Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

VINE VOICEon 21 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The author has done her research and it shows although I always suspect that rather too much of our own century intrudes into the feisty heroines of yore. However, this is a good example of a well written fast-paced historical novel. Vikings are undergoing something of a rebranding at the moment with historians casting doubt on whether they really would have raped as well as pillaged - many of the raids were by young men wanting to settle and have land and families of their own, and starting with raping local women isn't a recommended way of achieving those things. So it's possible that some of the Viking men were less violent than the Christian monks would have us believe and that love and harmony was possible once it was clear they were here to stay.
There were other authentic sounding details too - like the girl keeping the clock with pebbles etc. There was good character development with lots of interior voices when characters were thinking about things; the love story between the girl and the viking boy and a moral message to boot about how boys need to grow up with the guiding hands of their father and how much better for us a nuclear family and a strong community are - we need people looking out for us and caring about each other. Without such support we are vulnerable.
If you enjoy historical fiction and are interested in a different look at the Viking culture and their raids on England - give this book a go.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
It was love, if ever she had seen it.

This was another one that had been sitting on my kindle for some time.

After finally deciding to read it, i am disappointed i didn't do so earlier.

At the beginning we meet the celtic woman Arienh. She has assumed the position a man would normally have in her small village after all the men have died. Most due to raids by the vikings, including her own brother, father, her sister was raped by a viking and her other brother was taken by the vikings as a slave.

Understandably, Arienh has a deep hatred for the vikings. Expect one who she couldn't forget. One that frightful night her brother was killed and her sister was taken against her will, a viking chased Arienh, and if it hadn't been for a young viking boy hiding her and leading the Norse man astray she would have most likely suffered the same fate as her sister.

Then one day Arienh is going to the stones she stumbles across a viking, in her panic she stabs him and runs away. After discussing it with the woman of the village they give Arienh the task of going back and making sure the viking is dead and if not, to kill him.

But Arienh isn't like the vikings and refuses to kill him. What she doesn't know is that the viking who she is sheltering in her cottage until he has healed is the viking that saved her all those years ago. Ronan has come back for Arienh, the celtic girl he could never forget. He wants to bring his family to these lands and make a home there. But even when the truth is found Arienh, can't trust the vikings for the memories that others have caused her. However, Ronan isn't going to give up to easily. He will prove to the women of the village and Arienh that his men can be trusted and he won't back down until Arienh is his wife.

This was a beautifully written story. The characters fitted each other well and the story continued at a good pace, never too slow or too rushed. The author didn't overload you with Norse history but gave you just enough information to understand the world they book was set in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I normally read paranormal romance books and it has been quite a while since I read a historical romance but I liked the sound of this book and decided to give it a whirl and I'm really glad that I did. Delle Jacobs is also a new author for me and I currently have two more of her books that I am reading/due to read following reading this one and really enjoying it. I would like to point out that this is apparently a re-release with it first being published in 1998 but you wouldn't know that apart from the author points this out at the end of the book and also advises that she would write the story differently if she wrote it today to which I say No! in my opinion it's just right as it's already written.

The story is set in Cumbria in the 9th Century AD and it's main character is Arienh who is basically the woman leader of an all woman village save for one old man following the men of the village being wiped out by Viking invasions over the years. Arienh is the one that everyone looks to despite her being younger that a lot of the women in the village and she is responsible for looking after her older sister Birgit who's sight is impaired following a Viking raid and her subsequent rape along with Birgit's son Liam who was a wonderful result of the horrible attack. Understandably the women of the village hate the Vikings and what they have done to them and their families over the years. One night whilst out to check on the weather and sheep she stumbles upon none other than a Viking marauder and terrified reacts swiftly and stabs the Viking in the gut and flees but is all as it seems or is there something else to the Viking?
Ronan is a Northman (not a Viking) who returns to the village in Cumbria to seek out the little girl (Arienh) he fell in love with all those years ago when he saved her from the clutches of his Uncle. Ronan was a little wiry boy at the time and has now grown to a muscular well built man so doesn't feel threatened when he comes upon a Celt girl in the night which is his undoing as she subsequently stabs him in the gut.
Arienh feeling guilty about running from the man she stabbed and leaving him to die in the cold and rain goes back out to bring him in to the hut she shares with her sister and nephew to find that he has already managed to stumble to their hut by himself. Still feeling sorry she decides to nurse him so his passing is as comfortable as possible and in the process manages to help heal him which is a good thing as his brother comes looking for him along with a whole boat load of Northmen (the women think of them as Vikings) who it turns out have decided to make her little village their new home. The women of the village are incensed and despite the men not acting as normal marauders and actually trying to help the women tend the fields etc the women cannot get over their hatred of Vikings and decide to try to see off the men by making their stay in their village as difficult as possible and hoping this will change their minds and make them go away. So begins tricks being played by the women such as exchanging the men's ale for seawater, freeing the horses in the middle of the night so that the men have to go chasing after them and tricking them into following them into the woods and making them get lost as a result. The men are annoyed at the tricks but as they are good men do not retaliate in a viscous manner and end up dubbing the women Loki's Daughter's comparing them to a God's daughter that normally causes upset and strife ergo the title of the book. Ronan loves Arienh despite everything and him along with his men who have also fallen for women of the village decide to do everything they can to win the hearts of the women they love but can the women and Arienh ever look past the deeds of the past and believe that these men are Northmen not Vikings and will Ronan win Arienh's heart?

