Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
234
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2012
Thank heavens , a concert this time and not a documentary. Bought the Blu-Ray in South Africa, and quality is generally good, but they seem to be using cheap cameras, the washed out scene of Anthone Hopkins being a notable example. It is also notably shorter than previous concerts, but still enjoyable. Wish he used Jackie Evancho to sing Pi Jesu as he flew the choir over from the States, Kimi Skota was a bit off tune with a song that did not suit her.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Not much to say about this - another solidly entertaining Rieu concert.
This would have got 5 stars, but i've knocked one off, as the director of the DVD seems more interested in showing the audience than the musicians, which becomes very distracting (and irritating)as the concert goes on.
55 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
This is a good Maastricht concert, certainly not the best, rather spoilt by some very poor camerawork and editing. Constant switching between shots of performers and audience seems to be getting steadily worse over the years. Having said that, there were some excellent performances among some rather ordinary ones. The line-up of sopranos was disappointing. They were Mirusia Louwerse, Kimmy Skota; and Kalki Schrijvers from the chorus for ensemble pieces. Kimmy seemed to be off-key all night, not as good as last year, and Kalki has a pleasant voice but not a particularly powerful one. Mirusia, as always, was superb. Firstly, she rather "carried" Kimmy through Pie Jesu, then later made a zipwire entrance as Mary Poppins, transformed into Evita and delivered a brilliant performance of "Don't Cry For Me Argentina". I know she has now embarked on a solo career and will be sorely missed( anyone unfamiliar with her more serious work should check her out on Youtube singing e.g. "Ave Maria" or "Panis Angelicus"). She deserves World fame. Sadly, both Carla and Carmen were missing. There were also very good contributions from the Gospel choirs, the St.Petersburg Trio and the trio of Dutch singers who were good fun and should have been on stage longer. Sir Anthony Hopkins' waltz was well played. The Platin Tenors, who I generally like, were underused and I think "Nessun Dorma" is about the worst thing they do. The JSO looked a little unfamiliar with one or two regulars missing, some wearing new gowns and some bad haircuts, not that much was seen of them due to the aforementioned camerawork. Having now seen all the Maastricht DVDs to date my personal order of preference is 3 2 4 1 5, with 5 a long way behind the rest. For those new to his concerts who may think these are a bit over-exuberant, I would recommend the beautiful, mainly Straussian "Schonbrunn", the delightful "Christmas Around the World" or the brilliant if quirky "Wonderland".
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Got This Dvd As We like The Music And Style of Andre .. But Unlike his other Dvd's .. Your get seasick With All The jumping About By The Camera Work .. The Camera Producer Must Be new As Your Get Maybe 40 To 50 seconds Of The Orchestra Then 50 Seconds Of The Audience / Panned On One Person Then Back To The Orchestra Then Back To The Audience .. Back Focusing On One Person For Ages .. It Really Does Get Annoying And Puts You Off The Main Attraction Which Is Andre And The Orchestra.. Just In One Shot The Camera Panned On Antony Hopkins And His wife At Least 14 Times ...Go BACK TO THE OLD FORMAT Andre ..As This Style Of Producing Is So Offputting And Spoils The Whole DVD ....I Only Give This 2 out Of 10 Because Of The Very Poor Post Production Work
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
andre always brings freshness and enjoyment to the music he plays, he enjoys himself, the orchestra enjoy themselves, the soloists enjoy themselves, the audience enjoy themselves and get their money's worth, the only thing to comment about his latest offering is that a lot of time was spent focussing on the audience reaction which was a little bit excessive for me , otherwise, full marks,
chas, liverpool
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I delayed buying this disc because of some criticism about far too much time spent looking at the audience. After waiting some months I decided to buy it and see for myself! Having now watched the show, I would rank it up amongst the the very best of the Andre Rieu shows.This show had the audience partisipating in almost all items and short of being there, it was a delight to watch.The items with the Harlem Gospel choir had the audience on their feet. A trio from Russia were delightful, The two soppranos from Australia and South Africia are great performers, and the whole show was superb from start to end!
If you are A FAN OF ANDRE RIEU, THEN YOU CAN CONFIDENTLY BUY THIS DISC WITHOUT THE SLIGHTEST RISK OF BEING DISSAPOINTED!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
Live Concert from Maastricht, home city of Andre Rieu, this is superb entertainment not only enjoyed by the audience, but also by the orchestra and guests. Their enjoyment and enthusiasm is clearly seen throughout the concert
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Perhaps Andre's best Maastricht concert - especially for those of us who know and love the Lord Jesus! Yes - no kidding - this concert includes two gospel choirs, one from South Africa, and the other from Harlem, New York. It almost becomes a gospel concert, and the combined choirs (together with Andre's ladys) sing what must be the best version of "I Will follow Him" from Sister Act, that you will see and hear anywhere, and there's much more too! This album sits well beside Andre's concert recorded in the Radio City Music Hall in New York, which becomes even more like a gospel concert thanks again to the Harlem Gospel choir. We sell both of these DVD's in our Christian Bookshop because they deserve to be on the shelf there! Give yourself a treat - buy this album - and be blessed!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I really enjoy watching many previous dvd's I have purchased of Andre Rieu but this one is absolutely awful.If it had been the first one I had listened to I would
never have purchased another.The dvd spends 80per cent of the time on the antics of the audience and if you are paying attention you may be lucky enough to see
where the music is coming from.I was very relieved when the dvd finally came to an end and I was able to hide it away to gather dust.For goodness sake Andre please do not bore us to death with such rubbish again.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
if you have never bought a andre rieu dvd you really dont know what your missing its such a wonderful thing to watch,im not really a lover of classical music but i cant get enough now,he is such a magical person.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)