Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 November 2016
Right up there with The Killing and The Bridge in terms of must see. Although not in the noir tradition of the Scandinavian series, this is every bit as entertaining. Essentially, Eddy and his team are almost as bad as the villans they chase. You sympathise with them though as they are all too human
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2012
I loved series one but this one stretches credibility a bit too far. The opening shoot out in a peaceful suburban street ratchets up the gore factor - plenty of blood shooting out of bodies - but does away with a logical and coherent plot. However, the Eddy Caplan character is cool and the actors play their parts with panache. A third series has been set up, by a preposterous plot device, but I will still watch it even if I have some reservations.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2012
tgreat2nd series of fast moving "le flic"crime busters.only complaint being caused a very late night trying to watch the full series.to be highly recommended at a very good price too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2012
Good service and will have no hesitation in using this service again. this is a great programme to be intersested in but you must watch it from the first serious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2012
Continuing immediately where Series 1 finished, we are once again dragged into the dirty underworld of the City of Lights. From lead actor Jean-Hugues Anglade (almost unrecognisable as the lover of Betty Blue) to the extras, no one puts a foot wrong. No matter who we meet, they're all real, believable, we care about them.

As you'd expect, the picture and sound quality of the Blu-ray is excellent, and it's certainly value for money, with a running time of 416 minutes. It's such a shame there are no extras, though...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2015
Wow! Fast moving gritty stuff,not for the faint-hearted. Gets a bit complicated at times as to who is doing what to whom and why, and there is something relentless about it. Have recommended it to friends but if you're not used to watching foreign films with english subtitles,you may find it takes a while to adjust. It helps if you have a basic grasp of french,but not essential. According to critics the third season is better. But you need to watch the first! The french do so much,much better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2013
I bought s1 in my search to follow on from Spiral/Engrenages, and to begin with i wasn't sure i liked it. It's so violent, so corrupt and i didn't immediately get gripped. Suffice to say by the end of s1 i was completely won over, and couldn't wait for s2! I now have to wait for s3, which hasn't even been filmed yet:(

Jean-Hugues Englade, as the lead character, is fantastic - a very complicated character as a cop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2013
This is a good french TV drama, not as good as Spiral, the cast and direction are creeping into the Politically Correct Hollywood rubbish but it has enough true French cinema to hold its own.

I enjoyed the series and will be buying more if they become available, I won't give you the plot as it will spoil the show for you but it has a lot of ups and downs and the end of series two looks good for series three.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2012
Series 1 was great and although a bit improbable was just about believable. Not as good as the Shield but in the same vein. Series 2 however quickly becomes ridiculous, introducing numerous cliched baddies (Armenian mobsters, Jewish mobsters, German mobsters, renegade mercenary super-soldiers etc), a huge heist of stolen gold and even a sci-fi super-weapon whose bullets magically miss anyone wearing a special bracelet.....where the hell did all this come from?? More like something based on a comic book. Shame as series 1 was really promising.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 July 2012
"Braquo 2" is a well-paced and fairly stylish French TV cop drama, but it's not so good that I would give it a universal recommendation - unbelievable storylines and convenient plot devices abound. Unlike the vastly superior "Engrenages" (Spiral: Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]) you need to be both a Francophile AND a lover of police series to enjoy this - and even at that it's little more than an amiable way of passing the time. I bought this so I could try to improve my French - but unless you want to know the equivalent French word for m**********r, it's probably not that much use (note: in my own experience, learning the swear words first is never a good way of endearing yourself to the native speakers). Also unlike Engrenages/Spiral, the Braquo series are not stand alone: if you watch this series 2 first you will have, I suspect, no idea what the hell's going on.

On the plus side, "Braquo" does have some good acting parts - in particular the anchor role played by Jean-Hughes "Betty Blue" Anglade and also Karole Rocher as the female cop, but there's not enough for these actors to get their teeth into - The Wire it most certainly is not.

The Blu-ray print isn't bad - but unless you're interested in seeing a lot of nasal hair I think you'll be happy enough with a DVD copy - especially given there are no extras at all (I presume the same applies to the DVD).

Overall, I probably should have rented, rather than bought this - I enjoyed it well enough once, but doubt I will watch it again, or even purchase series 3 (if it makes it that far). Roll on series 4 of Engrenages later this year though!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here