Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2014
I have no idea how this book has been given 5 stars by some people.. it was boring, not well written and hardly anything to do with Cary Grant.. it was more of an autobiography of Bill Royce.. and I've never heard of him.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
The book was very well written, both frank and honest. Far be it from detracting from the character of Cary it actually enhanced it and showed what a kind and very deep person that he was. It must have been a great privilege to know him and count him as a friend. I wished that I had met him.
Christine Cottenham, Tunbridge Wells England
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I have always been a fan of Cary Grant and have read several books written about him. This is not only the best book written about him , it is one of the best books I have EVER read ! Bill Royce had done a remarkable job of recounting his amazing friendship with the screen idol. In doing so, life's true meanings are revealed in a truly inspirational way. It is very rare that a book can have you laughing out loud one minute and in tears the next. Cary Grant comes across as a truly remarkable human being: a wise, down to earth-angel, hell bent on not only improving his life but also of those around him. His philosophy seems to be summed up in chapter 9 " only when we give,do we truly receive". It would be easy for this man to have lived a shallow,film star existence living off his vast wealth. Instead Cary Grant seemed to delight in helping people by 'giving of himself' even if that was recounting often horrendous painful childhood memories to help another in need. He was obviously a wonderful friend of the author, whose love and admiration for the legend leaps off the pages. This is not a sugar coated memoir , as Grant is depicted warts and all. Personally I do not care if he was homosexual or not, I only care that he was a wonderful , caring human being, which this book and his countless friends are testament to. If you only read two books about Cary Grant, make it this one and Cary's daughter, Jennifers book 'Good Stuff'. The title was Cary Grants favourite saying and that was what he was made of 'Good Stuff' !If you liked Cary Grant before, you will love him after reading these books! Personally when I next view one of his films, I will not only see a remarkable actor, but a truly inspirational, special human being who obviously touched all those who knew him. Yes this world is all the richer for having Cary Grant in it !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
this book is not very good, it's more of the writers biography than it is about Cary Grant. Not keen on the writing style either.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
I have no idea how much of this account is factual and how much the product of the author's imagination, but it's a great read and surprisingly plausible in its own way - at least while you're reading it.

Royce tells us he first met Cary Grant in 1973 after being suggested as a house sitter by Maureen Donaldson, Grant's partner and Royce's colleague. A conversation about music sparks a close friendship lasting until Grant's death. In the years that follow Grant unburdens himself to Royce about his past, including his sexual history, and Royce reciprocates. In fact, this book is much about Royce as it is about Grant, which may disappoint some readers. As the friendship develops Grant helps Royce come to terms with his extremely complicated family background and even takes him to Las Vegas to hear Elvis live as a birthday present.

In the epilogue of the book Royce himself notes that most of the people mentioned in the narrative, other than Donaldson who appears to be a close friend of his, are dead by the time he is writing. That means of course that there is little chance of corroborating his claims - or of disproving them. Royce is not a well known public figure himself and few readers will have even heard of him before reading this book, let alone have access to the information that would allow them to assess how reliable he is as a narrator. That's all the more significant given the startling claims made at points. One thing i did note was that while there were many photos of Grant and many of Royce there seemed to be none of them together.

That said, the most startling (I'm tempted to say fantastical) claims relate to Royce, not Grant. The portrait of Cary Grant which emerges from the narrative is affectionate and not inconsistent on the whole with what is known of him and equally not inconsistent with what is rumoured of him. Nor does the author go all out to paint the most sensational picture possible. This isn't, for all its faults, a bitchy dirt-dishing book. The Cary Grant it describes is a very human character: warm but wary, socially conservative but personally liberal, American and English, dignified but playful, a homebody but supremely well connected and keenly engaged with the world.

As far as the issue of Grant's sexuality goes, Royce has a fascinating, nuanced tale to tell. The people who want to read that Cary Grant was really a lifelong closet homosexual will be as disappointed as those who are determined that his heterosexuality should not be brought into doubt.

To be honest, the least plausible claim to me was that Grant would have requested to his confidante that his secrets be kept only until his death. I think that confidences of this kind would be far more likely to be shared on the understanding that 'you promise never to tell anyone'. But who knows?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
Is this really about Cary Grant or about the author, who appears to have a remarkable memory for remembering verbatim conversations. I found it dull and hard going and could hardly wait to finish it. One of the poorest books of it's type that I have ever read. A clearer description of what it was about prior to purchase would have been helpful. The title is rather misleading as to the content. In my opinion it is not worth purchasing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this,to see this man in action as an actor u wouldnt believe what he went through growing up! Brilliant book....well done Bill Royce ...well done to them both for coming out on top and winning! :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I loved reading this book ,it gave a good insight into Cary's everyday life ,and when I read Cary's words I always read them as though he was saying them,in that Cary Grant way,,,,,It came through the pages (to me) that Cary was a lovely man who had a difficult start to life ,would recommend this book ,,,,,,,,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this but actually couldn't put it down. It is not just about Cary, who I adored on screen it is about his friendship in a man he considered a son and how he passed on life's pathways and passages. Lovely book to read and I have so much respect for Cary Grant, even more now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I was very dissappointed with this as it was more about the author and his family rather that cary Grant the film star. I wanted my money back!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)