Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 July 2009
This is an excellent production of a complex book and matches the high standards of the original "Lonesome Dove" series. The screenplay adapted by McMurtry and Diane Ossana is witty and interesting, the performances are uniformly excellent with val Kilmer quite outstanding as Scull; he can act!

The photography and light are spectacular, and give the sense of place sadly missing form other admittedly fine adaptations such as like "Dead Man's Walk" and "Streets of Laredo". Worth watching on wide screen HD TV.

The tone as the review above says slightly sanitises the Commnche BUT not too much. We stills ee the random brutality to women and children. On a less serious note, the absence of smoking is quite unconvincing. That is sanitised TV!

Overall though a very enjoyable production which repays the considerable viewing time in spades. Watch if you have any interest in the "Lonesome Dove" series or westerns in general.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I bought and loved all the Lonesome Dove series of DVDs, but there is no doubt in my mind that this one was by far the best. The story kept me sat in front of the TV, in a way that doesn't happen very often these days. The lead actors who played Call and McRae have changed throughout the series, but the film makers, have always kept and continuity in the way in which they behaved brilliantly. I would strongly recommend this to any lover of westerns. Especially those who have knowledge of the historical west. I personally wouldn't bother with John Wayne of Clint Eastwood!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Not pleased at all dvd cover all broken no plastic covering just hope the dvds are not scratched was a present for a friend but i cant give this now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Another great read from McMurtry. Couldn't put it down. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because it wasn't as good as Lonesome Dove
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Part of the trilogy excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
If you enjoyed Lonesome Dove, you will like this just as much. A must for anyone who have watched the others in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Absolutely loved it. Didn't want it to end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
We in joy it on wet day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2008
Quite a bit different from the book in some places. More psychological than most cowboy movies. The action slows in the middle of the movie to allow more space for Woodrow Call to portray his problems relating to other people. Great performance by him and Steve Zahn [Gus McCrae]. Also enjoyed watching Val Kilmer [Inish Scull] and his wife: Rachel Griffiths a hot, sexy woman [of a certain age] who 'takes no prisoners'. Wes Studi is also great as: Buffalo Hump. He appears more politically sanitised than in the book with focus upon the plight of his Commanche people, struggling to survive against a 'tide' of western settlers.
The scenery is great as are the photography and action sequences. Some of the violence has been toned down from the book for practical reasons [particularly the scenes showing Inish Scull when he is captured by Ahumado].
A worthy addition to the Lonesome Dove Saga and a satisfying experience in its own right.
44 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
I have now all the films of the 'Lonesome Dove' saga and this prequel to 'Lonesome Dove' itself is a production that has been very well crafted and in my opinion nearly rates as highly as 'Lonesome Dove' itself.

The young Augustus McCrae as portrayed by Steve Zahn and Woodrow F.Call by Carl Urban dealing with the ever increasing tensions of adult life are superbly acted as are Clara played by Linda Cardellini and Maggie played by Elizabeth Banks. The scenery is quite outstanding as is the direction by Simon Wincer.

The storyline of McCrae and Call joining the Rangers in pursuit of three outlaws is absorbing as is the detail that is shown. I should add that the acting of the outlaws and the other supporting cast is also of the highest quality.

If i had to put in order the 'Lonesome Dove' saga films, it would be as follows:-
1. Lonesome Dove
2. Comanche Moon
3. Dead Man's Walk
4. The Streets of Laredo

I did not purchase 'Return to Lonesome Dove'. The ones above are all pretty close as great Westerns with the possible exception of 'The Streets of Laredo', the last of the series and the one with the poorest storyline,acting(with the exception of Sissy Spacek) and production, but still worthy enough to have a place in my collection.

This whole series must surely rank as some of the best Westerns ever made and doubt that we will see the likes again as the popularity of the 'Western' genre has lost its appeal in this age of sci fi, horror and technology.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse