Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2017
Brilliant slice of crime drama from the early 1960s. Great as always to watch Nigel Patrick fill his role as usual. Superbly photographed without any of the modern jerky camera and in your face close ups. Context and cracking location work help make this film a real gem. Age has not diluted a good storyline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
"The Informers" was a film I'd always wanted to see, I'd always imagined it as a possible companion piece to one of my favourite films, "Sapphire", as Nigel Patrick co-stars in both.

It was well worth the wait. This is an exciting, fast moving thriller, sharply photographed in black and white, which gives an insight into the criminal underworld of 1963. The film is unexpectedly violent for its era, of course tame by today's standards, but I imagine quite shocking in 1963. I'm pretty sure the film carried an 'X' adults only certificate on its release and I can well see why.

Good performances from all the cast, Nigel Patrick, Margaret Whiting as the underworld 'tart', Derren Nesbit as the leading criminal with Frank Finlay as his side-kick.

As to be expected there are nice location scenes on the streets of London giving a good period feel. This is another rare film that I can't recall being on UK TV for many, many years and so its DVD release is very welcome. It's an excellent transfer of a very good print used.

I enjoyed this very much and if you like British thrillers of this date you can't fail to enjoy this.
11 Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
its alright nothing special
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
One of my fav films so i had to own it on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Another film that I've had on VHS and lost. Thank God these excellent films are now finding their way onto DVD. Nigel Patrick, one of the finest actors of all time ends up being set up in a conspiracy by the local hoods who want him out of their business. The picture and sound are superb on this release, unfortunately I can't say the same for Derren Nesbits poor acting ability. Plenty of other houseold names now eiher dead or very old. Colin Blakely, Michael Coles, Margaret Whiting (Blakely's real wife) Frank Finlay.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
A nice piece of nostalgic black and white film from the early 60's!

A taught and fast moving film, with good dialogue and drama, with a cast of well known actors of the time (Harry Andrews, Nigel Patrick) and some smaller part players who would later come to enjoy greater public awareness such as Brian Wilde, (A young) Peter Bowles, Garfield Morgan, Roy Kinnear for instance.

Some great outside locations were used on this production and it almost worth watching it just to study those, plus the vehicles of yesteryear which you only see at shows these days.

The storyline is an early example of a multi-layered police drama with a number of saucepans on the cooker at once, each simmering away and threatening to boil over! Indeed the themes in the film were quite racy for the time, the violence for one thing and the portrayal of a female prostitute which wasn't just alluded to, it was almost pushed right forwards.

A number of side stories add to the dimensions making up the whole, which are effective and expand the sum of the parts out, if you watch this film and compare it to information that came out in the media in the later 60's from the trials of the Krays and Richardsons, the writer had some really good information to work from years before the public were aware of the complexities of organised crime in the UK, whether that information was imagined or gleaned from official sources, I don't know, but it certainly plays out in the end product to something we can see in other productions since.

This film is almost a blueprint for police dramas that came after, and I think it still stands up today. well wathcable!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
This film is absolutely bloody brilliant. Rather better than the more prominent Sapphire, which is also very good of course but plotwise probably not all that convincing.

The acting is naturalist and exceptionally good throughout from everyone involved, but Colin Blakely, Derren Nesbitt and Frank Finlay especially. Nigel Patrick is classy as always, and plays a character with a harder edge than usual which is nice to see. And the Yorkshire terrier puts in a flawless performance in his one big scene - I'd be interested to see more of his work. Probably dead now though.

There are some very neat shots along the Thames in the first half-hour, and lots more outdoor locations round London as the film progresses - noticeably more than in other films of this type. These look particularly good on this DVD which has an extremely clear picture (although no subtitles), and is very highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
One of the very best British Thrillers made in the 1960's Nigel Patrick is superb as the old school Police Inspector who relies on instinct and his trusty informers which brings him into conflict with his bosses and fellow detectives, as he goes on the trail of a gang of Bank Robbers.
The film is shot in stark black and white no swining sixities London here. A career best performance from Margaret Whiting and Derren Nesbitt look out for cameo performances from Brian Wilde and Peter Bowles.
This film is a must see for anyone who appreciates British Films of the 1960's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This is a really enjoyable British police thriller with a host of solid British actors to spot. Nigel Patrick is on top form as the dogged Inspector relying on his tried and trusted methods of obtaining information from his regular grasses and who gets fitted up as corrupt by the criminals. Frank Finlay is just as good as the brains of the gang although Derren Nesbit delivers a pantomime turn as the front man. Perhaps the climax when the "good" baddies take on the bad baddies is a bit over the top but it clears things up satisfactorily. Overall, though, the film is realistic and engrossing and I think fans of police thrillers will enjoy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A fascinating slice of yesteryear. My father was a policeman back in the early sixties when this was filmed, and how well I remember that time. He came from the East End but did his policing in rural Wiltshire, which did not have quite the same problems with organised crime that London did, unless you count a bit of sheep rustling. Douglas Warner's novel "Death of a Snout" has been adapted into a slick screenplay, and the film directed at a brisk pace by the reliable Ken Annakin. Nigel Patrick as Chief Inspector Johnno believes in good old fashioned coppering, and is happy to use snouts if it gets the job done. When boss Harry Andrews tells him that informers are out and scientific methods are in, Johnno decides to go it alone in his quest to track down the team behind a series of daring robberies. As he gets closer to the truth the danger increases, putting his own career in jeopardy.

The film abounds with stereotypical criminal characters. We have the mastermind played by a slippery Frank Finlay. I seem to recall him as an unlikely Casanova in a TV series! Then there is the over the top but hugely enjoyable performance of Derren Nesbitt as the murderous pimp Bertie Hoyle. He was also excellent as a dastardly German in "Where Eagles Dare". Nigel Patrick behaves like an immaculately mannered old Etonian in uniform, as the honest copper who gets the job done, without recourse to science! We even have a Fagin like jew who looks as if he has popped out of Dickensian London. There is also some good support from the likes of Colin Blakely and Roy Kinnear as petty criminals. The ever reliable Allan Cuthbertson stands out as an irritatingly correct copper, always ready to dob his mates in it to progress his career. Haha, I've met a few of those! The plot moves along nicely and manages to keep the interest up throughout. A retired Scotland Yard Detective Superintendent was employed as an advisor who undoubtedly assisted with some of the police and criminal jargon, which is now quaintly outdated, although Tom's for prostitutes is still I believe used by the police. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong? I enjoyed the film very much, and was even willing to overlook the ridiculous ending that resembled an East End Rorkes Drift. Good old fashioned very British entertainment. So good that the recent Ray Winstone vehicle "The Sweeney" seems to have been influenced by it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)