character.

However I really enjoyed the book - it is very well written, from how she gets hooked into seeing both men at once, to their characters. It is difficult for a long time as to which she should choose as both men seem good for her - but not everything is revealed at once, making it a real page-turner.

This book had its highs and lows and you really felt for the main characters. I loved the ending, when we finally got there! I don't want to say too much and spoil it but I would say this was a fantastic purchase especially for the price. I did go on to buy the second book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
The book was mostly well written and easy to read. The story was about a young woman called Emmy she came for a rich family, who started a sort of relationship with her pig of a boss. He was already in relationship that he was unable or wanted to give up and there you get your love triangle. To make matters even more complicated she also starts dating another colleague ! The story includes some mummy porn but nothing to descriptive or alarming. She is unable to choose between the the two men and then the story for me looses it a little as you sort of find out what happened in the middle of the story at the end of the book. Perhaps if that part of the story was told then I could understand why her emotions were like they were. I enjoyed it, it didnt take me long to finish off but I was thankful there was no follow up to purchase off amazon !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This was actually a very good book. I liked the fact that I couldn't predict what was going to happen. This book had waves of excitement, sexiness, happiness, real low sadness.

I would definitely recommend this book and read it again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
very well written book starts quietly with a woman having a male I'll manner boss who demoralised his staff. She tries to change his attitude. they start a romanced no a relationship,which goes really bad then find out he is married. Too much graphic domestic violence which accidentally breaks her wrist in well written detail that makes you wince. It's a strange kind of love. It's a really sad story, but like a depressing soap opera many people will be drawn to the story. It is such a warning to not get involved with a married man who has been held in a relationship by blackmail of a dark secret. Gritty book of turbulent relationships intertwined with what seems mental torturous attitude. It's a painful book, but then this is the mark of a well written story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Wow.just.wow!
I loved it, well worth a read! Brilliant writing, and a captivating story line!
Twists and turn, drama, heartache, betrayal, love, lust, obsession.......it's got it all!!! Including the hot guys, crazy mother, and a very very loveable female lead!
This 1 definitely goes in my top 5 of the year and is almost, almost on a par with 'collide' my favourite of 2013 as it is quite similar in terms of love triangles.
I definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone, you will not be disappointed as this has something for everyone.
Bravo L.D. Davis, you just got yourself another fan! I loved loved loved the writing style and am just about to look up other books of hers :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse