Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2012
Very good book, great simple recipes, quite traditional. Would only criticise it for having pages dedicated to irrelevant pictures and lifestyle comments. Lots of good stuff - easy to make tasty meals and clear recipes - one of the better celebby cheffy books of the last few years. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I have a great range of cook books, As I do like to cook myself.
you can see that this chef has the knowledge, the passion and love to cook in every recipe.
I have had great fun cooking these dishes for myself and friends.
look forward to adding a few more books/recipes from this chef in the future. now a firm favourite.
don't take to long with the next book please. happy eating all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
I have, like the other reviewers hundreds of cookbooks, yet only a few I actually cook from. This is so good, it now lives permanently in my kitchen.
I used to love cooking but since having children I have found it increasingly difficult to get the children to eat anything other than pizza and pasta. I struggle to eat healthily as I always end up eating the rubbish they like, as after a long day at work, I can't face cooking lots of different dishes.
I had totally lost my "cooking mojo" until I saw Daniel cooking the yummiest looking fish dish (Sea Bream in sauce vierge) on the "Saturday Kitchen", and liked his easy manner and helpful hints along the way. His cookbook writes the same way, just like he's in the kitchen with you.."boil the eggs with a few drops of vinegar as this will make them easier to shell later" and so on.
Really helpful, and also suggestions as to what would go with it in the way of veggies. There are great photos which really inspire you, yet the instructions are very easy, and always work. No last minute freak outs just as friends are to arrive for dinner.
I've made so many dishes from this book now, and there are 3 things for me that make this such a great book.
1) I can make dishes like Steak with herb and lemon butter, or pork steaks with mustard sauce, and simply leave the children's plain and unadorned. (If I'm feeling brave I may put some sauce in a little ramekin dish on the side of their plate for them to nervously try, like I'm feeding them some toxic substance)
2) I can make practically all the dishes just with huge mounds of steamed veg on the side for me (low carb), and full fat mashed potatoes for them, and
3) they are classic french dishes, only tweaked slightly so not swimming in butter, delicious yet not ridiculously calorific, so no more lardy mummy!

I am truly very grateful for this book, I feel better about cooking again, my 'kiddie' food depression has lifted. Thank you Daniel, very much indeed.
33 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a mini-haute cuisine primer that gives you the basics for some classic french cooking. Anyone who has fond memories of France over the last 50 years or so will be attracted to the idea of this book and the recipes it contains along with a nostalgia for something that is pretty much lost in the modern day. The recipes are good; several reviewers make mention of the pork in mustard and cornichon (gherkin) sauce which has a mouth-watering picture of the dish, but there are many more winners in this 1st class recipe book. I teach professional cookery and have bought this book as a resource for young cookery students to learn the fundamentals of good cuisine and what a good dish looks like on the plate, but this is a book about home-cooking as much as it is about cooking for the public; the kind of cooking the family ate and shared with their customers deep in rural France. It's modern, perhaps less hearty than country cooking used to be, but a great book to work from.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 21 September 2013
This is one of those books that just works perfectly. It has been well thought out, and is therefore easy to use and follow. It begins with a detailed introduction about exactly what a brasserie is and the author's background. This is followed by a few basic technical terms explained. The opening chapter of the book then covers recipes for the basics (stocks, sauces and pastries mainly) that appear in some of the recipes later in the book and are useful to know anyway. Throughout the book there are double page explanations of various different aspects of French brasserie cooking, covering breads, charcuterie, fish & shellfish, wild mushrooms, herbs and cheeses. Not every recipe has a photograph, which could be a problem for some people, but it tends to be the simpler things that are not displayed. There is a good use of space; if it's easy to fit two simple recipes on one page, the book does so. All but the most simple recipes come with a bit of background information and explanation at the top of the page. Each recipe also gives a preparation time and cooking time.

I have enjoyed this book so far, having tried maybe about a third of the recipes. All of them are easy to follow for anyone with a little basic cooking skill and fortunately don't require exotic, hard to acquire ingredients that you sometimes get in books of this type. I would highly recommend this book.