A really well written love story with lot's of mischief and lightheartedness in it so as not to be too serious along with some steamy love scenes too. I actually really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the other two books of Delle Jacob's that I have. I would recommend this book to those of you who like a good romance with a bit of wit and woman power thrown in.

Fire Dance
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is very well-written and started right in the middle of the action: a Viking 'capturing' one of the young females of a (man-free/man-less, pretty much) Celt village, in Cumbria, in 9th Century AD, only for her to turn the tables on him and injure him, possibly mortally...before nursing him back to health, and allowing him into her heart.

The tale was pretty much non-stop, not that I mean that there was a lot of fighting/raiding/pillaging as you might expect with a Viking tale, but that the visitors brought change, and showed the tired and dejected women that Viking men could be decent, kind, without expecting or demanding anything in return, that the feared enemy could have more in common with them than their long-held beliefs that all Vikings were cavemen and killers. It was a feel-good tale, with human decency and love at the core of it.

I liked that the tale was not only a romance (with a secondary romance and HEA in the background), but that it depicted the hardships of life at those times. I enjoyed the romance between a Viking who wasn't the marauder his ancestors were, and that he and his chosen bride had more in common than they realised, which gave their romance a good start. I liked that he was not typical of his race, and that he understood that he had to give love, patience and understanding to get the woman he'd loved for years, and that he didn't simply grab and carry her off, like his ancestors and clansmen would normally have done. He was a pretty modern-thinking Viking! I liked that it wasn't all about lust and falling into bed, though there were some sweet, old-fashioned love scenes (as opposed to sex scenes). I liked that one abused character's life so changed for the better, despite it being a 'feared enemy' who dispersed her trauma and let her learn to live and to love again. This tale felt as if a new community, a new race was being created, leaving behind poverty, fear, hardship for love, friendship and looking out for each other.

The only gripe that I do have, is that despite this being a historical novel, some of the dialogue was more on a par with contemp books, but then again, I got a ARC edition (which also had a few typos), and the final version may have fixed the dialogue issue.

Overall, a very good read, and the first time that I've actually been pleased with an Amazon Montlake Romance novel, as true to its word, it did combine a decent tale, a great lead, a romance I could believe in, and that I was rooting for, as well as danger, in a very nice little historical package.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
In reality I would actually like to give this story 3.5 stars. I'd remove one star because I am not happy about the accuracy of Ms Jacobs research. The counting system used for the sheep is very much more specific to small areas rather than the larger counties. In this book, so far as I can find, it is specific to Kirkby Lonsdale which is not on the coast. Perhaps I am being too picky but I am sure that when this book was written, it was not anticipated that it was going to be read by Brits! I'd remove the other half of a star because of the Americanisms (spellings, grammar and slang). There are a few issues regarding proof reading - the hero brushes his head on the lentils over the door rather than the lintel!!!

That all being taken into account, I did enjoy the novel. It's an easy read and the plot is unusual.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I don't read all that many books that are tagged as romance only, but the basic story synopsis of this book certainly appealed to me! It concerns Arienh, a headstrong Celtic woman who has effectively ended up being the leader for the rest of her village of women, the menfolk having all been killed off or taken as slaves by Viking raids over previous years. She's a gutsy, feisty heroine, and while sometimes she is too stubborn for her own good, there are very good reasons for why she is the way she is. I liked her very much indeed! She is a character with strength, depth, complexity and humanity. No wilting maiden in need to rescue, that's for sure!

The story revolves around the sudden arrival of Northmen, who, coming from the same basic area as the Vikings, get tarred with the same brush as the original raiders who destroyed so many lives in the village. The Northmen are actually pretty decent men and basically just want to settle down and create homes and families for themselves, not raid or otherwise cause trouble, but they come from a very different background to the Celtic women of the village, who greatly resent the sudden influx of Northmen who look and sound very much like the much hated Vikings, but behave totally differently!

The story is basically about their leader Ronan's attempts to woo Arienh, who he rescued as a child from raiders, and about Arienh's desperate attempts to keep him very much at arms length, for the sake of her sister and her village. This plays very well against a backdrop of the Northmen working to restore the Celtic women's ability to trust anyone coming from the North, both on a community level and in terms of romance.

