Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Depeche Mode Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2012
Bella Hardy is an intriguing artist. Each of her previous albums has proved fascinating, rich in melodies and arrangements and of course the fabulous voice of Bella herself. This album is again different from previous releases with Kris Drever in charge of production and providing absolutely wonderful guitar backing and voice. The album starts out with a couple of songs with Drever providing the sole backing but the style of the guitar playing is different to anything else Bella has recorded and is really exciting.. Gradually Bella introduces more instruments and over the rest of the album we have the gorgeous voice, the great story telling and the inventive backings that have characterised her previous albums. Personally I miss the harp and the variety of instruments used on some of the previous albums but then we have a stunning Lament For Derwent Village with just piano and guitar, as good as anything she has written. If you have enjoyed any of Bella's previous albums this is an essential buy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
I bought this on spec, as it's about the Peak District, and the first play through I wasn't entirely sure. It is quite a traditional folk sound but it didn't grab me. But I've been playing it in the car for a week or so now and as well as appreciating the music more the stories have come through more clearly. It helps I'm sure that I know the places well, but I'm haunted by the image of pressed roses being all that's left of the village destroyed for the reservoir. Not perhaps an album to play to cheer yourself up (except track 13) but worth getting to know.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Bella Hardy has a beautiful voice, is a superb songwriter, a brilliant interpreter of traditional song and wonderful live. And to add to all that her albums are all quite different, sometimes subtly but different all the same. This album is all about her roots in Derbyshire and mixes traditional and original material- although it's impossible to tell one from the other. It is produced and accompanied by Kris Drever. And it's brilliant. It is wonderfully evocative of place; makes you want to return to this lovely part of the world . It's impossible to pick out highlights although I really love Lament for Derwent Village and Peak Rhapsody. It's completely different from her most recent brilliant album 'With the Dawn' but equally sublime. I saw her live recently with Mary Chapin Carpenter and was completely blown away by the power and beauty of her singing and performance presence. She is a wonderful talent and if you've never seen her live don't hesitate. It's worth buying all her records too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This is so good but I am biased, I have loved all that I have heard from Bella Hardy. She is wonderful as a live act as well. If you like folk music, a pure singing voice and excellent musicianship, buy the albums or catch her live.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
This is the first Bella Hardy Cd I have brought.

This album is excellent, with a real flow of songs

that unfold a wonderful story inspired by Derbyshires

Peak District. Often my husband and I have passed through

the Peak District, and this album will enrich the feelings

of that wonderful journey home for us both. Bella's beautiful

voice and the musicians just add the pure beauty to this Folk

album. Do not hesitate in buying this album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
What can you say- Bella has one of the most beautiful voices on the current folk scene- Together with Kris Drever, this collection of Derbyshire songs adds to her already significant portfolio
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
This is a stronger work than Songs Lost and Stolen, perhaps because of the thematic nature gives a coherence and greater meaning to the whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
English folk from a beautiful voice of the new generation.
Nothing really new in interpretation but stil agrable to the ear
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Bella Hardy has such a lovely distinct voice, love her music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
One of the best albums I own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)