Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
89
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2012
If you, like me are fed up with the dross that is served up as entertainment on TV these day - Give this a try. Read the blurb if you want to know what its about but if you've been a fan of The Wire, The Shield etc but with that Gallic Film Noir twist and you like your thrillers fast paced and exciting just buy it and you won't be disappointed. But be warned if you idea of a good police drama is 'Heartbeat' then this isn't the series for you. In this the good guys are bad and the bad guys are really really bad and as for the body count? it's enormous But at the end of every episode we're saying shall we watch just one or maybe two more before we go to bed.
Really hoping that Series 3 is in the pipeline
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
The five stars are for entertainment value for this is an amazingly crafted and fast moving cop show with excellent production values. If you find the Shield riveting then the two seasons of Braquo will definitely appeal to you. That said The Shield always retains some semblance of reality even when the lives of Vic and his strike team start to unravel. Season one of Braquo does just about keep within the reality guideline but such is not the case with season two which, despite being edge of the seat stuff, has a complex multitude of plot lines, a massive body count and such a large cast of characters that it is at times difficult to keep track. Suspend reality and enjoy the two seasons as well made thrillers. Morse is dull when compared to Braquo but his stately promenades are certainly nearer the truth.

Trottman
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
Braquo definitely takes the Euro-noir to a new level. Complex plots, universally flawed characters, tragic inevitability - it's all there but be prepared for a level of brutality that goes beyond Spiral. People brought in for questioning are routinely knocked around the room. People die in their dozens at chain gun massacres. This is NOT Sweden! It is pure French. Everyone eats all the time. Cars are glorified (in an understated French sort of way. The French education system has even left its mark on the society's outsiders - two policemen have an argument about the meaning of life which is trumped by quoting Pirandello. Thinking (wo)man's Reservoir Dogs or post-apocalyptic Wild Bunch? I just loved it and can't wait for the next one.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
This is a superb series and excellently film and the characters although police are more like anti heroes with there suspicious dealings to get there suspects at all costs and even breaking there own laws living by there own code. An excellent if not mostly well known cast. well scripted and well acted and very gritty and dark, the way the french can only do. If you dont mind violence and subtitles then buy this. It will show you that this is how cop shows should be made. roll on season 3.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This I suppose is the problem with buying foreign language DVDs/Blu-Rays of TV series from Amazon UK.
Buying from Amazon France there's a good chance that you get a menu-based option of no subtitles or French subtitles. Buying from Amazon UK you get presumably what was shown on UK television - French sound and compulsary English titles (again brighter than I'm used to from countries where sub-titles appear on most things).

There is no choice here. You can't turn them off. For starters there is no menu for Audio or Subtitles just for Episode selection. At first I thought that if I had a player with a Subtitle button on the remote that I could get rid of the subtitles that way but I tried that with a friend's new player with such a subtitle button and clicking it had no effect.

I.e. Whatever player you have you will get the French dialog and bright (and slightly too large) English subtitles to distract you and tak up far too much of the screen.

The TV series itself is fine i.e. it's the packaging that is wrong.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
Braquo Season 1 & 2 [DVD]wow! this series is perhaps the best cop show to ever come out of France and that's saying something. I thought that 'Spiral' was pretty hardcore - especially series 3 - but this beats that hands down. Makes 'Wallander' look like a cosy 'Inspector Morse' type cops show and even gives "The Killing' (original Nordic version, forget the cheap US cashin) a run for its money.
"Braquo" is not for the faint-hearted,: police brutalty and corruption is highly visceral and no-holds barred. And even though you hate these cops at first, you do eventually realise why they work the way they do. Answer: Noone else will or would do their job...
So this is a highly recommended show. Buying series 1 and series 2 in this box set works out cheaper. Trust me, book a week in and watch both series back-to-back. You won't regret it but your high blood-pressure and stress levels might :-)
Roll on series 3....!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2013
I bought this on the strength of Spiral and the reviews but on balance consider it to be a bad judgement.

It was watchable, far from awful, but contained too many tropes. The characters looked like they had been styled on The Wire but with copiously added noir thoughtful smoking to keep it French.

The plots seemed to be largely American in style, which I find best delivered by Americans, it seems to fit better, especially with the amount of armament everyone seemed to be able to lay their hands on in an instant. The shooting up premises with infinite magazined heavy machine guns was straight out of any Bruce Willis film. The need to reload as plot device. The magic gun in Series 2 was straight out of the CIA bonkers weapons division.

Dramatic tension seemed to be based on camera work rather than acting (one of the main reasons I watch French drama) with too many emotions or plot devices driven by the filming technique rather than the actors.

The main characters were insufficiently fleshed out, the occasional minor character e.g., the wife/arms manufacturer delivered effortlessly but then there was the parodic rive-gauche auteur.

Captain Eddy Caplan seemed to do a fair amount of ad-hoc emotional engagement - I could not decide if the most ludicrous had been the melting of the ice maiden running the casino (darling, I killed your brother but for reasons never explained he wanted me to protect you) or his dead colleague's wife switching from reviling him for thinking about sleeping with her to getting on with it (darling, you ruined his life and got him killed now let's get to bed).

It wasn't rubbish but it was fairly thin.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Had heard about Braquo the French Police Drama but not having satellite tv thought i would never get to see it. Saw this on Amazon so bought it and very pleased i did to. If you liked The Wire, The Shield and other violent police dramas this will be right up your street. It is very well made (by the Director of 36) and very well acted with some cracking story lines, it really is a very good tv, well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
loved it. Less stylish than Spiral which is a series I also like a lot. Great acting, the music is well chosen and the atmosphere is so dark , the filming under a certain colour ( a bit like CSI) also helps plunging you in the atmosphere. Jean Luc Anglade is a great actor , I have never seen him act so dark though. It took a bit of getting use to it to the series and the style.
He played in the original " Nikita" too as one of the nice guys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Get both! I was so bored by what's on TV currently, that I decided to give this a try. It takes a while to 'get into it' and if subtitles don't bother you - French is easy listening! - you'll love this. Most of what the story covers is well reviewed by other customers here, so I won't go into again. Quite violent but if you're a crime fan....
The characters draw you in and the French and multi curtural scenarios create an engrossing atmosphere. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£34.27
£13.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)