The contents page looks like this:

Introduction 8
The Basics 16
Starters 26
Meat, Poultry and Game 58
Fish & Shellfish 100
Vegetarian Dishes 130
Side Dishes & Salads 154
Desserts 176
Index 204

The full list of recipes:

Chicken Stock
Lamb Stock
Fish Stock
Vegetable Stock
French Vinaigrette
Hollandaise Sauce
Saffron Mayonnaise
Sauce Vierge
Grand-Mère's Sweet Pastry
Sweet Short Crust Pastry
Savoury Short Crust Pastry
Choux Pastry
Vanilla Custard
Crème Pâtissière
Basic Crêpes

Leek & Potato Soup with Wild Mushrooms
Wild Garlic Soup
Pea & Pancetta Soup
Watercress & Potato Soup with Quail Egg Croûtons
Fish Soup with Saffron Mayonnaise
Onion Soup with Comté Cheese
Tapenade
Anchoïade
Oven-Dried Tomatoes
Aubergine Caviar
Croque Monsieur with Ham & Comté Cheese
Croque Madame
Leeks with Vinaigrette
Asparagus with Parsley Vinaigrette
Poached Egg with Asparagus and Hollandaise Sauce
Warm Crab with Tarragon Mayonnaise
Mackerel with Lime
Chicken Liver Terrine
Pork Terrine
Duck Rillettes
Goat's Cheese Salad
Cheese Soufflé

Steak with Herb & Lemon Butter
Beef Bourguignon
Steak Tartare
Pan-Fried Calves' Liver with Capers, Parsley & Chervil
Roast Lamb with Mediterranean Vegetables & Sauce Vierge
Lamb Shanks Braised in Red Wine
Roast Leg of Lamb with Garlic & Lavender
Sauerkraut with Pork
Pork Belly Confit with Apples
Pork Steaks with Mustard & Gherkin Sauce
Toulouse Cassoulet
Black Pudding with Pears
Chicken Casserole in Red Wine
Pan-Fried Chicken with Garden Vegetable & Pancetta Ragoût
Poached Chicken with Sauce Gribiche
Chargrilled Chicken Salad
Spatchcocked Chicken
Duck Confit with Lentils
Maman's Pot-Roasted Pheasant
Pan-Roasted Guinea Fowl with Truffles & Leek
Rabbit Casserole with Lemon & Garlic
Venison Casserole

Pan-Roasted Salmon Steaks with Lime & Coriander Mayonnaise
Dover Sole with Lemon & Parsley Butter
Fillets of Sea Bass with Caramelized Lemons
Sea Bass Baked in Sea Salt with Chicory & Orange Salad
Fillets of Sea Bream with Potato & Spring Onion Ragoût & Sauce Vierge
Pan-Fried Red Mullet with Thyme
Pan-Fried Fillets of Plaice with Butter & Almonds
Cod, Coriander, Tomato & Garlic Parcels
Niçoise Salad
Roast Monkfish Fillet With Saffron-Scented Mussel & Clam Ragoût
Bouillabaisse
Scallops with Curry % Herb Butter
Sautéed Tiger Prawns with Chilli & Garlic Butter
Moules Marinières with Lemongrass & Chilli

Tomato Tart with Goat's Cheese
Roquefort, Broccoli & Onion Quiche
Chanterelle Mushroom & Herb Omelette
Crêpes with Mushrooms & Tarragon
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Artichoke & Red Pepper Gratin with Goat's Cheese
Artichoke, Onion & Thyme Tart
Provençal Vegetable Gratin
Ratatouille Provençale
Lime Risotto
Vegetable & Chickpea Couscous

Courgettes with Olive Oil & Thyme
Buttered Green Beans with Shallots
Braised Cabbage
Peas with Pan-Fried Pancetta & Cos Lettuce
Braised Purple Artichokes with Lemongrass, Rocket & Parmesan
Frisée with Pancetta
Buttered Spinach with Lemon Zest
Sautéed Potatoes with Parsley & Garlic
Warm Crushed Potatoes with Coriander & Lime
Fondant Potatoes with Confit of Garlic
Potato Gratin with Aged Comté
Large French Fries with Sea Salt
Creamed Mashed Potatoes
New Potato Salad with Hard-Boiled Eggs & Sherry Vinaigrette
Cucumber Salad with Dijon Mustard & Chives
Grated Carrot Salad with Chervil
Garden Tomato & Onion Salad

Fruit Parcels in Filo Pastry
Tarte Tatin with Rosemary & Toasted Almonds
Maman's Apple Tart
Apricot Tart
Summer Fruit Tart with Lime
Lemon Tart with Lime Zest
Suzanne's Cake
Raspberry Clafoutis
Orange Soufflé Pancakes
Coffee Crème Caramel
Bitter Chocolate Mousse with Orange Zest
Crème Brûlée with Raspberry Purée
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I enjoy flipping through any recipe book, but this one is an especially good read with it’s informative wordy bits and easily achievable recipes. Brasserie cooking is probably the best style/type of French cooking to try in the home, as it is not tricky or pretentious, but is wholesome and comforting.

This book covers all the basics like stocks, vinaigrettes, mayonnaise, dressings and the various types of pastry. It is illustrated with great photos and as well as finding all the usual French regional delights: Ratatouille, Tarte Tatin (although I did like the twist of rosemary and almonds), Clafoutis, Crêpes, Bouillabaisse, Cassoulet and Beef Bourguignon, there are also some more unusual recipes; Lime risotto, Vegetable and Chickpea couscous and one of our favourites, a delicious wild garlic soup. The Terrine de Porc recipe came in particularly handy when bought half a pig from a local farm and found ourselves with liver and belly fat that we were unsure what to do with. Daniel's terrine recipe was easy to follow and a great success, looking and tasting fantastic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
I have the hard copy of this, bought on a whim. I'm so glad I did as the recipes are super. They feel authentically French and are straightforward enough that you don't have to scour delis or the internet to find an obscure ingredient - and the results are just delicious! Lamb shanks, pork belly and beef bourguignon (picture!) all got top marks round our dinner table, as did the salmon with lime and coriander and Maman's apple pie. I'm very much looking forward to working through the rest of the book - I haven't come across a duff recipe yet (unsurprising, given the author's credentials!).

The photos are lovely, not overstyled, and the layout is clear and helpful, with suggestions and commentary from M. Galmiche which lend the book a more personal feel.

If you enjoy cooking and typical French brasserie food, and want to try your hand I *highly* recommend this book. Give it a go - fill your house with delicious aromas and your stomach with a little taste of France.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
Then buy this one.

I was fed up with boring recipe books which show traditional UK dishes but with a 'twist' or a secret to make it 'extra tasty'. THEY ARE ALL THE SAME.

A friend recommended this book to me and I was not disappointed. It gives a variety of recipes that come from different regions in France. A type of cooking that I was not familiar with before but now definitely excites me.

The recipes are full of flavour, simple to follow and make you feel great when serving your creations to guests.

If anyone ever needed an excuse to host a dinner party, then this book gives you one. Buy it, cook a different style of food and impress your friends and family.

It is certainly not 'just another' cook book and it takes pride of place in our Kitchen.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This book is one of the best French cook books on the market from the master of French Brasserie cooking. The book is very well structured and the chapters cover every section of the menu from starters through to tasty deserts. It has a great section on the basics that covers pastry, sauces, stocks and custards.

As a seasoned traveller and regular visitor to France this book has everything I like about French cooking, simple tasty food that packs a punch. There are great recipe's written in simple language that make the dishes easy to understand and prepare.

From French favourites such as Cassoulet & Tarte Tatin to Bouillabaisse and Duck Confit with lentils, this book is all you will need to bring a little bit of France to your kitchen table.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Great recipes, easy to follow and fantastic pictures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)