Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 21 July 2017
A good yarn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
I've just finished reading Child of Loki, and I must say it was a great historical novel. Lots of well researched battle scenes, character and plot development were great, I almost felt as if I were with Cerdic, travelling through the wilds of the north! I'm looking forward to reading the third book when it finally emerges! Ten out of ten for this!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
This is an entertaining read, and a plausible recreation of a very poorly documented period. The neighbouring English kingdoms of Bernicia and Deira were soon to merge to form Northumbria, and Denning has created a convincing version of that process involving ambitious kings and double dealing, all based around the few facts that we have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
I enjoyed the story, didn't know much about the "Dark Ages" obviously but Richard Denning filled in the gaps with some history and a good imagination. However...... I listened to the audio version read by the author himself. There were quite a lot of mistakes in various chapters, repeated several times until he got it right! It would have been much better using a professional reader or actors voice for better enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Loved this book. Kept me on tenterhooks from start to finish. If you like historical murder mystery you'll enjoy this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
The three books so far in this series have been a great read from the first page to the last
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
Another great story about Cerdic the reluctant Deiran hero.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Enjoyable story but not brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
riveting a real pager turner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Fascinating read ,loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse