Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
31
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I bought this album when it came out (as well as the singles). As a very young person growing up in South London it spoke volumes to me - as it must have to all the other disenfranchised youth in cities like Birmingham, Coventry, Manchester and Liverpool that were living in M.T's England. Hard times (no change then). That's enough of that - This edition features the original album, the 1979 2-Tone single, various mixes, John Peel sessions, a dvd and an excellent 28 page colour booklet with photos and the lyrics.

Cd 1. (36.28 mins) The album is just as vibrant and exciting as I remember it. There are many great tracks - 'Mirror in the bathroom', 'Hands off', 'Twist & crawl' and the fantastic 'Best friend' (disc 2 contains its B-side the anthem 'Stand down Margaret (dub)'. Great sound quality overall, 10/10.

Cd 2. (66.45 mins) Contains the 1979 2-Tone single 'Tears of a clown/Ranking full stop', 'Stand down Margaret (dub version), other mixes of some of the A's & B's and finishes with 5 John Peel radio sessions and 4 Mike Read show performances. 7/10.

Dvd. Contains 2 singles videos, and 5 'Top of the pops' performances + a bonus.

Overall a fantastic package - well done Edsel records.
44 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2001
This is one of my prized possessions - I was a teenager in the tiny town of Krugersdorp, South Africa, moving to a musical backdrop of goody goody South African pop and the cheap compilation Springbok Hit Parade when my rebel brothers Stephen and Brendan suddenly started listening to a bootleg tape of The Beat. Rough Rider and Mirror in the Bathroom are masterpieces of guitar, drumming and energy. This is the record I play when I'm happy, sad, pissed off or just plain nostalgic - the movement the music brings on puts you in a good mood instantly.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
There isn't a weak song on this record from the marvellous "Mirror In The Bathroom" to the almost anthemic "Stand Down Margaret" you surely can't fail to love this record.
Uplifting & witty, with a degree of social & political consciousness - one of the best records to come from the 2Tone inspired "ska revival" era.
If you can't dance like a lunatic to this, you can't dance to anything.
A really enjoyable top quality album.Worth every single penny.
If you can, go & catch them live, Ranking Roger & co are still doing the rounds - great band, great show, terrific songs.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
I was personally only about 8 or 9 years old when this came out, but that didn't stop me enjoying it even then. Some years later, I am the proud owner of both the remastered CD version AND the original vinyl version.

This is a must for someone tentatively dipping a toe in the oft murky waters of English Ska. The stuff that came after wasn't so great and this caught The (English) Beat at their best.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2006
The Beat were my first musical love & it's not hard to see why when you hear this album. Hit singles Mirror In The Bathroom,Hands Off She's Mine & Best Friend are all there (still sounding excellent) but it's the album tracks I really enjoy. The punk-influenced Two Swords,Click Click & Noise In This World are fun,noisy & energetic but all carry darker messages in the lyrics. There are a couple of ska classic covers: Rough Rider, Whine & Grine & Jackpot and also a great cover of Andy Williams' Can't Get Used to Losing You'(released as a re-mixed single in 1983). Something for all tastes and real nostalgia for ex-rude boys & girls alike.....
I went to see The Beat in October in my home town - Roger, Everett & Blockhead are all still there. They went down a storm -particularly the tracks from I Just Can't Stop It. If you get a chance, see them - best gig I've been to in years!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
ska/2-tone music of the highest calibre with lots of echo chamber sound affects by the producer(B.Sargeant) + engineer(Gomm).

NB: if you need a 12" vinyl record to test a record deck then grab this one to audition your selections in your quality local hifi shop.

originally on vinyl, cassette and then in mid80's an early un-re-mastered CD from USA, then remastered in 2004 on CD in UK/row.

this (2012) deluxe-edn-CD is 2CD+DVD long in a digipack sleeve plus extensive notes in a neat booklet now all on budget Edsel (sub-Demon) (sub-Warner) label.

CD1 => original album

CD2 => debut non-LP 7" + all LP-tracks extd vers + dub vers + 90's CD single MITB cuts + BBCradio2 john peel live show(5 songs) + BBCradio1 mike read live show(4 songs).

DVD => video singles + TOTP(BBC1) + bonus live perf.

NB track "cant get used to losing you" (1983 remix) is on the 3rd reissue-CD album.

overall ultra-high VFM reissue (long awaited) - will sell out very quickly i reckon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
this is a great example of how a deluxe edition should be,,the music is crisp and clear the bonus tracks excellent and the bbc sessions a must have..the dvd is great and with the totp clips yopu actually get the radio 1 dj intros from the actual show which you dont usually get on other artists cd /dvds set....the only gripe i have is the booklet its ok but comments from some of the band would have been great and a discography maybe ..also there could have been a bit more footage i remember them being on the oxford road show and either swap shop or superstore ,plus a live cut somewhere but hey im splitting hairs...all in all a must have ...i hope they give the deluxe treatment to the general public cds
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
The strongest of all the Beat singles are on this album - why buy greatest hits when you can purchase this and benefit from the really strong and solid rest of the songs. DVD extras are thin on the ground but they reflect when the band was active and how they didn't seem to have the finances other contemporaries had to splash on such things. If you were around then and tears of a clown or mirror in the bathroom rocks your boat, pick this up, you won't regret it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
One of the best Ska/Pop Bands to appear in the UK just after the punk era at the start of the 80's, The Beat are a unique fusion of punk/Ska/Reggae/Pop influences that somehow call manage to gel perfectly.
Worth it for the truly stunning Mirror In The Bathroom alone, this expanded 2 disc remastered version with B Sides, Rarities and Live Tracks is a definite five star must buy.
Stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2000
I bought this album back in early 1980. Almost every track is a classic and for me it really summed up the mood of the late 70's early 80's, especially for those of us who where Ska fans and miss the great bands of the two-tone label so much: The Specials, Selector and others.
I'm really pleased to have found this CD avaialble again, as my original album was a tape and one of my kids unwound the whole thing! It would be great to see the band back again as the lead singer had a great voice. Perhaps they could let us know what they are all up to now?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)