Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 November 2013
It was love, if ever she had seen it.

This was another one that had been sitting on my kindle for some time.

After finally deciding to read it, i am disappointed i didn't do so earlier.

At the beginning we meet the celtic woman Arienh. She has assumed the position a man would normally have in her small village after all the men have died. Most due to raids by the vikings, including her own brother, father, her sister was raped by a viking and her other brother was taken by the vikings as a slave.

Understandably, Arienh has a deep hatred for the vikings. Expect one who she couldn't forget. One that frightful night her brother was killed and her sister was taken against her will, a viking chased Arienh, and if it hadn't been for a young viking boy hiding her and leading the Norse man astray she would have most likely suffered the same fate as her sister.

Then one day Arienh is going to the stones she stumbles across a viking, in her panic she stabs him and runs away. After discussing it with the woman of the village they give Arienh the task of going back and making sure the viking is dead and if not, to kill him.

But Arienh isn't like the vikings and refuses to kill him. What she doesn't know is that the viking who she is sheltering in her cottage until he has healed is the viking that saved her all those years ago. Ronan has come back for Arienh, the celtic girl he could never forget. He wants to bring his family to these lands and make a home there. But even when the truth is found Arienh, can't trust the vikings for the memories that others have caused her. However, Ronan isn't going to give up to easily. He will prove to the women of the village and Arienh that his men can be trusted and he won't back down until Arienh is his wife.

This was a beautifully written story. The characters fitted each other well and the story continued at a good pace, never too slow or too rushed. The author didn't overload you with Norse history but gave you just enough information to understand the world they book was set in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
In reality I would actually like to give this story 3.5 stars. I'd remove one star because I am not happy about the accuracy of Ms Jacobs research. The counting system used for the sheep is very much more specific to small areas rather than the larger counties. In this book, so far as I can find, it is specific to Kirkby Lonsdale which is not on the coast. Perhaps I am being too picky but I am sure that when this book was written, it was not anticipated that it was going to be read by Brits! I'd remove the other half of a star because of the Americanisms (spellings, grammar and slang). There are a few issues regarding proof reading - the hero brushes his head on the lentils over the door rather than the lintel!!!

That all being taken into account, I did enjoy the novel. It's an easy read and the plot is unusual.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2013
A small Cumbrian farming community of Celts, traumatised by previous Viking invasions, is invaded again by new kind of Viking, more interested in making love than war. The women (for no men remain)are led by our feisty heroine Arienh, who is guardian of the calendar and chief apothecary, and also a fierce protector of her partially-sighted sister, Birgit. Bearing in mind that these women have not seen a man for quite some considerable time, and naturally the 'invaders' are strong, muscular, youthful and handsome, and even have a good sense of humour, it is not long before blind hatred transforms into lustful curiosity. This story has enough historical content to make it interesting (and it seems that the author researched her history quite carefully), but at the same time uses modern dialogue to make it a light and accessible read - the constant use of 'Aye' and 'Nay' along with frequent references to kirtles are really the main indications of the era in terms of speech. This was a good recipe for a romantic comedy, with some manly action scenes thrown in for good measure! I found the pranks played by the 2 factions most entertaining, and particularly laughed at the scene where the women's theft of the Vikings' clothes backfires on them! A very readable, lightweight, historical romance with nicely described characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2013
i bought this on a wimm from my Amazon recommendations. i dont usually like to go to historical romance but i did enjoy this story.

its based about saxons village girls and the arrival of Viking men. its really light reading and you feel like you get to know the small band of characters and the main heroine Arienah (not sure if thats spelt correctly!)

the only bugbare i had with the story is that sometimes in parts it got a little tedious with the love story and i just felt like screaming "speak to each other will you!" but i guess the story had me gripped and i didnt want to put it down.

would highly recommend for a nice light reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
A gripping tale of Viking's and Norsemen, who used to maraude all over lands, of the plight of people who could not fight back.
Not sure about the country, but barren in most parts very little vegetation, for cropping by sheep. These people lived hand to mouth existence, but were able to do some trading. The words used described a desolate land, and a village of women without males, they needed to have their wits about them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2013
This book tells the story of a group of people (mainly women - Loki's Daughters of the title), who resist being taken over by "invader" of the North,. Not the Vikings of well-known legend, but peaceful settlers who want to integrate and intermarry with the locals. Some of it is a bit too romantic and unbelievable, but the plot is entertaining and the characters endearing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2012
I really enjoyed this book and read the whole thing in one sitting. It makes fun, light reading and had the benefit of a historical backdrop. It's about Vikings moving into an all-female/Celt valley and taking over. I bought this book for 77p on the basis that another reviewer had written about the funny pranks the women play on the men in order to get rid of them and I have to say, it did make me laugh. Well worth the 77p I paid for it as it kept me entertained all day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2012
I bought this book when it was on offer,{free} so I didn't expect much. But I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It's a story about a Viking who returns to claim a girl which he saved 10 years ago from a siege.
But the girl is a strong woman, who doesn't trust him, as he is the enemy. The story has a lot of funny scenes, where the women from the valley are trying to push the Vikings away by playing pranks on them.
Obviously it has a good ending as would be expected in a romance book. Which is the best thing! ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
I've never read any of her book before. This was ok. It was easy to read, a day on a beach. I liked the brothers. They were sweet. Don't think I'll rush to download another of her books but she does have a note at the end which lets you know it was one of the first she ever wrote which I guess explains why it feels a bit unfinished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2014
I really enjoyed this story, although when I realised the historical time I was concened that it may not fit a romance, but I was pleasantly surprised when the characters were revealed with all their tragic history and community difficulties of the celtic life in this time. When the Vikings arrive the whole story has a new dimension which threatens their existance, but is that such a bad thing? Tradition and change struggle throughout and a sense that time is somehow relentless. I like this author and find her stories compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Mudlark
£0.99
Fire Dance
£1.00
Faerie
£3.48

Need customer service? Click here