Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
107
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2011
I have been a big time movie lover for many years now. After watching the brilliant " BRONSON " Directed by Nicholas Winding Rfen i knew i would continue to like his films. I would strongly suggest buying Bronson and Valhalla rising. In fact you know what the Pusher Trilogy are worth getting aswell. Anyway back to the matter at hand not only is Drive a great arty flick which shows the inner workings of a reclusive man (Ryan Gosling) slowly arguably loosing his sanity, it features great landscapes shots of LA. Which are complimented by a phenomenal soundtrack with the likes of NightCall and Desire in the mix. I guess what i am saying is buy a shiny eighties jacket, pretend you have a cool American Muscle car, buy this soundtrack (and play it loud) and finally get a tooth pick.
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
This soundtrack starts well with some very good electro-pop tracks, ones which you may have heard in certain commercials. Then after the first five tracks it settles into the atmospheric orchestration which underpins the film. Its good to drive to in the twilight of a hot summers day, and its gentle, sinister, and suspenseful but not necessarily very dynamic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2015
Drive's soundtrack makes this film so distinctive, or at least how the soundtrack mergers with what is happening with the moving image. This OST can be labelled as ethereal electronic-pop. However, the depiction that straightaway comes to most people's minds is eighties-style synthesiser. Of particular import is the unavoidable '80s/out-of-time melody of a song called 'A Real Hero' by the band called College.

This an excellent OST worthy of anyone's music collection, regardless how small your musical tastes maybe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
If you've loved the movie and if you like depeche mode, you will probably love this soundtrack. I have been listening to the first 3 tracks in loop for weeks now, Enjoy!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
There is something about Cliff Martinez's soundtrack music. Normally I can't listen to OSTs out of context, but his stand up as music in their own right. It's deep, rich, ambient electronica. Apparently he does it all on a laptop. Man's some kind of genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Uber cool soundtrack takes me right back to the heart of what is already a cult film. No idea how I missed it's release on the big screen, but glad I watched the BBC re-score which prompted me to buy the soundtrack without hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
For some reason I just can't get enough of the music in this film. Each song will remind you of certain parts of the film. The only way I can describe some of the songs is by saying they have a very neon sound... may make sense to anyone who has already got the soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
What drew me to this soundtrack from the acclaimed 2012 movie, was the Eighties-style synthesizer approach, and the nostalgic feel the music gave me; as well as how perfectly it complemented the distinctly European aspect of the film. Producers Brian McNelis and Skip Williamson have created a homage to the likes of Faltermeyer, Moroder, and Vangelis, and with opening track, the sublimely insidious 'Nightcall', the stage is set for a pulsating tour de force; only slightly let-down by a couple of bland mid-tempo ballads around the middle of the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
I enjoyed the movie "Drive" and thought some of the music on the soundtrack was pretty cool so I'm delighted to say it is excellent.

The soundtrack is in two parts. The first five tracks are mostly excellent Euro electro pop tracks from artists like Desire and The Chromatics. "A Real Hero" by College featuring Electric Youth is a great track. In these five tracks the "odd one out" is "Oh My Love" from Riz Ortolani featuring Katyna Ranieri, which is like a showstopper by Julie Andrews from a Broadway musical. It really makes you stop and listen though!

The other 14 tracks are part of the movie score and were written by Cliff Martinez. These are mostly ambient music type tunes for use in the background of particular scenes in the movie but they are mostly very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
A little disappointed with this as it only has really three or four songs and the rest are just sound bites of the movie or instrumentals that are not good listening wish I had listened to preview of it before purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.79
£1.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)