Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2015
As dev lead for a small company experimenting with Scrum, I found this book to be a very useful 'way-in' for colleagues that weren't able to commit time to studying Scrum in more detail.

We distributed copies to the dev and management teams, and everyone found the necessary hour or two to read through it. Having done so, we all now have good general knowledge of what Scrum is about, which has helped to set the ball rolling for discussion and implementation.

It doesn't answer a lot of the questions that are likely to be asked of course, so if you're a Scrum-Master-to-be you'll want to make sure that you've done a bit more reading around!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
I guess the adage "you get what you pay for" springs to mind. For the money, there's enough information to give you the basis of Scrum certainly, but, as with quite a few Scrum books, it distills Scrum by adding areas that don't actually exist in the Scrum guide, such as 'Story Time'. By this, it means Product Backlog Refinement, you try telling a Product Owner in Scrum that it's 'Story Time' and you probably won't be Scrum Master in the project for very long.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
I didn't give it 5 stars as its a brief guide. But it is well structured and will enable you to quickly get up to speed on key terms. One of the biggest challenges you face is challenging the "of course I understand what Agile is" mostly this is a lie and this is where it all goes wrong. You need a common understanding in your team. If you don't use a book like this, it will all go horribly wrong and quickly! A good book and highly recommended for the high level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
To be honest there are better guides you can find online with a good ten minutes of Googling or a stint in Youtube, but as a guide that works well on your e-reader it's fine.

Content is pretty good and covers the basics, should only really be seen as an introduction and to be fair I don't think it attempts to position itself as anything else.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
I liked the clear guidance and cut down approach. As with most methods, teams need to own them and adapt them to local circumstances so a basic framework to get you started is probably all you need. Great book for students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you need a brief introduction without having to wade into a deep dive this book is for you.It's suffiecent to get up to speed very quickly. Very wasy to read and expaliedn in plain english.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Read it on the train to work. Good overview of Scrum and its ceremonies. Ideal for teams new to Scrum as an entry level resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
I was looking for an authoritative yet short overview which I could share with people unfamiliar with Sprint. Hits the spot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Brief understanding of the topic. great little book for beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This is a very, very short little book about Scrum. However, it is extremely useful and i keep it on my desk at work. It sums up the main features of Scrum in such a concise and simple way. It really is super handy, especially if you are starting out with Scrum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)