Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
This is a review of the Audiobook (Hierloom Collection). I assume anyone thinking of buying this audiobook will be familiar with the Holmes stories so I shan't comment on them.
The audiobook is a collection of all the original stories on 4 cds. The format is MP3 and the audio quality is fine. Simon Vance reads the stories clearly, if on occasions slightly to fast for my liking - but with no detriment to the clarity. The book is read but unlike some audiobook renditions is not turned into a one man show. SV changes his voice to identify individuals in the story which helps enliven the telling but isn't over the top.
I was astonished at the price of this audiobook (£14) when the other major quality audiobook collection is 10 times this price! It is extremely good value for money.
I listen to audiobooks while travelling on trains and planes and this is one of the best buys I have had.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes stories are widely regarded as some of the finest ever written - and rightly so in my opinion. They're well-crafted, and wonderfully evocative of the late Victorian period with a unique protagonist who needs no introduction.

The fine choice of narrator makes this audiobook a very enjoyable listen - I especially like to listen late at night to help me relax before drifting off to sleep.

The one slight drawback with audiobooks in general is that if you miss a few words or sentences, or want to listen again to a specific passage, you have to go back to the beginning of the chapter / file; you can't just go back a few seconds. Of course, if you're reading the stories in a book, you can read a sentence as many times as you want to and indeed, I bought the paperback edition of the stories as well to compliment the audiobook. This is an equally good buy (it cost me just £5 for 1400+ pages in paperback).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
5star. What value! Every Sherlock Holmes short story and novel. Over fifty hours of audio, with an excellent narrator who made every character come alive. Cannot praise this enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
good to have all the Sherlock Holmes stories and interesting backround info in one place. Because of large no. of short stories, great to be able to select from different periods. 4 stars because stories are familiar and some are similar to each other, so picking and mixing avoids indigestion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This edition of the Sherlock Holmes collection is indeed complete. It is also attractively presented and a good value. I recommend it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This complete Sherlock Holmes is ideal for a summer read on your Kindle.It's like meeting an old friend.The printed version would be too large to pack and each story brings to life Victorian charm and adventure.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
This is a luxury edition designed for printing. The contents are awkward to use as given separately for each volume. New illustrations nice on PC but original ones from the Strand work better on Kindle liquid paper.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 April 2013
Sherlock Holmes must be the most famous character in all of fiction, and every serious reader should have a copy of his exploits. If you have never read the stories, this nicely formatted and well illustrated edition will be perfect for your Kindle. And if you have well-thumbed paperbacks of the collection, this will be an excellent backup that is always to hand. Happily, it retains the British English spellings despite being from an American publisher.

The collection consists of four volumes, with the novels and books of short stories being distributed across them. This leads to one small oddity - the first part of Volume II is "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes", which includes the story "The Final Problem" and the apparent death of Holmes. The second part is "The Hound of the Baskervilles", where Holmes is very much alive. Volume III starts with "The Return of Sherlock Holmes", where the story "The Empty House" explains how Holmes survived and in the process concludes the Moriarty mini-arc . So any first-time readers might be slightly puzzled by this, and I am not sure why the publishers placed the "Hound" between.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
As a whole, this is a beautiful work; some of the pictures seem a little out of place, in that for example in The Sign of Four, the soldier Jonathan Small is shown wearing a lounge suit rather than what I would expect, the military uniform of his regiment. Other than that issue, the book is a real beauty with very frequent and very beautiful ornamentation of the text. I really like this edition and it is now my mainstay for reading Holmes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This is edition is incredibly beautiful and stylish. I absolutely love it and would recommend it to Sherlock Holmes fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse