Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2012
Too many compilations recycle the same old well known tracks, time after time. This is an excellent selection of tracks which biases to the lesser known but still well worthy tracks. The Ronnettes tracks are a perfect example, taken from their days with the Colpix label, pre Spector. Don't be put off by this. Remember that the record charts have one number one track, and then a host of others below it - all worthy of respect in terms of music quality and sales achieved. Too often the 'others' just get ignored. I'm sick of hearing number one's! The only drawback to this album is the single side of comentary. There are enough groups here to justify a dozen pages easily, plus photos. An industry insider should be able to tap on resources for data and photos that an enthusiast could not. You could have found more on wikipedia than was written here. Great CDs though, and highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
THERES good and bad with this 50 track double CD.Bad first, around about half of the tracks here in all honesty are real clunkers that should never have seen the light of day again some approaching a standard below B side filler.Good news the remaining tracks are in the main top class gems. Most listeners will be aquainted with the classic Will you Love me Tomorrow by the Shirelles this is joined by Please Mr Postman ,The Marvelettes and Down the Aisle of Love, by the Quintones all top class A couple of other gems worth mentioning are I Love How You Love me, The Paris Sisters and There's No Other Like My Baby ,The Crystals ,both outstanding generic successors to The Teddy Bears ,To Know Him is To Love Him ,all bearing the unmistakeable stamp of Phil Spector.Early Supremes tracks show the talent that was to come and the Angels please with A Moment Ago and Til.For the money I paid under £3 not too bad ,good for putting on whilst getting ready for a night out or cleaning the car.If One Day Music could have just strengthend their track list they would have had a real winner on their hands.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2012
This is an absolute treasure trove of music from those bygone girl group days of yesteryear. Open the box and take your pick; there are some old familiars like the Shirelles and the Ronettes (pre Spector) some real rarities (mostly soft centres) like the Clickettes and The Delicates and many favourites in their prime outings ~ The Chiffons, The Cookies and the wonderful wonderful and totally underrated Marvelettes, Motown's premier group.

Be careful you dont overdose on this delicious confectionery which is unnervingly moreish, but you will be going back for more and more. Listening, for the first time, to only dreamed of recordings such as The Starlets "Where is my love tonight" or "Down the aisle of love" by the Quintones I am wondering where are they now?, why have I never heard this before? but like any musical archaeologist I revel in these treasures revealed and thank the great god of music that the archives are at last giving up all these lost magical recordings.

Any music fan of this era will delight in the lost and found here and forgive the "hits" often overused but, in truth, were the standards of their day. Lovely lovely yummy, pass the box, please.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This new 50 track tribute to the girl groups of the 1950s and 1960s brings back familiar sounds along with some that you may well have forgotten. The 124 minutes are quite a nostalgic listening experience and an enjoyable one for this listener. I like the approach of One Day in bringing together material that might not be on offer elsewhere at such a great price and in such an attractive format. The 2 CD set is a gatefold style with photographs and record labels to expand on the theme plus Brian Parks informative liner notes.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Will You Love Tomorrow, The Girl Groups of the 50s& 60s. DAY2CD300.

There are so many girl groups included many of whom are so well remembered and I know something about but these were new to me so here is a little info...

The Cookies were an American R&B girl group in the 1950s to 1960s. Members of the original lineup would later become the Raelettes, the backing vocalists for Ray Charles.

The Tonettes were Shirley Thomas, Mary Hunt and Mildred Pratchett.Theirs were the first voices to be heard on the Stax/Volt label when ‘No Tears’ became Volt 101 in early 1962 . The Tonettes had a second single a few months later, and recorded enough material to fill four more 45s, but they caught an unexpected break when Nashville label Sound Stage 7 needed a black female group to go out as the Dixiebelles to promote a studio-created Hot 100 hit called ‘Down At Papa Joe’s’.

The Bobbettes were an American R&B girl group who had a 1957 top 10 hit songcalled "Mr. Lee." The group included Jannie Pought (1945-1980), Emma Pought (born 1942), Reather Dixon (1945-2014), Laura Webb (1941-2001), and Helen Gathers (1942-2011).

Brian Parkes provides informative liner notes and this makes for a lovely listening session or two or three. The packaging includes a number of small images of including The Marvelettes; The Shirelles; The Chantels; The Delicates; The Ronettes; The Cookies; The Crystals & The Supremes. There are also 12 images of singles inside. The sound transfers are excellent throughout. Running times CD1: 60.13 &CD2: 62.45. The music comes from 1956 to 1962. These One Day Music 2 CD sets are great value.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Probably the first girl group was the Andrews Sisters in the 40s but the actual definition of what became known as the girl group was what's on this 50 track CD-black girls,white girls or mixed groups with girl leads.
It was via black girls that the first top 10 hits came-the Chantels,the Bobbettes,the Shirelles and led to the new genre of girl groups in the 60s
While there'll always be arguments to say the first girl groups were white-the Poni Tails,the Paris Sisters,the Lennon Sisters the facts are that after the Shirelles topped the charts in 1960 America had found something else to copy and the copying went into overdrive as the now mass amount of girl group CDs show many purposely ignoring the hits and concentrating on the failures
While critics think the British Invasion saw off girl groups it was in fact just the opposite as the Beatles drew attention to what America may have just seen as a craze.Though their cover of the Marvellettes' Please Mr Postman was unsuitable lyricwise (listen close enough and you note the guy is overseas)there would be more British groups covering girl group hits and even outselling the originals eg Manfred Mann,Hermans Hermits
The sleeve note describes each girl group except the Rosebuds who are the most unknown here and are listed on GEMM as having made 2 singles on the Apex and Lancer labels
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I love the fifties groups & there ARE some great tracks on this CD , such as "Born too Late" by the Poni-tails and "Will you still love me tomorrow" - the title track by the Shirelles. However, I was disappointed that a lot of the tracks are definitely B-sides and little heard songs. Still, a good price for a lot of tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 January 2016
An entertaining set of 50 distaff numbers, covering r&r, jivers, some femme doo wop, rockaballads, teen pop and a little proto soul, so something for most. I do have a little difficulty with all-female sets, and these 50 cuts were, for me, tough going in one hit. The Chantels here are a later grouping, so no "Maybe" (boo!), Supremes sans Miss Ross, Crystals and Ronettes need Phil S, the r&b of The Teen Queens... Trouble is, an acceptable, brief note from Brian Parks concentrates on the big names, so no words for such as LaBrenda & The Bell Notes, Clickettes, Starlets, Dreamers etc. Maybe I'll google 'em, but not likely. A solid little set, best enjoyed (by me) a few tracks at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
Well probably yes, unless you are a completest. The title of the CD extends to the first track by the Shirelles which is of course,"Will You STILL Love Me Tomorrow". Apart from the usual suspects, there are a few gems including tracks from the Angels, the Ikettes, the Sensations,the Marvelettes and the Shirelles. A good, but not outstanding collection. The sound quality is excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This a pretty good compilation and includes some tracks that you will not hear even on some of the American oldies stations. I was especially pleased to see included three tracks from The Bobettes, one of my favourite girls groups. Some acts however are notable by their very absence, Martha Reeves and the Vandella Sisters and The Orlons being two of the more obvious girl groups not represented on this album. I have taken another star off due to the fact that the track 'Buttered Popcorn' is credited to Diana Ross instead of Florence Ballard, another member of the Supremes, who actually sung on the version included on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)