Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
One of the best rock albums I've ever heard! Have always liked Halestorm, and I think this is my favourite album. From great pounding anthems like Love Bites and Call Me A B*tch to more easy going lighter waving tunes like Rock Show, it has everything. If you like heavy music, you'll like this album. If you like classic rock, you'll like this album. If you like powerful vocals, you'll love Lzzy Hale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
lzzy and the boys fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Great band, great music and can't complain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Brilliant album. well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Brilliant album by a brilliant band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Grat album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
‘The Strange Case Of…’ opens with “Love Bites (So Do I)”, which, in my opinion, is up there with the best hard rock songs; it’s loud, energetic and full of attitude. “Mz. Hyde” is the perfect follow-up and almost matches the previous song. It sounds like they have a Theremin in the background which is a brilliant touch (Theremins were often used in old horror films). “I Miss The Misery” and “Freak Like Me” are quite anthemic and surely will be a guaranteed position on their live setlist. It seems a strange decision to put three mellow songs in a row; “Beautiful With You”, “In Your Room”, “Break In”, but they’re all great tracks. The next batch of songs are similar to the more anthemic side of the band; “Rock Show”, “Daughters of Darkness”, “You Call Me A Bitch Like It’s A Bad Thing”, and “American Boys”. I do really enjoy this batch of songs, but some of the lyrics seem more simplistic. “Here’s To Us” closes the standard edition of the album which is in the vein of a retrospective/celebratory track; I can’t quite think what this reminds me of, but it could be more of a parody. The Deluxe Edition has three extra tracks; “Don’t Know To Stop”, “Private Parts” (which features James Michael of Sixx:A.M.) and “Hate It When You See Me Cry”. These three tracks are also of excellent quality. The first is an energetic song which would also be a good closing song, but then you have a great duet, then finish off with a mid-tempo track which is a brilliant closer. The Deluxe Edition is definitely the more complete experience since it boosts the running time from 41 minutes to 52. The nice mix of songs and the perfect production would make this a good album, but the singing ability of Lzzy Hale makes this a superb album. It’s really hard to choose the right superlatives to describe her vocal ability, but she has the best aspects of several singers; she is extremely confident, dynamic and has the attitude.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Halestorm's sophomore album sounds exactly like I expected it too.
It's hard, heavy, loud and complete with Lzzy Hale's stunningly strong and seductive voice, its mainstream hard rock made for today's rock radio.

I was eagerly anticipating this album after thoroughly enjoying their debut, lead single "Love Bites (So Do I) is the heaviest and most uptempo track they've made, close to being a heavy metal track. Just crying out for a longer guitar solo in the middle, it's far too short!

Elsewhere the wonderful transition between "Mz Hyde" and "Miss The Misery" keeps the opening rock numbers strong, ("Freak Like Me" being the only notable exception) before we hit three ballads in a row "Beautiful With You," "In Your Room" and "Break In." The latter is the strongest of the three being superbly piano based and the former more of a tempo ballad, similar to "Better Sorry Than Safe" from their debut.
Neither of these songs though (as strong as they are) drift into real power ballad territory, something which I think Halestorm really need to nail down for their next record.

Beyond that the record goes a little patchy for me. "Rock Show" "Daughters of Darkness," "You Call Me A Bitch Like It's A Bad Thing" and "American Boys" are decent enough but nothing memorable, especially after you've listened to them a few times. The first half of the album is definitely stronger than the second.

Lastly we get another tempo ballad in "Here's To Us" which is a nice way to close an enjoyable record, rather surprisingly this is the albums second single, which in my view is an odd choice as it isn't strong enough. It's an album track at best, not a single.

Those of you that have brought the deluxe edition will be treated with three extra bonus tracks, a couple of which are possibly stronger then the album tracks themselves, "Don't Know How To Stop" and "Hate It When You See Me Cry."

Overall, "The Strange Case of..." is a good album, just not a brilliant one. Halestorm are deserving of their place amongst today's most successful rock acts and you won't find many other female fronted rock bands showcasing mainstream rock music as well as this.
I enjoyed it and it comes recommended.
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Blues based hard rock like it is meant to be played. Simple formula, superbly executed. Lzzy Hale has one of the best blues rock voices I have ever heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
This has been on permanent rotation in my car ever since I bought it - it really rocks! There is nothing quite like cranking "Here's to us!" after a crappy day at work and belting it out as you drive. If you like Halestorm you will love this album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)