Really well written, and the inevitable sex scenes are quite elegantly written, not crass at all. This story really brings to life the emotions of both the Northmen (who seem like a really lovely bunch of men) and the Celtic women left in the village (who are strong, independant and unwilling to be ruled by the newcomers!)

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2013
A small Cumbrian farming community of Celts, traumatised by previous Viking invasions, is invaded again by new kind of Viking, more interested in making love than war. The women (for no men remain)are led by our feisty heroine Arienh, who is guardian of the calendar and chief apothecary, and also a fierce protector of her partially-sighted sister, Birgit. Bearing in mind that these women have not seen a man for quite some considerable time, and naturally the 'invaders' are strong, muscular, youthful and handsome, and even have a good sense of humour, it is not long before blind hatred transforms into lustful curiosity. This story has enough historical content to make it interesting (and it seems that the author researched her history quite carefully), but at the same time uses modern dialogue to make it a light and accessible read - the constant use of 'Aye' and 'Nay' along with frequent references to kirtles are really the main indications of the era in terms of speech. This was a good recipe for a romantic comedy, with some manly action scenes thrown in for good measure! I found the pranks played by the 2 factions most entertaining, and particularly laughed at the scene where the women's theft of the Vikings' clothes backfires on them! A very readable, lightweight, historical romance with nicely described characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This had the potential to be an interesting read but failed to meet the mark. It was very slow and the romance didn't work for me. It was romantic that Ronan had once saved Arienh's life and been so taken with her that he returned to claim her as his wife. What struck me, was the fact that he didn't take seriously enough into account that she might have already been married, or how strongly a Celtish woman would feel about a Norseman spouse when her only experience of Vikings is having them murder your menfolk, destroy your home, kidnapped your relatives for slavery and indulge in some good old fashioned rape and pillage. Arienh's sister has been raped and the author actually tells us that rape by Norsemen is so common that her little nephew who is the result of one of those rapes himself, has witnessed rapes commited by Vikings.

Could a bunch of Celtish women in a village where all the men have been killed off by defending their land from invasion by Norsemen; really forgive and forget all these kind of attrocities just because Ronan, his brother and their friends turn out to be quite nice chaps for Norsemen?

I actually stopped reading the book partway through because I felt that the women's experience of Norsemen was minimised and trivialised. I just felt strongly that it would have been more believable if only Arienh and possibly one other person could stomach having Ronan and his kin around to the condemnation of the others, this would have been more acceptable to me as a reader than the whole village accepting them.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For me, Loki's Daughters has to be marked down as a welcome surprise, oddly enjoyable as it is considering the other stuff I've had from its publisher, Montlake Romance. It's about a village of Celtic women who clash with the Viking warriors who arrive on their land, only to find themselves falling for their charms despite bloody history between themselves and Viking marauders. Unlike the interchangeable human-meets-vampire romances that are all the rage today, the story is rooted in some semblance of actual human history and is all the better for it. The struggles between the two factions to develop any kind of sturdy trust or understanding is what seems to form the bulk of the book and makes the tentative romance that forms between main character Arienh and "Northman" leader Ronan all the more torrid, uncertain. Of course, anyone familiar with the formulaics of romance novels can guess where their relationship is headed, and the same can be said regarding the prospective harmony between the Celtic women and the Viking men that make up all the books characters. Still, the getting there's surprisingly good and the howlers that often seem like an epidemic in romance books are kept to a happy minimum over the 300-plus pages. The book gets flabby towards the end, after pretty much all the loose plot threads have been resolved, but it's all forgivable in light of the enjoyment that Delle Jacobs puts into her story. She has created characters and a story that's worth following through to the end, even if you'll probably forget it all in due course. It's good while it lasts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This story is one of Vikings and Celts. There are two central characters, one is Arienh, a Celtic maiden, who takes charge of her village, because every man of fighting age is dead, and the village is left in the hands of the younger women. At the same time Arienh takes care of her sister, Birgit who was raped by Vikings and left for dead. Birgit's eye sight is failing and Arienh helps her take care of her illegitimate son, Liam.
Every day they live in fear of Viking invasion. Then, one stormy evening, a Viking warrior surprises Arienh has she is coming back from the fields. She severely wounds him with a small dagger but cannot leave him there and takes him back to her cottage, where she tends his wounds with herbs.

More Vikings come searching for the man whose name is Ronan, the second central character. The Vikings begin to take over the empty huts in the village with the idea of living there and taking the women for their wives, but that won't be an easy task as the women make it extremely difficult for these Viking men. However, feelings start to take over and that is where I will close my synopsis, so as not to spoil it for you.

One final comment is that this is the second novel by Delle Jacobs, the previous one being Faerie and I have to say, the plot was very similar, i.e boy meets girl and the chase that ensues. So much so, I was slightly disappointed with Loki's Daughters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Mudlark
Fire Dance

Need customer service? Click here