Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Arias For Guadagni [Hyperion: CDA67924]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2017
Arrived safely - thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 June 2012
A recent purchase, and from the outset it made a very favourable impression which has only improved with time. Iestyn Davies is in fine voice, beautifully poised, articulate and musical, in complete command of all aspects of the music, from the meltingly lyrical passages (try the first of the extracts from Gluck's 'Telemaco' for size here) to the athletic fireworks of 'Destructive War' from 'Belshazzar'. The accompaniment is excellent throughout, never threatening to overpower Davies, and coming to the fore in CPE Bach's Symphony in D, which is offered as a well-placed variation from the vocal works. The recording is lovely, crystal clear and with a lovely sense of space around the sound. Definitely worth your pennies, this.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 2 April 2013
I completely agree with the enthusiastic reviews here - this is a terrific disc. It is a selection of arias, some well-known and others obscure but all very musically rewarding and they make a hugely enjoyable, varied programme.

The performances are excellent. We are very blessed with fine countertenors at the moment, and Iestyn Davies is fast putting himself in the same league as Andreas Scholl, Robin Blaze and others. Here, he sings with real joy and passion where appropriate, showing superb control and immaculate technique. The small orchestra are ideal - flexible and responsive, and bringing out the very best in the music.

Hyperion's recorded sound is of its usual wonderful standard and the presentation and notes are very good. This is a really fine disc all round, a worthy Gramophone Award winner for Best Recital Disc in 2012 and very warmly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 24 August 2014
This is a terrific disc. It is a selection of arias, some well-known and others obscure but all very musically rewarding and they make a hugely enjoyable, varied programme.

The performances are excellent. We are very blessed with fine countertenors at the moment, and Iestyn Davies is fast putting himself in the same league as Andreas Scholl, Robin Blaze and others. Here, he sings with real joy and passion where appropriate, showing superb control and immaculate technique. The small orchestra are ideal – flexible and responsive, and bringing out the very best in the music.

Hyperion's recorded sound is of its usual wonderful standard and the presentation and notes are very good. This is a really fine disc all round, a worthy Gramophone Award winner for Best Recital Disc in 2012 and very warmly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
Iestyn Davies is one of the finest modern day countertenors around at the moment.It is spellbinding to listen to this recording.It's a shame we don't hear more of him.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
Superb Iestyn Davies is tremendous. He thoroughly deserved his Gramophone Award for this disc. The Thomas Arne is a highlight for me - thrilling
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2014
Superb in every way. Fantastic eighteenth century music written for a 'celeb' castrato, sung by one of the best modern countertenors. I wept buckets the first time I heard Che Faro Senza Eurydice on this beautiful recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2016
An absolute delight; the singing is sublime. I have lost count of the times I have listened to it already! The CD arrived very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2013
If, like me, you melt at the sound of a countertenor this is a must-buy. I could listen to this all day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
Superb singing. Iestyn Davies is outstanding and the selection of arias very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)